We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Small Rooms”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The resort itself is very nice and opulent. The pool/beach area is very well maintained. The rooms were comfortable but small. We had reserved a King bed but when we got there they no longer had any King rooms so we were put into a room with two double beds. Not exactly what we were looking for in a romantic trip. To make up for it they gave us a room with a "partial" view and if you can imagine pressing your face to the window to look left that was how we got our view! The windows were also pretty dirty so it wasn't much to look at. I would say the best feature of this hotel is the location, the pool and the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCOhio330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear JCOhio330,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Don CeSar.

I'm glad you had a great time at the beach and enjoyed our historic property. The inconvenience with your room and windows should have not have happened and will be addressed. Although there were these inconsistencies in your service I am glad you were able to enjoy your time on your romantic getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, thank you again for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor!


Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,710 - 2,716 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Don in early May and had the best time! Our concierge Christina made this all possible! She made us reservations at Cafe Luna and we had two fantastic dinners. The fresh seafood is out of this world! Christina also helped us navigate St.Pete as it was our first time visiting. We toured around all the hot spots but mostly enjoyed hanging out at the beautiful white sand beach in front of the Don. Great service at the beach bar and throughout the hotel really made us feel at home and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiana267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Christiana267,

It is truly wonderful to see such great things said about one of our team members. I will be sure to personally reach out to Christina and praise her for showing you such a great time. She is a great asset to the hotel and I am glad she was able to make your stay special.

Thank you for all the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you are looking for a luxury resort getaway then this is the hotel for you. The service was great, the room was very clean (typical size hotel room), the bathroom was on the small side but our overall experience was relaxing and great. If you have a family this is a great place to stay with lots of things for the kids to do (air hockey, ping pong, pool, foosball, corn hole, tons of beach toys). We kayacked right off the beach (there's jet skiing as well). We plan to return with our teenage kids. During our stay we did check out other resorts/hotels to see how they compared as they were quite a bit less per day...none compared to the Don CeSar and after you added up all the extra fees for things that were all included at the Don - it just wasn't worth it. The service and quality was worth the extra money. THE ONLY THING I WOULD STRONGLY SUGGEST THEY CHANGE is the outrageous fee of $40 to rent a lounge chair and umbrella on their beach. There is no charge for use of a lounge chair/umbrella poolside (nor should there be for a resort) but the use of their pool/beach chairs/lounges/umbrellas should be part of the overall experience and not an extra fee. While we did not dine at the hotel restaurant, we did eat poolside and each time everything was delicious. Uncle Andy's Ice Cream Parlor was awesome as well (huge cones) and the desserts at the Sea Porch were fabulous. During the evening there was someone playing the piano down in the hotel lobby lounge which was great. They also had live music poolside as well. The beach was wonderful and there was a literal hill of beach buckets for kids to use as well as hula hoops, foam noodles etc. The hotel has some neat shops for adults and one for kids (a bit pricey but not a surprise) where you are sure to find something to bring home. The area of St. Pete itself is beautiful with lots to see and plenty of places/shops to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snickers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Snickers31,

Thank you for posting your experience about your recent trip to the Don CeSar!

Your review was outstanding as were the pictures you posted of the property. Thank you for all the kind words and, more importantly, I'm glad to see you enjoyed all areas of the hotel. It appears as though you were able to take advantage of almost all of our amenities, my only suggestion for the next trip would be to take advantage of our kid's club and indulge yourself at our spa!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Don CeSar very soon!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

An amazing hotel. Beautifully decorated with a smack in the face WOW Factors. So good there is an endless list of A list celebs that have stayed!

Located upon an endless beach of pure white sand and gorgeous warm ocean. This place is to die for.

Amazing facilities with large swimming pools with underwater speakers. This place could get no better. Beautiful surroundings of gardens and tall palm trees set upon an ocean front.

Champagne on arrival. Amazing service with impeccable food in it's restaurants. Stunning rooms with extra comfy beds. The rooms were bright and spacious and catered for our every needs.

Would go back in a flash! Well worth everything that was paid. this was a holiday to remember. Have no doubts about this place!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Tom S,

Thank you for detailing all of the great experiences you had during your time at our hotel. Everything from the beach & pools, rooms, and (most importantly) outstanding service came together to make your stay truly special. We would also love to have you back in a flash, please let us know if we can assist with any future plans!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We just got back from this beautiful hotel! It was the perfect place to stay...classy, yet beachy casual! Beautiful grounds with flowers everywhere! Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds! The 2 pool areas were so pretty with such unbelievable service! We really enjoyed the different musicians that played music each day at the pool! The hotel is right on a beautiful, private beach with white, white sand! My only complaint is high cost of beach chairs and umbrellas! Other than that, I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Looking forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Texasdebs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay!

I'm glad you enjoyed the various musicians poolside along with the beautiful rooms and hotel grounds. Further, thank you for mentioning the great service you received during your stay as well. There are many options in the area for our guests, but we feel our service is what sets us apart and keeps our guests coming back for more!

Thank you again for the kind words, we hope to see you again soon!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This resort is just great. The staff are friendly and there are great healthy food and drink options at the restaurants. Only negatives would be the fact that you need to rent beach chairs. I think as a guest, they should be included like the ones at the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllycatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Allycat Canada,

Thank you for your review! Sounds like you had a great time during your recent stay, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future! Please let us know if we can assist in any way.

Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I spend 2 days at this hotel, from the time we entered to the time we left it was breath taking. It's right on St Pete beach with many amenities, 2 swimming pools and if you prefer the beach just walk a few more feet and there you are in an amazing scenery that will leave you with a smile that will last forever every time you remember this hotel or speak of it. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florida, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear GIlberto O,

I'm glad to hear you and your wife had a great time here at the Don CeSar! It really sounds as though you took advantage of everything the hotel has to offer, including the pools, beaches, and various resort amenities.

I hope we can welcome you and your wife back soon, please let us know if we can assist in any way. Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review!


Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £197 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing