We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, relaxing visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good, relaxing visit.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I traveled here with my daughter who had a volleyball tournament in Orlando. We decided to fly into Tampa since the tickets were almost $150 per person cheaper. I did some looking at the dates and it would be even cheaper if we flew earlier than anticipated. i figured I would use those savings for a little beach R and R. I came across the Dolphin's on a search and was a bit skeptical looking at the reviews, but figured I give it a shot as the price was right. (We got a non gulf view room, 20 steps outside my door and I was on the beach, I didn't see the point for the money.) We checked in and went to the room, but the door would not open, not a big deal. They recreated the cards and all was well. The front desk clerk was very apologetic. I've read some reveiws wher they said house keeping is not every day, not do they vacuum. Not true at all in my case. This hotel is older, but it is by no means run down or dirty. Could it use some sprucing up? Sure, but for what I paid to be right on the beach, I have zero complaints. If you're looking for 5 star, this isn't your place. If you're looking for a family beach vacation that won't break the bank, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ds1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    359
    213
    101
    145
See reviews for
378
275
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

OK so this is NOT a resort. There is no room service there is no pool side service this is a Motel 6 with high end pricing. This is in no shape or form a high end hotel and you can tell by the clientele. I think the front desk attendant was drunk when we checked in because he reaked of boos. For what you pay here ($238/night) this is by no means worth it. For an extra $100 you can stay at the Sandpearl Resort (a real resort with umbrella drinks, a spa and 5 star service and amenitites.) This place is a joke. The halls stink, the rooms are dated and overall ambience is terrible. This is a $100/night hotel at best. They charge $20 for parking (each room only gets 1 parking space). The rooms are ok clean but not clean clean. Put it this way, I didn't sit on the toilet and my finace wouldn't shower until we got home. The only positive about this MOTEL is the location and the fact that thier 1st floor units walk out to the beach. Otherwise save your money, eat out one less meal one week and splurge for something like the Sandpearl on Clearwater beach. If you stay here you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: find another room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lshep82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBeachResort, Owner at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
While it saddens me we did not meet your expectations, I can't help but think your expectations should have been tempered some. We are a 3 star resort; it is unfair to compare us to a world class 4 star hotel/spa, as that is in no way our CompSet. A quick check of rates today(7/7)shows the Sandpearl's rates(269) as being more than double ours(119). We do however have room service, sadly no pool service(the don cesar is the only place on SPB that does) As for your parking complaints, we are actually the only major hotel on the beach that does not charge for parking or a resort fee, we do charge for additional parking. While it's upsetting we couldn't meet your needs, it seems as if this is a case of ordering a double cheeseburger and expecting a filet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Two friends and I stayed in an ocean front on the second floor for two days over Memorial day weekend. Usually when the reviews are 50/50 great to horrible, its usually bad. I was surprised to find the rooms were clean and in good shape. No mold or cigarette burns on the furniture. The pool and common areas were also well maintained and cleaned.

The Gulf is only 100 yards from the pool. There is a strip mall across the street with a Publix, liquor store , CVS, Dollar Tree and a couple of restaurants that was very convenient.

The food at the restaurant was very good. Service at the poolside area for lunch was good. The first night we arrived at the restaurant at 8:00. It closes at 9:00. Although there was only 1 larger table with 7 people and 5 or 6 tables with 2 to 4 people in the restaurant, we were told it would be 20 minutes before we would be waited on unless we sat at the bar. Thinking that we would order drinks and have those while we wait, we decided to sit at a table. After 5 minutes or so, and with no one even recognizing that we were there, we left and went to the front desk to complain. As many reviews had stated,they did not seem interested in helping at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKYDIVE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed here for a weekend trip with family, the place was dirty, The staff was rude and did not want to help with anything, everything was a big bother to them. The woman bartender was the rudest of all she basically ignored us and went on to serve other people around us, they probably were regulars. The management of this establishment should really check on the staff, when you work in the hospitality field you need to be hospitable. If you don't like your job quit..don't take it out on paying customers.... The best part of this place was the location and the beach..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi418Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for a week during a military reunion. This hotel is a little older and smaller than those around it, but the stay was very comfortable, the staff could not have ben more helpful and attentive. They really bent over backwards for us to make it a memorable vacation. The hotel and grounds were well maintained and very clean. Great beach faces the Gulf. The catered, buffet style, banquet was outstanding. The business meeting and hospitality rooms were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been staying at the Dolphin for over 20 years. Must admit that it is not the most luxurious of hotels, but we feel very comfortable here. We were there for 2 weeks beginning of may, Our room
Was beachfront & spotless. Housekeeping were friendly & we had as many clean towels as we needed. We meet many people every year who have been coming to the Dolphin repeatedly. As one of the holidaymakers said to us, its like putting on a comfy pair of slippers. Not for everyone, but we have lots of lovely memories from the Dolphin. Speak as you find. . Kath, London.

Room Tip: Poolside or beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Looking at the reviews online I was not to happy about booking this hotel, but they always say don't judge a book by its cover, and that is very true with this hotel, I loved it,and will definitely go back again soon!

Room Tip: Don't pay more for the rooms with a view, when you can just walk 5 minutes to get out side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing