We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed here for a weekend trip with family, the place was dirty, The staff was rude and did not want to help with anything, everything was a big bother to them. The woman bartender was the rudest of all she basically ignored us and went on to serve other people around us, they probably were regulars. The management of this establishment should really check on the staff, when you work in the hospitality field you need to be hospitable. If you don't like your job quit..don't take it out on paying customers.... The best part of this place was the location and the beach..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi418Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    338
    206
    98
    138
See reviews for
350
260
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for a week during a military reunion. This hotel is a little older and smaller than those around it, but the stay was very comfortable, the staff could not have ben more helpful and attentive. They really bent over backwards for us to make it a memorable vacation. The hotel and grounds were well maintained and very clean. Great beach faces the Gulf. The catered, buffet style, banquet was outstanding. The business meeting and hospitality rooms were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been staying at the Dolphin for over 20 years. Must admit that it is not the most luxurious of hotels, but we feel very comfortable here. We were there for 2 weeks beginning of may, Our room
Was beachfront & spotless. Housekeeping were friendly & we had as many clean towels as we needed. We meet many people every year who have been coming to the Dolphin repeatedly. As one of the holidaymakers said to us, its like putting on a comfy pair of slippers. Not for everyone, but we have lots of lovely memories from the Dolphin. Speak as you find. . Kath, London.

Room Tip: Poolside or beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Looking at the reviews online I was not to happy about booking this hotel, but they always say don't judge a book by its cover, and that is very true with this hotel, I loved it,and will definitely go back again soon!

Room Tip: Don't pay more for the rooms with a view, when you can just walk 5 minutes to get out side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent two night at this hotel it was average at best but right on the beach which was fantastic. You can jump in your car and just moosy on right up to Clearwater on the beach Buelavard road which runs approx 25 mls an area not to be missed if in the orlando area. The room was sufficent but my wife did notice it could have been cleaner especially the bathroom There is a nice pool ares with a bar and food is served there as well.with steps right down to the beach. I would not be disapointed to stay there again but would try another hotel if i could. It is also just a fifteen minute drive to the dali museum which was a great experience.

Room Tip: we had an carpark view but you do get pool and beach view rooms as well but none were left when we v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Location is great...right on the beach. Hotel is dated and needs a major makeover. Quite a bit of mould on the windows and overall not the cleanest. If you just need a place to rest your head for a night it's fine, but I couldn't imagine anyone wanting to stay here longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medic289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is difficult as this used to be one of our favorite places to go.
This place is suffering from a major lack of maintenance and poof housekeeping.
We were going to spend a week here and left after 3 days.
I will list just a few of the issues we ran into:

Upon arrival the keys would not work (three times we took them back) and I was told that I should not put them next to my cell phone as they erase them. The front desk person was arrived we had to keep bothering her. As it turned out the battery in the door was bad. Maintenance did a quick job of fixing the issue and were very pleasant.

Next the rear sliding door to the beach had the locking mechanism ripped lose and we had to screw with it to get the door opened. This we didn't report.

We also could not open the drapes as the track was bent up. Again we didn't report this as we were able to get the drapes opened.

Next at 04:20 in the morning the smoke alarm let us know with a beep a minute that it needed a battery. We called the front desk and we were told that they would send someone in the morning (note we were paying almost $300 a night as we had the Gulf front room). I explained that this was unacceptable and they dispatched security to remove the smoke alarm so that it could be replaced in the AM. Again maintenance was quick and efficient, just too little too late.

As for housekeeping (or lack there of) they never got the room done before 16:00 (including the day we checked in) and they did the bare minimum that they could to the room. No soap no shampoo, we did get clean towels. They barely ran the vacuum, and when they did they just ran it around and missed the same things day after day like sand and popcorn kernels.

As for the pool it was very nice. There was a dead palm tree that they removed while we were there. the tables which were built like little tiki huts (palm roofs and such) however holes and bird crap all over the tables.

We ran into a couple that had been "going there for 20 years" but stated that a lot of the long time people they knew had left for other places as moral was in the toilet.

We explained the problems to the people at the desk and it was evident that the information fell on deaf ears

We will not be going back to this "resort"

Room Tip: Avoid this as the workers and management really don't care. The Gulf front rooms open out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing