We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We hated to leave”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We hated to leave”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I spent 5 gorgeous days at The Alden and loved it. The room was very nice and clean. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect - close walk to everything. The beach was beautiful. Would gladly return and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We, too, hate to see our guests leave! So many of our guests are repeat and we get to know them very well, sometimes 3 and 4 generations of Alden guests!

Thanks for the kind remarks,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    570
    179
    78
    67
See reviews for
633
440
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I just came back from a 4 night stay at The Alden. Loved everything about it ... the location is perfect! There is a beautiful, spotlessly clean grocery store about 5 blocks away. There are plenty of choices for eating out if that is what is preferred. The suites have a nice kitchenette which is very well equiped. We had breakfast every day in the room and made lunches to eat either on the beach or at the beautiful beach bar (at this time there is no food available at the bar, but it seems food will be available for purchase there soon). The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom nicely renovated. Complimentary coffee is available every morning in the lobby. The pools are crystal clear and were not too crowded at all. The gardens along the walkway to the lobby from the beach are beautiful and very well groomed. Every employee we encountered couldn't have been nicer. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Cabanas with 2 lounge chairs and a table are available for rent for $20/day (we rented the same one for the 4 days we were there). The Alden is a perfect place for families of all ages. There are ping pong and corn hole bag toss games available. The beach bar is a very pleasant place to enjoy an afternoon cocktail with gorgeous views of the gulf. The Alden is the perfect blend of old Florida hotel and modern touches. We just loved it! Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Very well put!

And YES, we will be offering food service in the very near future, with Chef Dan Casey from Snappers Sea Grill (see their excellent Trip Advisor reviews) operating on our behalf.

One more nice amenity for Alden Suites guest to enjoy!

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've stayed at the Alden 7 times. It is a great place for kids (little-big). My kids have grown up at the Alden. We love the suites with full kitchens. So nice to be able to grocery shop nearby or eat out. Your choice- great restaurants nearby. We used the grills every day for lunch. At times (esp Thursday nights when the next set of guests arrives in the middle of the night) the courtyard facing rooms can be sleepless. (Why do people think it's fine to play shuffleboard at 5 am?). Solve this by getting a room in the high rise (bedrooms on the other side of the building) or facing the gulf. Two pools solves the crowding and you can always go to the beach. This property has been around for a long time and sometimes feels old. It can also be a bit dirty if you are there at a high traffic time (almost seems as if the staff can't keep up). However, my family loves this hotel and we keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for taking time to post this review.

I will assure you that we do not allow shuffleboard at 5 AM! No guest have access to the shuffleboard equipment after 11:00 PM, so I don't know what that was all about.

In any event, it is great to hear that you have many positive comments and would return to see us again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just returned from Florida after spending time in both Orlando and St Petes Beach. We spend 2 nights at The Alden and were very happy with our stay. We were sorry we didn't stay longer as the location is fantastic with great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are bright modern and light with fantastic views over the Gulf of Mexico. The staff at this hotel are friendly and very helpful. We intend to stay here again on our next visit from the UK.

Room Tip: Book a gulf view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulld0g11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Another satisfied customer from the UK!

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife , and I recently spent a weekend at the Alden Suites on St Pete beach, and , we loved everything: from check in to check out everything was perfect! We even had a parking spot under the tennis courts, the outside bar was beautiful, w/ fun bartenders, and great drinks, and a great spot to watch the sunset. The room(suite) was beyond what we expected: it had comfortable beds, and a full kitchen ! We live in Florida, but don't visit the beach much, BUT, will do so in the future, and make sure we stay at the Alden: I'd recommend the Alden for anyone considering a vacation on St Pete beach! Another we liked is that once you parked the car, you can walk to dozens of great places to eat, and beach bars.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suites at the "western " edge of the property, and had great views, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for reminding everyone that we have SUITES, not dinky little "rooms" like most hotels.

As our marquis says: "Get a Suite for the price of a Room"

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we arrived at this resort, as I was checking in, I received a phone call that a family member had been in an accident. I immediately told the front desk I had to leave and they said there would be no charge. When I called back today to make sure everything was all set, they said they would not refund the first night charge. I am outraged. I have had an emergency - a family member has died and this hotel is not standing by what they said. The honorable and decent thing to do is help the customer. As far as the appearance of the resort - it was run down and dingy. Not a place I would go back to. Very disappointed in a place that will not do the right thing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
THIS GUEST WAS REFUNDED IN FULL....There was some mis- communication which was cleared up obviously after this review was posted, and we are sorry for the confusion it caused.

This guest never checked in, so I am sure the comment about "old and dingy" was just "venting" about the delay in getting a full refund due to the family emergency.

We are sorry for your loss...

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place was amazing from the nightly bonfires, to the grill deck with three nice grills and picnic tables that overlook the pool and upper tennis courts. Staff was so friendly and hospitable. We intend to return in June we enjoyed it so much! OH YEAH..their pet friendly too...!!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for the kind review, we aim to please!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing