We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beachfront sunsets at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful beachfront sunsets at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our group has been staying here for three weeks every winter for several years and we always look forward to returning. The staff is wonderful and goes out of their way to accommodate us.
This is an older, smaller hotel that is reasonably priced and well maintained. They repainted the inside earlier this year with bright tropical colors, installed new carpets and added new lobby seating. The restaurant has good food and offers a variety of lunch specials each day plus several "Early Bird" dinner specials. Their great pool area with lovely flowers and palm trees overlooks the Gulf of Mexico and is always kept very clean, The sunsets are beautiful! Each wing has laundry facilities, which is a big plus. The trolley stops right in front of the hotel and Dolphin Village Shopping Center across the street is great! (Publix Supermarket, CVS Drug Store, dollar store, liquor store, restaurants, etc.) Also there are many other restaurants located within three blocks from the hotel. A great getaway to relax!

Room Tip: All gulf front rooms have a patio (1st floor) or balcony. Only half of the poolside rooms have patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    333
    204
    97
    138
See reviews for
343
254
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Let me start with the main issue... there was ant infestation in our room, we called maintenance it took them 45 minutes to arrive. I called the front desk 4 times to see where maintenance was and was told " he is busy in another room and will be up shortly". I called back the last time and asked for a manager and was told " We do not have any managers until Monday" , I asked who was in charge and she said " no one". That makes a guest feel great. NOT! A guy showed up with a can of bug killer that would have suffocated a horse. He sprayed the balcony and said he would have to come back in 20 minutes with something less toxic for the interior. When we returned from out night out, our room smelled like raid. It was gross, at least we were checking out the next day. ( I have attached some pictures of the line of ants)

The rest...The hotel is very dated. Everything about this hotel says old, run down, nasty beachfront hotel. The staff looked miserable during check-in, carpeting in the rooms was dark blue and meant to hid stains... thank god we could not see what was really embedded in the carpet. The towels were thin, there was no water pressure in the shower, the comforters on the bed are those " probably never been washed -cheap hotel 80's busy pattern polyester" things that you wouldn't want to sit on.

The Restaurant was dead (We did not eat there), the bar outside beach front had terrible music but at least the view as amazing.

The point is.. there are better options in St. Pete Beach. This is about as classy as a rent-by-the-hour hotel.

Room Tip: Here is a tip, pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPrissy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a little dated but clean and very spacious. The room service staff if very fast and efficient. The food is pretty good and reasonable. The bartender at the pool, Ken, will rip you off if you are not careful and is pretty rude. The manager of the hotel didn't really care when I informed her that he was cusing in front of children and tried to over charge us two extra drinks. We had four drinks over a few hours so this was not hard to lose track of. Use the inside bar or pay cash because he also said he tips himself well if you forget to cash out before 9pm. Otherwise the staff I great. We have been here quite a few times so we will most likely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea12878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Dolphin Beach Resort. The beach is great and the resort is centrally located with lot's to do nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a very short walk to the pool/bar/beach exit. The restaurant had a great breakfast and there are many very good restaurants nearby for variety.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great stay. clean large room. away from the pool. Pool was sparkling. Beach access perfect. close to stores and restaurants. Kids had a blast. Late pool night bar was great. Upstairs deck to overlook the beach, nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbaby20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have to admit, some of the reveiws on here had me very nervous. When we got to the hotel, I was even more nervous by the appearance of the outside. My husband could only so "Oh" as we drove by. It was too early to check in so we drove up the beach to check out the area. When it was closer to check in time, we headed back. Upon entering the lobby, we were pleasantly surprised. While old, it was quite nice. Unlike some of the other reviewers here, we found the front desk staff to be personable and helpful. The front desk clerk checking us in even gave us our choice of rooms from what he had available. I thought this was very nice. Our room was quite large. We had no air conditioning issues at all. It was in the mid 90s every day and our room was a comfortable 70 degrees. The refrigerator was twice the size of the minis in most hotel rooms. The pool area is very nice and just a few steps beyond the pool is the beach. We were very pleased with our stay and would certainly stay again. It is a great value and the location could not be better!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Rooms were clean & we loved that they each had a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot which is a lot more than what we've gotten at other 3 star resorts. The pool and pool area was kept extremely clean. A lot of families with small kids stayed here: away from the party scene and within walking distance of grocery store and shopping. Also an extremely short walk walk to the beach. Would come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmieJenni4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing