We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our 5th stay at this hotel although the first for 6 years. We make a point of asking to stay in the Gulf view rooms with downstairs preferred as these open straight onto the the beach. These are great rooms-they are the most expensive, however we find the extra cost worth it.

Common complaints we`ve noticed on this site are:

Rude Staff. We we`re given a warm welcome upon arrival, and front desk staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, especially the guy with stud in his eyebrow. As we had paid out for one of the higher spec rooms we where never in an adversarial situation with the staff so can`t comment on problems other posters suffered.

Decor. Hotel has a kind of garish flower theme throughout. This is traditional Florida (Flora/Florida) style, we have stayed in many villas with the same decor.

Bugs. Found 3 roach like creatures during week. Again have had same problem at villas, particularly downstairs.

Musty Smell. Slight odour in our room, we feel this is inevitable with people stepping in of beach onto the carpet and was hardly noticeable.

Parking. As per earlier poster, strongly recommend on Karaoke nights (Saturday/Sunday) either eating at the hotel or dinning somewhere within walking distance, or you`ll run the risk not being able to park upon return.

Room quality. We paid for best rooms. Most however overlook the car park or the next door condos, as they say you pays your money.

Whilst there are some issues at the hotel we are glad we weren`t swayed by some of the negative posts and would cheerfully recommend the Dolphin providing you`re prepared to pay the bit extra.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms not facing the beach. You will have headlights from parking cars illuminati...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacma373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here at to wrap up a week long cruise from Tampa. We had a wonderful stay on the beach at a reasoable price.The hotel is not state of the art but for the location, price and cleaniness it was worth it.

Pro's
-Location- On the beach and located centrally on the Gulf Blvd strip St. Pete Beach side. Grocery shopping and restaurants are in the plaza across the street along with a Chase Bank.

-Pool- Large and though busy not overly crowded

-Room- Large and bathroom was large and accomodating for two people.

-Tiki Bar- Very cool to have this on site

-Karaoke on the weekends in the restaurant. Very fun and worth staying up to hang out.

-Facility- Modern updates have been made that set this apart from the Plaza Beach a few doors down but as with any Florida beach front property its not going to be the upscale.

-Parking- Plentiful and convenient

-Trolley- You can catch this about a block away and take it to John's Pass or anywhere else on Gulf Blvd.

Con's
-Older room's

-The veranda near the pool is only for guests dining in the restaurant. I suggest they make this available to all unless the restaurant is at capacity. Otherwise it's a waste of space and is rude to request guests relocate when it's completely empty.

Overall wonderful stay and it was the perfect way to wrap up our honeymoon. I would love to stay again next year.

Room Tip: *Visit the pool early when it opens as it will be less crowded. *The Tiki bar closes earlier then...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruisimel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel needs to freshen their room decor. I understand the "tropical" theme they are trying for but it comes off as outdated 70s.

The location is what makes this place. It sits directly on the beautiful beach. The pool area, tiki bar that are right on the beach as well.

So overall I can suck it up when dealing with tacky decore when the beach is feet away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My girlfriend and I love this area and have stayed in a couple different hotels and this one has been the best so far. I got a great deal on the room. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. We loved the bar outside by the pool and on the beach. All of the bartenders there were very nice and were very generous when making the drinks!! You can never beat being right on the beach and having a welcoming place to stay. We loved being across from The Drunken Clam bar and down the street from P.J.s Oyster Bar. Not that far from Johns Pass, which has great shopping and great places to eat! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dweb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We used to drive 1 1/2 hours down to Sarasota from the Tampa airport and stay in a fancy ( expensive ) condo. Then we happened upon the Dolphin Beach Resort. We always get a beachfront room and the view is unbeatable. The rooms have coffee makers, microwaves and a small fridge which is very helpful. There is a large supermarket and liquor store right across the road. We make coffee in our room in the morning ( and cocktails in the evening ) and walk right outside the sliding door and enjoy the most perfect sand and water view imaginable. There are plenty of places to eat and drink up and down the beach so there is no need to drive anywhere. We have always found everyone at the front desk to be extremely helpful and accommodating and wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Dolphin to anyone looking for a great beach vacation!

Room Tip: We always stay in a beachfront room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shieldsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were made to feel very welcome by the staff here, from hotel reception to the cleaners. We paid a little extra for a beach view which in my opinion was worth it. The pool was excellent, with plenty of sun loungers to go around but a negative worth mentioning is some of the loungers were in fixed positions and there was very little shade to be had. There is a very handy beach bar that serves drinks and snacks and the shuffle board facility can be used at no extra charge; a lovely way to pass the time.This is a terrific location to watch the sun setting into the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I remember my parents bringing me here back in the mid-1970's. It was called the Happy Dolphin at the time, and I still refer to it by that name.

It's an ideal location with a nice big beachfront area to relax in. The pool area is awesome and the water is always warm.

The rooms can use some furniture updates, but it isn't too bad. I've stayed in much worse hotels over the years, and the Happy Dolphin hasn't fallen that far. The rooms are much bigger than your standard run-of-the-mill hotel room too.

I would never hesitate to stay here again. I feel like I'm at home when I'm here. The employees are always very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £78 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing