We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect beach hotel for a beach wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
peoria, il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect beach hotel for a beach wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

50 Peorians arrived at the Dolphin Beach Resort for our Niece's wedding in late June 2009.
Having read the reviews, we were a bit doubtful, but the Dolphin soon laid our fears to rest.
The room were spacious and very clean , fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The fridge was important because I did the fresh flowers for my niece's wedding party.
I picked up the flowers I had ordered from Publix and had buckets of flowers in our room. No problems with the housekeeping staff, the restaurant staff provided the bud vases for the bridal bouquets with out question.
We had a beach party on friday instead of the usual rehearsal dinner.....keg of beer and pizzas in an end beach front room near a sand dune...again no problems with the staff.
The wedding took place at 745pm on the beach , the gals and guys got ready in beach cabana rooms , simply opened the sliders and out they went.
Allen Weddings did the arch, chairs, conch with flowers aisle. Father Ron (Greek Orthodox) was sweet and personal.
Apprx 20 minute service - pictures on perfect sunset beach.! Then reception in the Royal Dolphin Room. at the hotel. Their package included open bar and hot and cold hor d'ourves. (heavy enough to be a late dinner) Lovely reception room. Great table centerpieces (shells and sand in a large sniffter).
In short - have no qualms about having your wedding at Dolphin Beach Resort.
Just be careful at beach bar - lots of charges to our room after people heard us charge to our room number.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    338
    205
    98
    138
See reviews for
349
260
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We went to the Dolphin for 4th of July weekend. After reading all of the reviews we were nervous but the trip was wayyyy better than expected. The hotel was relaxing and had a very laid back vibe to it. We brought our cooler with our own beverages to the pool and beach and it wasnt an issue which saved me 100's of $$$$$. Check in was fast and simple and the staff was very friendly. We were made to feel like we were top priority and the overall trip was a 10. The area in general was great and convienient with great food and stores within walking distance. I would definitely recomend Crabby Bills down the street. If you are considering this place for the cost you cant beat it. The only thing I will do different next year is get the ground floor beach access room next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwbama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel is ideal base with a lovely view and pool! It has had quite a few improvements since we last came. This is our 5th time & it has been the best stay yet! It has had new carpets and the A/C has been fixed (not as noisey & no musty smell). We have never had any bother with cockroaches, we always request an upper floor (deluxe superior sea view). The beach bar is a lovely place to watch the sunset which is spectacular! We was so impressed this time that the next time we come to Florida we are not going to stop in Orlando. we will head straight to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamrose2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katz10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

The Lobby was very nice. So we were excited. But once we got into the elevator we knew something was wrong. the elevator was
soooo old when we got to our floor, it looked so old. When we walked into our room, it smelled so bad we had to go out and buy spray. The bed
linens were old and gross. 1 of the bed spreads had blood on it! There was a hole in the wall, and our slider to the balcony were dirty. For what we
payed this place was not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed last several days of Feb. 2009 in this clean, roomy standard room with side view of picturesque ocean--beautiful viewing day or night. 2 closets in room--one large open closet with long shelf in dressing room and one next to sink, microwave, and small fridge. We had a small table to eat, read, or do paperwork at; ample drawers for clothing; and good tv. On our floor near our elevator was a wicker chair & table and a closet nearby housing a coin-operated washer & dryer.

Huge, clean, heated pool with an abundance of clean lounge chairs. The outdoor tiki bar provides tables, drinks, snacks, and light meals. Late afternoon and into the evening is outdoor music, singing, and even karaoke. In front, there's a lovely beach to walk in either direction.

The well-maintained public areas inside and outside (parking lot included) are well lit at night. The lobby has several secluded areas with sofas and love seats to enjoy conversation or reading day or night. Two blocks down the street at a motel are computers to "rent"--public use allowed and most affordable. Restaurants nearby and a shopping center across the street (even grocery store) if you choose to venture off the beautiful, relaxing, fun Dolphin Beach Resort in St. Petersburg, FL. Dennis & Carol

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyvonneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

I've gone to the Dolphin a few times every year for the past 3 years. Cons are starting to outweight the pros.

GOOD: Great pool, beach bar is convenient and fun with good food. Kareoke Fri - Sun. Location - right across the street from supermarket and stores. Oceanfront rooms - walk right out on to the beach

CONS: Service of staff is very inconsistent (George - keep up the good work. Coleen - crack a smile once in a while). Rooms are just too beat at this point. Small holes in the walls, badly stained furniture and carpet, very loud air/heater, if you are over 5'5", the shower spray will hit you in the stomach. This trip only, big ugly bug crawling up wall in the morning.

For $20-30 more per night, you can now find a much better room on the strip

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LP1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abcoude, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

Our family stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our may holiday. And we were not pleased. The staff of the hotel is not very friendly. The complete hotel is really worn out and dirty. The elevator and airco make tremendous noises as if it is their last day. Looking for a nice place to stay in Petersburg? Don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zulch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing