We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit shabby, great location did the job for 3 nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A bit shabby, great location did the job for 3 nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired and run down, but with loads of potential..
We checked in and given our key- went to the room and it was not made up... This happened twice.
On the 3rd attempt we got a made up room over looking carpark- great advantage...loads of room.
We headed to the beach bar- really good but again in need of TLC. Pool was ok but never saw anyone checking PH levels or doing any cleaning. On the beach which was a bonus, free parking. Wifi was temperamental. No safety deposit boxes.Pool side bar food was I think brought in as we got in in plastic to go boxes with no real cutlery all plastic.
Hotel staff all pleasant - just don't expect too much with the decor..rooms spacious and ideally get a ground floor pool facing so you can step out to poolside or beach ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Libbylocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    335
    204
    98
    138
See reviews for
345
255
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Beautiful large spacious room with heavenly pillows,super luxurious bed and European style duvet (comforter) I loved this hotel. Staff was super friendly and made me feel welcome. Hotel was smack dab on the most heavenly white sandy beach. I stayed from mon to Friday for some much needed relaxation and this hotel ticks all the boxes!!! I willl definetly be back!

Big bonus is its right across the stree from supermarket and drugstore where you can buy essentials and the hotel has a pretty large fridge and microwave

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet. No noise at all not even by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room and lobby needed serious updating and the ac vents needed to be cleaned. The ceiling and wall where the air vent was blowing was black and I'm glad we did not stay for more than 2 nights as my sinuses were being affected by the ac situation. It was nice to have a bar and restaurant although the food mediocre and it was closed by 9:30. For the most part the staff was very friendly especially the cabana rental guys. Loved the beach, location and the pool area was nice although the lounge chairs were bolted to the floor so you couldn't move into or out of the shade without moving to a different chair. I liked that we had a bottom floor room next to the pool however, you couldn't access your room from the pool unless you propped the door open. You had to walk through the hall and back down/up to get in from the interior. I wouldn't rate it as poor nor average, but somewhere in between.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your AC as soon as you check. Our friends had to change rooms and ours was dirty an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I've stay at this resort. I've stayed at several resorts in the Pinellas Beaches. I don't find any thing special about this one. I believe there are better places on the Pinellas Beaches. I know because I've stayed in them. The service staff was very helpful and friendly. The prices were just OK. Again this place is nothing special. I can't recommend this location. I don't plan on retiring.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have spent hundreds of dollars and stayed at luxury hotels. Never would I have guessed the BEST service, most polite staff ( all the way around ) and the cleanest rooms would have been found at this resort ! It is A+ and gets a 100% satisfaction rating from this guest and his family !
The room was spotless. The staff, all the way from the front desk,the excellent restaurant staff, housekeepers and maintenance were the most cordial I have ever encountered. Gracious and appreciative for you being a guest . They bend over backwards to make your stay carefree and worry free. And did I mention POLITE ? Every staff member that sees you gives a big smile and a "Hello". The price is unbelievably reasonable.
Our room was spotless as were the grounds, the hallways and the pool. Instant access to the well groomed and clean beach.
I could go on for hours pointing out the positives of this establishment. Just really the greatest vacation we have ever had. We were only going to stay two nights but enjoyed the hotel so much we extended our stay. We will be back and the Dolphin Beach Resort is our new "home away from home" when we head to the beach ! A special thanks to Joe (front desk), Brenda ( waitress ) and Sarah (housekeeping) just to name a few.
Joseph Maniscalco

Room Tip: We had first floor as to be able to walk right to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mejoetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff was nice but the room needed updating in the bathroom area. There were spaces in the ceiling tiles where bugs could get in and yes we had a large roach on the wall when we checked in. I didn't see any bugs after the initial one but it kind of took the wind out of my sail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madison1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBeachResort, Owner at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are disappointed that we couldn't satisfy your vacation needs. While it's most likely not much consolation, we are planning bathroom renovations as we speak, as we too believe this is an area of deficiency in comparison to the rest of our guestrooms. We hope we can convince you to stay with us again after we finish renovations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great pool,restaurant on site with room service ,bar at pool.
Best beach in St. Pete by far, parking was good ,but there is only 1 Handicap spot.
Everything within walking distance..

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve8570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing