We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Don CeSar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Traveled to the Don CeSar for a weekend. We had a wonderful time, relaxing meals, great wine, and fast service. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolagirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,914
    770
    326
    163
    154
See reviews for
998
1,198
93
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I admit to some trepidation after reading many reviews stating that the Don was showing a bit of wear. We arrived early one morning and from the beginning to the end of our stay (five nights, everything was wonderful. There are a few things that I wasn't wild about, quibbles mostly, but I cannot or would not consider staying elsewhere while visiting this beautiful stretch of beach.

So, the best part of the stay was a gracious and accommodating staff. From the moment we pulled up, we were greeted with smiles and good cheer. The door staff was most helpful, check-in was a breeze (an early morning flight saw us in our room at 10:00 a.m.), and the beach staff was always ready to set us up with chairs, towels, and umbrellas. And, no small feat, the cushions were very comfortable, allowing you to relax the whole day away.

(Sidenote: You all know that beach attendants should be tipped, right? We saw group after group - some of up to ten people - keep the guys running without shelling out a dime. And coolers - who brings coolers to nice resorts? This isn't a frat party.)

Housekeeping was punctual and helpful. The Maritana Restaurant was a fine night out, with absolutely beautifully prepared food, perfectly cooked, in a recently renovated space that makes for a great night. The resort fee allows for "free" WiFi. The location can't be beat either - right on Gulf Blvd, so you're close to the Bayway leading into St. Pete proper, a fun (longish) walk to Pass-a-Grill, and it's an easy drive north to the various beaches with public access. We drove many places, but took the Sun Trolley once ($2 per trip), and if you keep an eye on the Web site you can catch one without waiting for one in the hot sun. Without a doubt, it is perfectly placed in town.

The decor is really pleasing, and I thought well-maintained and clean throughout. The pools were, on our visit, crowded with families with generally well-behaved kids, though it must be said that squealing girls can be heard from miles away and parents could be a bit more sensitive about this. The older pool is actually 7' deep, something rarely seen these days. The tables around the pools offfer a fine lunch, with good service even in the heat. Even the parking attendants were friendly and helpful, despite sitting in that tiny cubicle in 95+ degree heat. Whew!

My quibbles are small, but bear mentioning: bed linen is changed only every three days (that schedule can be changed with a call to housekeeping) which, frankly, seems like a false economy, but I respected it. Service in the Maritana was a contradiction, effusively informative in its welcome and about the menu, but the waiter was nowhere to be seen when we still had not received our bread or appetizers an hour after our arrival. His excuse rang hallow. The musician at lunch might be enjoyed more if he was not hooked up to an amp; it was simply too loud. Also, I'd enquire about groups when making reservations. I know they're a hotel's bread and butter, but you do start feeling a bit squeezed out and marginalized. The staff remained helpful, but were overwhelmed at times. Also, the bar staff was uneven - one night friendly and professional, but another night saw a dry martini being made at a 2:1 ratio (yuck) and using the shot glass time and again without rinsing (I thought I tasted something weird in my drink).

By all means, consider the Don when heading to the area and you will surely enjoy yourself. It is fun, fabulous, and friendly. We're heading back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was our second trip to DC both times in June. I went with my son and his family(kids: 9, 5, 2) and it was a wonderful relaxing trip. We decided to get two connecting rooms this time as we found the suite last year way too small for 3 adults and 3 kids. They have a great little club for the little ones to entertain themselves if they get tired of the pool or the beach. The beach is clean, nice white sand, plenty of lounge chairs at both the pool and beachside. There are two pools with a great bar between them with nice cold drinks for all as well as typical bar lunch items. The food was average priced for this type of resort and was served hot and quickly. There was a lovely on site restaurant and it is close to many others if you want to get away. (Crabby Bills -try the crab legs!) This is not a new hotel, but was built in the 20s and refurbished in the mid 70s. It retains its original elegance from its time period right down to the rotary phones in the hallway! It does however, have a small business center also. The beds were supercomfortable with nice down comforters and the bathrooms, altho small, were nicely tiled and clean. Plenty of closet and drawer space. Very quiet. It does take dogs so if that is a problem for you, you can ask to be placed in a room further away. We had a wonderful time and the kids loved playing on the beach, jumping the waves and swimming in the pool. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This review is a bit outdated since this experience is from a stay in June of 2009. However, I felt the need to write it since I just had friends stay there recently who received similar service.

My close friend was having her wedding (ceremony & reception) here at the Don. We decided to book a room here for two nights (night of rehearsal dinner & the wedding). My hubby and I were splitting the room with another couple to save on cost.

We arrived on a Friday- check-in was at 4:00. We were told that our rooms were not yet ready. They took our phone number and let us know that they would call when the room was ready. An hour later....no room. At this point, I had to get ready for the rehearsal and was forced to changed and freshen up in their hotel lobby restroom. 6:00 rolls around and STILL no call! I go to the front desk and basically had to demand a room immediately and they issued us keys.

I would like to point out this at this point-- there was already another confrontation between another irrate guest and hotel staff. The waiting room was full of people waiting on rooms. Felt like the lobby of a bus station - not a four-star resort!!

We finally go up to our room and discover that there is only 1 king size bed-- when the reservation I made was for 2 queens!!! I call down to the lobby and they state "this is all we have available, but we will be more than happy to bring up a cot. But don't worry we won't charge you the additional $$ for the cot."

I was furious and asked to speak with the manager. After MUCH negotiation, they agreed to give us breakfast/cocktail vouchers but we were stuck with the room.

The kicker in all of this is that I booked this room by calling them- NOT using a third party travel site like Orbitz or Expedia. Secondly, amidst all of this.... they never ONCE acknowledged their error!

This is customer service 101!!

I have stayed at Holiday Inns and motels where better service was received. At $300 a night, and being a guest (and part of bridal party) for a $30,000 wedding, you would think they would treat their guests with more respect or at least acknowledge their mistakes!!!

All in all- I was completely disgusted with the service received from this resort. Even more disgusted with the way the front desk manager dealt with the customers. For a resort this large and this expensive-- they need to get a lesson on customer service and learning how to book reservations in their own system!!!

** Side note- the rooms are TINY!!!! we BARELY fit the cot into the room and open the closet at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sunnygator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We found the Don Ceasar Hotel to be a first class hotel, on beautiful St. Pete's Beach.
From the moment we checked in we experienced nothing but
very good service throughout our entire stay. The front desk staff was courteous and
answered all our questions. Our accomodations were as promised. The Bell staff
was quick, efficient and knowledgable about the resort. The food and service in the restaurants was very good. The drinks at the pool bar were great. The chair and umbrella
service was very good. The beach is absolutely beautiful. There is a water sports concession right on the beach. Jet skis, para-sailing, banana boat rides, and non-motorized sports are available. The hotel is about 80 years old and the architecture
both inside and out is beautiful. Of course the place has been updated thru the years
and the rooms have all of the modern amenities. The food and drinks are pricey,
but the resort fee includes free self-parking, and beach chairs with umbrellas, among
other things. I recommend a partial ocean view room on an upper floor, 6 or 7. Stay away from a Sunday check-in if possible, its the busiest day. We loved our 4 day getaway and look forward to returning .

Room Tip: Be as specific as possible with your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night for a wedding. The resort is nice and clean, albeit pretty old. It could use some touching up, but i guess you pay for the location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLEEUNDERWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great location , great service ! Staff here treats you like royality!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gglemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," the Loews Don CeSar Hotel, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing