We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the beach, not the motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
slidell, la
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Go for the beach, not the motel”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This was a quick overnight stay at St. Petersburg Beach. We arrived in the late afternoon. The king bed available was a beachfront with a balcony. The check in staff was efficient, but not overly friendly. We were given a coupon for breakfast, 30% off. Whoopie! Kinda nickle and dimed, but its the beach. The room was average. The sun was scorching on the balcony. The a/c could not cool the room. We kept the curtains closed as requested by a note on the slider. It was well after midnight when the room finally cooled enough to sleep. Don't bother paying extra for a beachfront balcony room. There is a beach bar with reasonable prices. Above the bar is a nice deck with lounge chairs. We enjoyed sitting here with drinks at night. We did not eat in the restaurant but did try to get served at the bar - no bartender. The pool was nice. Music was pretty loud, but that was okay. This could be a problem with a pool facing room. Volleyball nets on the beach seemed popular. For the money, shop around. It all depends on whether you want to be right on the beach or have access to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    341
    206
    99
    140
See reviews for
354
264
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights on Archers Tour this hotel is in need of modernisation, the staff on the front desk are unfriendly and unhelpful, the restaurant we went on 1st morning for breakfast and waited over an hour to be served a cold cup coffee we chased waitress twice, and when breakfast arrived it was raw onion and potato cold sausage raw egg, we refused to pay and so did many other guests, the waitress then admitted she had cooked it, and that she wasnt a chef!! needless to say over the road you have a Publix great store, or the Village Inn does buffet breakfast for about $6
Turned bath on and pipe came out the wall by 6 inches, only saving grace is the location, fantastic beach and sea is glorious and warm.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

albuquerque
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Dolphin Beach Resort worked out very well for us; the best thing is the location – right on the beach (153 steps to the water I counted!). As well as across the Gulf Blvd there is a shopping center with supermarket, CVS (pharmacy), $ store and several restaurants & shops. Thus we did not rent the car for the full stay, just for couple days to go to Tampa and Busch gardens. The bus stop is at the entrance as well (PSTA.net for bus info). The resort is like a giant “V”; the rooms look out either sea view or pool/sea view or a side/parking view. We stayed in the north wing in both types (pool/sea view room and a side view). The management has been doing updates to the bathrooms, so we’ve seen the difference: new faucet/sink combo and counter as well as lighting and mirror. In general spacious rooms with microwave, fridge and coffeemaker, some have a balcony as well. (warning the fridge is not cold enough to keep ice cream in it!) The beds were comfortable (pillows – not, but we brought ours); there two closets, two sets of drawers and a table with chairs – pretty standard) The biggest difference in our experience between the poolside and the parking view side was the air conditioner (the poolside had a better/ more modern unit than the cheaper rooms) Also some of the pool rooms have a flat screen TV rather than an oldie. The elevator broke down twice (however there are two elevators per wing). There is a restaurant downstairs with decent burger but the veggies for ribs weren’t fresh.
My recommendation on restaurants are THE WESTERN at John’s pass and THE GARDEN in downtown St. Petersburg (on Central Ave. between 2nd and 3d)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We just got back from a week at the Dolphin. My mother went with us and she is handicapped. We were booked right on the beach (patio area with 4 quick steps to the best sand in the world) and we had no trouble with her accessibility (except for the bathroom). Our kids, ages 9 and 13 had a great time in the pool area and the beautiful beach; they made a lot of new friends! It is an older hotel but very clean and comfortable; we never heard any of our neighbors. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. When it was time to check out and come home, we did not want to leave. In fact, we tried to extend our stay and the staff at the Dolphin were more than helpful to serve / accomodate us, but our airline was not as willing. Next time we are planning to stay for 10 days and with a larger group of family members. We looked around at other hotels along that part of the beach and we all agreed that we chose the best place for our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I made a reservation at the Dolphin Beach Resort three months in advance. I get there. Front desk said the card I used online was declined, so they cancelled my reservation. Now there were no standard rooms available. Instead of giving me an available room at the rate I reserved mine at, they wanted me to pay the room's full price, which was $40 more for Thursday night and $70 more for Friday, which was $110 total more than what I reserved my room for. No one contacted me before this to say it was declined. The front desk manager (Victoria) was not in at the time, and the only way I was able to get the person behind the desk (Colleen) to call her was when I raised my voice. Victoria (who was on her cell phone)asked if I can just get the higher priced room for that night, then she'll talk to me in the morning. Since we were out of a room and I didn't want to drive up and down the boulevard looking for another room, I agreed. I talked to her the next morning, and she would not budge in her customer service skills, except she'll charge us less for the one weekend day we were there and give us 10% off, which is still more than the price I reserved the room for.
Most decent facilites would have gladly let me have another room at the price they reserved the room for since THEY messed up. And at the very least, they would have contacted me beforehand to notify me that my card was declined. I should've have had to raise my voice to get some attention from the front desk either. I will NOT go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The staff on the front desk were very unfriendly apart from two very helpful people. The hotel is situated in a great position for the beach an pool. As the restaurant staff were also not very friendly we found it easier to eat out, as there were a few good eating places close by. The hotel was comfortable and clean, just a shame about some of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Room was ok, a/c ok. Best part of this place was the beach and the pool. No queen or king beds except in Gulf front highest priced rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamkimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing