We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay and highly recommend staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and highly recommend staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I came down from Hernando County and stayed here October 31st and liked it so much we decided to stay the next week as well. They were pet friendly and we're everything they are advertised. My wife and I had a very restful stay and our dog loved it. I would gladly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks!

Our pet friendly suites (9 Junior Suites on the ground floor of the courtyard building) are a huge favorite, so much that we are considering adding another floor of 9 more pet friendly suites in the near future!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    560
    177
    78
    63
See reviews for
616
431
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I really loved the Alden Suites. We stayed in a gulf suite and the view was wonderful. I was impressed by how clean the grounds and rooms were kept. We would stay at the Alden Suites again if we travel to St. Pete's Beach again. I do, however, have one complaint. I booked the room through Funjet and my reservation said ROH Gulf Suite. I called the Alden a few weeks ahead of arrival to ask what ROH meant. The woman I spoke with said it meant "Run of House" and that the staff could place us in any of the gulf side rooms at their discretion. I asked if I need to pay more in order to stay in my choice of rooms and she asked what I was looking for. I told her wanted a room on the 4th, 5th or 6th floor with a balcony, because we really love to spend time on the balcony. She said that would be no problem. The night of our arrival we were given a lovely room on the 6th floor, but it had a very tiny balcony with barely room for two chairs. Next morning I went to the front desk to see if we could move to a room with a larger balcony. Alex said one would be available on Tuesday, that the large balcony is an extra $100 per night but he would only charge me $35 per night. I went down on Tuesday morning and another person was at the front desk who knew nothing of the arrangement. Luckily, there was still a room available and I was able to change to a room with a larger balcony, but was told it would be and extra $70.00 per night. I was on vacation and didn't want to argue so we did pay the extra $70.00. The bottom line is that there seems to be confusion about the cost. I wish when I had called a few weeks prior to arrival that the lady I had spoken with had let me know I would automatically be placed in a room with a small balcony unless I wanted to pay extra, especially since I had asked about cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
This review gives me the chance to explain what ROH means (Run of the House). This is a significantly reduced room rate (20-30% less than published rates) that guarantees a Gulf front suite, but it is based on availability upon check in. If the very best, and biggest suites are available at check in, you get a very attractive deal! However, the "gamble" is that if not the very biggest and best suite, you will at least get a Gulf front suite, but it may not have the lager balcony, and it may have two queen beds, two double beds, or a king bed. If you want to secure the exact suite type that you prefer, you need to accept the slightly higher rate than the severely discounted ROH rate.

I hope this explains this very common hotel pricing practice.

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We enjoyed our few days at Alden Suites. We splurged on a gulf front suite and were glad we did--especially since one day was rainy--so we could still enjoy the view of the beach, swaying palms, and ocean from our sliding glass doors. Travelling with 2 teens, it was great having the separate bedroom and two TVs. The kitchenette was perfect for breakfast and snacks--we stocked up at the Publix less than a mile away. Loved the balcony, the view, the location. This is not a swanky 4-star resort, but a comfortable, cheery, family-friendly place, which is more our style. We would go again.

Room Tip: We were in a gulf-front suite on the 6th floor with a private balcony. Couldn't quite see the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
This guests makes an excellent point about Alden Suites: Due to the suite configuration, a family of 4+ can occupy one suite, but still maintain "space" within the two room suites, that include a full size bedroom and a separate living room / kitchen area, versus having to rent two individual rooms at a significant higher combined room rate...plain and simple, best bang for the buck on St Pete Beach!

Thanks for the kind review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My first time ever writing a review. I had stayed in St Pete's before at other places with my family and was not impressed. Alden resort changed all that: staff was friendly; resort was clean; best pricing; and I will be returning again with my wife and daughter. For price and cleanliest this is the place to stay. We stayed in a pool side room and a gulf suite. Both were great. Thanks Alden staff for a great vacation. P.S. for cabanas see Peter he is awesome. He took great care of us.

Room Tip: Book one of the top three floors for a Gulf front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We pride ourselves on the "best bang for the buck" on St. Pete Beach and this review validates our pride!

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I were very impressed with the Alden suites. The room was very clean and very well furnished. It was like a little apartment. The help was fantastic. They even put a small dog pen in the room for our 10 lb maltese which he loved. They had a great happy hour at their outside bar which is right on the edge of a large white sand beach. We are looking forward to staying here again whenever we come to St Petersburg. MonikaFL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks very much for the kind remarks!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked online ,arrived and was not that thrilled with that outside but I figured it was only to sleep so I said what the heck, I was there to drop my daughter off at college,we arrived in a very small room with one small window ,after a 4 hour flight she took a nap and laid down and watched tv ,as I was in bed from the corner of my eye I noticed something HUGE crawling on the bathroom wall, closer look I could tell it was a roach I woke my daughter and Immediately called the front desk and told him what i saw and asked soemone get here fast, of course by the time he got there it was already crawled back to where it came from but believe you me it was the biggest thing I have ever seen, He tried to assure me that it was not a roach,how can he say that have'nt not seen it, I packed my bags and asked for a refund which they finally gave back, I was told you have to accept that because its florida and by the water,, NO I dont have to accept sleeping with roaches , I stayed on the water at another resort with no bugs.. DONT DO IT

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
This was an unfortunate incident...

This guest checked into one of only 4 regular "rooms", the other 139 being suites. It is a small hotel room and the room rate is very low, due to mostly "walk ins" in these smaller rooms.

WE have excellent pest control service, but in Florida, sometimes palmetto bugs sneak in, but rest assured it is a very infrequent occurrence, and for this guest I apologize. The staff responded immediately, but, just like the guest said, the insect vanished.

This is the first insect remark I have seen in many months....

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

visiting this year for the third time from Scotland we know it will be amazing cant wait cabana bar really relaxed tell chris or david they have nothing to remember you will love their company if you don't enjoy your stay you are hard to please

Room Tip: we prefer beach/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We love the folks from Scotland!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing