We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at the Dolphin Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Wilton, Connecticut
14
Reviewed 8 July 2005

My wife and our 3 small children were staying at the Dolphin Beach Resort for 2 nights for a family reunion. I had made the reservation 8 previous to our stay and had guaranteed two beach front rooms with a credit card. I had requested connecting rooms. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told there were no available connecting rooms. When I complained, the response I got was "what part of 'there is nothing we can do' don't you understand?" When we looked at our two non-connecting rooms, we realized both rooms had connecting doors to other rooms. But the hotel staff had given these rooms to guests who did not need connecting rooms. So the hotel staff had not even attempted to keep connecting rooms available for guests who had requested them. When I asked the hotel staff (Billy, the night supervisor) if they would ask the guests in one of the other rooms to change with us and I would compensate the other guests for their trouble, I was greeted with an abrupt "no". When I indicated that I would ask the other guests myself, I was told that if I knocked on any guest's doors and made this request to change rooms that Billy would call the sheriff and have me removed from the hotel. I ended up asking a very nice couple in one of the rooms that connected to one of our rooms and they happily agreed to change rooms with us. Bottom line, the staff in this hotel do not care about the guests at all and have no customer service skills. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. Maybe if this terrible customer service attitude starts hitting the hotel in the wallet then they will change their attitude (and staff)

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,032 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 5 July 2005

Having read recent reports about the Dolphin Beach, I was very worried about spending two week there, but my worries were totally unfounded. I stayed with my parents, husband and two children and we all had a brilliant time. The hotel rooms were clean and larger than average and bedding and towels changed every day. We saw NO cockroaches or rats. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area was spotless and the pool cleaned every day.
The location of the hotel was excellent. Right on the beach. There was a shopping mall opposite and a few restaurant/diners very near.
Don't believe the hype about Crabby Bills, terrible service with an attitude to match. The Silas Steakhouse was also bad having waited 1 1/2 hours for our main meals.

The only downside of Dolphin Beach was the carpet in the hallways, a bit smelly and had seen better days, but I think that was being replaced and who sits in the hallway anyway!

Would definately return to St Petes and to Dolphin Beach. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2005

Yeah I did. And the day we arrived it was raining and nasty. When we woke up we got sun burn. It turned out to be a good weekend. The resort was clean although the hallways were showing heavy wear. It has been remodeled. Pool area was nice but could have used more work as in keep up work. It is a 3 Star Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank digit90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntsville, Alabama
14
Reviewed 3 June 2005

Stayed there for business. Smelly, old, dated, nasty place. I moved out to the Holiday Inn as soon as I could get out of there. Roach-infested, mildew-smelling dump. If you stay there, you can't say I didn't warn you!

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2005

Having just returned from The Dolphin Beach resort St Petes Beach, Florida i`d like to take this opoportunity to thank the other Tripadvisor users who gave advice when i asked for assistance as to recommended restaurants in the area as it was my wifes birthday whilst on vacation, although i was given several choices i opted for Spinners, the revolving restaurant on the Beach, all I can say is that the service was great the views outstanding and best of all the food was fantastic!! now down to the nitty gritty our hotel was well sited near to shops, restaurants etc, as stated by other members the carpets in the hallways could do with a good clean/renew, the rooms themselves were larger than average and well equipped on one morning at the end of our vacation my wife discovered a 2" cockroach hiding under her shoes in our room, not nice but the staff at the hotel were more than helpful within notification the offender was removed within One minute !!, I feel I neeed to inform would be customers that the staff at the hotel were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble and the service second to none. Value for money was first class and I would certainly recommend this hotel,
On the first evening of our arrival we went for dinner at Bennigans placed seemed ok until the end of the evening another roach attached itself to my arm whilst i was at the table for dinner we left and did not return.In summing up we had a fabulous holiday despite these trivial incidents and would certainly return.

3  Thank GARY7626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
France
15
Reviewed 12 May 2005

I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews; however we had 10 great days here. The beach is excellent as is the pool. The hotel is conveniently located near a number of shops and good restaurants. We actually found the staff quite friendly, but we didn't have to make a complaint while we were there. With 2 small children we didn't spend a lot of time in the rooms, but when we were there they were comfortable enough. For the price we paid we were pleasantly surprised!!!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
13
Reviewed 5 May 2005

Decent place to stay on the beach. Nice size rooms and great pool. For the money we were pleased. Need some updating and more overall staff but, was fine since we only spent about 7 hours in the room since we were sightseeing, and having fun the rest of the time.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £98 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing