We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Hudson, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DIRTY!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I don't want to be a totally negative person so I will start this review by saying the pool, courtyard and outside bars are lovely and you can catch beautiful sunsets here. Now the gross part, we stayed here on 06/17/12, and thankfully only the one night becuase the rooms are filthy! The carpets and furniture are stained, the bathroom was so dirty and gross, there was someone elses hair on the soap holder in the shower and be sure to check out the picture for the lovely thing growing on the outside of the tub! When you turned on the water in the shower, more water continued to run out of the faucet than the shower head.

My in-laws were in the adjoining room to ours and they ended up getting a new room because theirs smelled like a dirty diaper, even after asking 2 times for someone to get up there and try to fix the smell. We are going to make a family tradition of spending the father's day weekend on St. Pete Beach but it certainly won't be at this place! YUCK!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    358
    213
    101
    145
See reviews for
378
272
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My experience at the Dolphin Beach resort was horrible. They did not have my reservation on file when I arrived. I was shocked. I asked if there was anything that they could do to help me because I had in fact made the reservation and Joe at the front desk told me they would not do anything. I later found out they charged me a no show fee 3 days earlier which was removed but the fact that they did nothing to help is shocking. The Hotel management also did nothing to help. What do you do if you are visiting from far away? If you do take your chances and decide to stay at this horrible place I would suggest a back up plan.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Cant complain about the hotel, cleaned every day to a good standard. Good pool, cheap drinks, easy access to the beech.

Areas very good as well, theres a number of restaurants close to the hotel as well as some shopping including Publix for some food and drinks for the room :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I acutally just got back from staying here....i called many times before we left and made sure they wouldnt charge my card cuz i had other people coming with me. the first day we got there we tired to pay for the room but the lady wouldnt take the money so the next day when coming back from walking on the beack the worker at the front desk said my card was delined whicch before we got there i told them not to charge my card but they did it anyways..since there were 3 other people that came with me i didnt want them to charge my card because they were paying their way..and then the chick got an attuide when i told her that this was BS that they didnt listen to what the customer said.. then we told the house keepers that we didnt want our room cleaned while we were there and one of my friends just got out of the shower and the housekeeper guy walked in and she wasnt fully dressed and then the head person of the house keepers got an attuide wit her and so did the general manager i mean if u want to have customers to come back and enjoy thier stay dont treat them like S*** the view was amazing but if u dont good/great customer service then as a business you dont have anything and it wasnt all that clean anyways i mean the bathtub had soap scum all around it we spent about $800 for this room and crappy customer service will not ever stay here again i mean i will spend that much. I mean i will spend that much fora great hotel and great customer service wasnt very impressed over all..

Room Tip: beach front view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

All I was looking for was a place to stay on the beach one night before going to a conference. The hotel was affordable and had great beach access. The rooms are fairly standard, but could use some updating, but they are clean enough. We didn't use the pool or even eat inthe restaurants, but it really does have a great location.

Room Tip: It might be worth the money to spring for a balcony room that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

THIS PLACE DOESN'T DESERVE EVEN A TERRIBLE RATING...IT SHOULD BE HORRIBLE!! CHECK OUT THE PHOTOS FOR PROOF OF THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINTS. We arrived late Wed., 4/4/12, for a wedding @ the Grand Plaza on 4/6/12. I had requested a 2 bdrm rm & was told we were upgraded to a partial beachview rm since there were no basic 2 bdrm rms left. I thought this was great UNTIL WE SAW ROOM 314. 1st this hotel is in DESPERATE NEED OF UPDATES ALL, YES, ALL over & a MAJOR CLEANING. Windows are DIRTY, rugs r GROSS. Rm 314 had old ceiling panels separated & almost falling off over bathrm sink. Bathtub was gross, BLACK on bottom of tub, faucet old & dirty, bathroom sink panel fell off as I touched it. Since it was too late & we had a 3 yr old, we stayed in the rm that nite as the front desk employee stated he couldn't move us 2 another rm since they were booked. He suggested I speak w/mgr the next morning. Vicki, the mgr, needs some real training on customer svc & MANAGING A HOTEL!!!. She was not empathetic, didn't offer any discount for our trouble, never apologized, & wouldn't go see the issues I was complaining about. She insisted 'maintenance' would go in after we left the rm. We were moved to rm 216 which was in better shape but still dirty windows & rugs & no discount for our troubles. Sheets scratchy and hard. WE HATED OUR STAY AT THIS PLACE. BETTER OFF STAYING OFF BEACH FOR A BETTER STAY & PROBABLY PAY LESS, YES INDEED LESS!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different place if you must stay at St. Pete's Beach. This place needs a complete remod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TRAVELHIGHSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were very disappointed in this hotel and the lack of customer service. Unfortunately we discovered a dozen or more roaches in the bathroom and were only offered a different room. No apologize, just that this is Florida and roaches are everywhere. This is not the case as if regular sprayings occur, roaches will not come in. The staff acted as if we were overreacting and did not refund our money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing