We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for families and reasonably priced”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great stay for families and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Alden with some family members while visiting for a wedding. We traveled with our 3 kids and stayed in a double queen room that was huge. The bedroom was separated by a door from the rest of the room and the bathroom. It had a pullout couch and very decently sized kitchenette with full fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher and a table with 4 chairs. We had a balcony overlooking one of the pools. We weren't in our room for a majority of the trip, but it was very convenient to be able to use the room to spread out and not be cramped. There were many amentities at the resort, including shopping and dining within walking distance, easy access to the beach, sand volleyball, ping pong, tennis courts, shuffleball, hot tub, etc. The cabana bar was nice, and the drinks were generous and delicious.

The parking was pretty bad, I will admit. We jockeyed for a shaded space every day, and I even saw some people having to park across the street when the lot filled up. Because of space, I realize there's nothing the resort can really do about this, but it is a pain! I also wish the resort had a restaurant. It would have been used by our family instead of sandwiches for lunch each day. I'd recommend bringing your own awning or sun shade for the beach. The cabanas were overpriced and not really worth it.

Also, a word of warning to travelers with kids - it is SUPER easy for someone who doesn't even know how to read to order a ridiculously overpriced movie on the in-room TV. (Ask me how I know...) We had no idea about the movie purchase until check-out, and when we tried to dispute it, we got no sympathy from the clerk. Oh well, we reluctantly paid the $20 since it ultimately was our mistake.

Overall, we enjoyed staying here, the staff was really friendly, the grounds were well-maintained, and I noticed that the rooms are currently being remodeled since a family member was staying in a more updated room. Our non-updated room didn't bother me in the least, and the room-darkening curtains were a blessing for mid-afternoon naps. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't have any noise issues with our room, even though the balcony overlooked a pool. The e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good comments, glad to hear that for the most part, this was a very enjoyable lodging experience...

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    594
    188
    80
    70
See reviews for
682
458
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I decided to book a last minute vacation to Florida and St. Pete Beach was our chosen location. I looked into probably 10 hotels on the beach and they were either priced very high or did not meet our expectations. Let me remind you my husband and I are usually staying in 4 star resorts that offer a lot of amenities. We chose to stay at Alden Suites in one of the only rooms they had let which was a standard hotel room with a queen bed, microwave, and mini fridge. When we arrived we were nothing but surprised on how clean our room was and the hotel/resort. The pools were not resort style but nice, but we did not use them as we prefer to spend our time on the beach. The cabana bar was nice and convenient with happy our specials. The service at the resort was outstanding. Everyone was super nice. We loved that the hotel had tennis courts which we took advantage of. There was also ping pong, shuffle board, volleyball, hot tub and corn hole available to guests which were all very nice. For the price we paid I was very satisfied and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great deal, clean resort, nice staff, and plenty of activities for families with kids. When we visit St. Pete beach again this will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0731Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We do feel that the Alden is the "best bang for the buck" on St Pete Beach!

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Alden and were totally satisfied. The easy access to beautiful St. Pete's beach, two pools, tennis courts, ping pong table, and more gave my family plenty of options. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I noticed that they showed respect to one another and worked well together. We had an issue with our room that required a repair. The management recognized this inconvenience and responded with great care and attention. We also enjoyed the option of eating breakfast and lunch in our room. The kitchenette saved us time and $$.
Overall, Alden Resort and Suites was an excellent place for families to unwind and let go of our worries.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Short and Suite (pun intended) and to the point!

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family has stayed at Alden Suites for a week the last two summers, specifically, in room 138, which provided a Gulf view and just steps from the beach. During our stay this past June, we were remembered by our housekeeper (who gave me a big hug) and other staff members. We consider Alden Suites and St. Pete’s Beach as our second home. We love the resort and the surrounding community.
We would like to acknowledge particular emphasis on your staff’s politeness and professionalism. Both years, the workers at the Grab n Go were very helpful, especially getting our boarding passes for us. A special nod to Chris and David, at the Cabana bar. They’re like old friends!
Also, we were most thankful for the staff contacting us, at the airport after they found my son’s Nintendo in the room. They shipped it to our home and we received it within a couple of days.
Although clean and accommodating, the only negative would be that the rooms could use some updating.
Regarding previous comments; our air conditioning was excellent and we had a full size refrigerator!
We love Alden/St. Pete Beach and hopefully will be back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely get a Gulf view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wonderful review and thanks for mentioning our staff, in particular...

We renovate one building at a time and the poolside "Nassau Suites" building is next, this Fall. NO building / suite type is older than 7-8 years old in terms of renovations, with the 20 deluxe Gulf front suites being completed in late 2013, the 27 Courtyard Jr Suites completed in late 2010 (and the Villa suites as well)

Thanks for the nice comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family has been visiting the St Pete's Beach area since 1966 and we always stay at the Alden Beach Resort. Now that the kids are adults, their families come too. Great service, accommodations, and family fun. Truly, a home away from home.

Room Tip: Best is gulf front, ground level for families. Kids can play in the sand and you can keep an eye on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCook12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Repeat Guests are our bread and butter!

We have so many 2nd and 3rd generation guests at the Alden, and just like this reviewer says...we try very hard to make the Alden your "home away from home".

Thanks very much for the kind words,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was nice, although for the price, I thought it was a little lacking.

We stayed in a gulf front room. The room was a suite which consisted of a living area with sleeper sofa and a separate bedroom. The living area was nice and I was told the sleeper sofa was comfortable. The ceiling fan worked great

The bathroom was small and really needed more counter space! Otherwise, it was fine, good water pressure and plenty of towels.

The bedroom really needed a ceiling fan. The light/lamp situation was weird too, the only way to turn on the nitetable lamp was to have it on with the overhead bed lights, making it impossible to have the overhead lights off and the lamp on.

The room climate control was a little weird too. It seems as though it would re-set or turn itself off after a certain amount of time. We would shower and dress for dinner and when we left for dinner, the room would be comfortably cool. when we got back, it was warm again and at least 4 or 5 degrees hotter than the temp we left it at, without ever touching the thermostat.

Maid service was good, beds always made when we got back from the beach, room cleaned up, trash emptied.

The "kitchenette" area really needs a full sized fridge (not a dorm size) and paper towels or napkins or something provided in the room.

Beach access from our room was wonderful and we had a great view of the gulf from our balcony.

The front desk folks were super friendly and made check in and out easy.

The parking situation is horrible. Each room only gets one spot and there are only about 10 public guest spots before you get to the gated lot. Our room slept 6 and all 6 of us were supposed to ride down in one car? Really? The municipal lot is not really walking distance and there is no where else to park as the shops and restaurants tow.

So, overall, the hotel is nice, a little overpriced for what you get, horrible parking but great staff and beach access.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Like every beachfront hotel, we allow one car (free parking unlike most beach hotels) per registered suite. We have 20 parking spots for visitors, on a first come, first serve basis. We meet all local City parking codes for hotels. There are numerous public parking lots around the City and Free beach ride will transport from the lots to the hotel. If we were to allow for 2 or more parking spots per suite when we are sold out (every weekend in Summer) there would be no parking for 1/2 of our guests!

Unlike many resort hotels in Florida, we do not charge for overnight parking, so we hope this somewhat eases the pain of not being able to park numerous cars per registered suite.

Thanks for the complimentary comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, July 2014. There were 2 adults, 2 teenagers, so we chose a 1 bedroom suite. I tried to find a floor plan of the room on line, with no luck.
I wouldn't exactly call it a suite, as soon as you walk in, there is a room with two beds, then a door off that room that leads into a small hallway area with the sink for the bathroom and then past that to the living room kitchen area. I booked a 1 bedroom in order to have some privacy, but we didn't, because anyone wanting to leave the room had to go through the "bedroom".
That would be my only disappointment with the stay.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the grounds were very well kept and the pools clean with plenty of tables and chairs.
The room was clean, beds comfy, pools towels left in the room. Coffee in the lobby in the morning was a nice touch. The beach is large and clean and is great for walking.
It is a great location for being able to rent jetskis, paddleboards, etc right on the beach.
Grocery shopping and restaurants are close by.
The cabana bar is a great place to have a drink and watch the ocean, and the food stand on site was FANTASTIC! I had a lobster roll two days in a row.
The wifi was a bit spotty, but we always ended up eventually getting connected.
Our flight was later on in the evening on check out day, and the front desk staff allowed us to store our bags and we used the pool and beach all day, and then we showered in the locker room right off the lobby. They supplied towels, shampoo, soap, etc. All of which was great.
We enjoyed ourselves and would return. The hotel is clearly an older one, but I think they try very hard to keep it up and add some nice extra touches.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Interesting comment about our suite configuration....this guest had very positive comments about the entire hotel and the service, except fro the suite configuration.

The reason the bedroom is up front and the living are in the back of the suite, is that we have found that unlike "commercial / corporate" locations, the leisure / beach visitor would rather have the living room look out over the beautiful beach and Gulf of Mexico, then the bedroom. The bedroom is primarily for sleeping, so the million dollar view is less important!

In any event, I amp pleased that this guest loved our new food service (just opened July 3, 2014) and the rest of their stay.

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing