We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use your money wisely, there is nothing LUXURY about these rooms!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Use your money wisely, there is nothing LUXURY about these rooms!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have not taken the time to review any of my hotel stays for a while. I hope this review can help someone to not make the same mistake.
The building itself, is very impressive. You walk in and the Crystal Chandeliers, marble details, luxury bar and piano music certainly makes a statement. Staff is friendly, we got checked in quickly. Not given much information about the amenities, but partly because as you stay you get to find out by yourself EVERYTHING has an extra charge.
We reserved the "LUXURY KING with Partial View to the Gulf". Once you take the elevator to your room, everything changes. The hallways are outdated and smell like humidity, the carpet is very old and worn out. The walls can use some painting, the decor as well.
The ROOMS!! Nothing luxurious about it, smaller than the standard room at any 2 star hotel - and the bathroom was extremely small, one person at a time for sure!
The "partial view to the gulf" can only be experienced if you have your head out the window (but they do not open). Anything at all you want to do here, WILL BE CHARGED. So basically you paid for the room to sleep in, which is really below any average room I have stayed before.
We did speak to the staff about our disappointment, and we were told is an old historic building, and therefor rooms will be small. But…. what about the "luxury" advertising of this hotel, which is only seen in the lobby and any other area that you would have to pay to see (such as spa/shops, etc)
This was a very rare and special occasion for us, we certainly wasted the money. We left the hotel to walk by the beaches and have dinner somewhere else. Because we booked with a third party (expedia) they told us we could not cancel the booking. Besides another room, that was exactly the same, we were offered nothing more.
If you plan to sleep, by the way, you will have to wait until the rooms next to you and above go to bed. You will hear everyone using their bathroom and every other little noise.
I have stayed in many places around the world, this was by far…. something out of nothing! Clever advertising. Spend your money somewhere else, there are plenty of beautiful places to stay in St. Pete.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lorena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us here at Loews Don Cesar. I'm sorry that you did not find the experience up to your expectations.

We do appreciate your acknowledging our friendly staff, and remarks on the impressive building and its main public areas. I am sorry that your thoughts on other parts of the hotel were not as welcoming. We have, in fact, recently updated our hallway corridors with new furniture, fresh paint and accent trim. We are continuously refurbishing and updating the hotel, including the carpets and other areas. It's an ongoing and continuous program that we are very proud of and we do it to make our guests' stay more comfortable and relaxing.

There is a lot of history here at Loews Don Cesar and our intentions are to preserve its character while always providing our guests a luxurious and genuinely friendly home away from home.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    839
    361
    184
    169
See reviews for
1,132
1,303
104
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great staff, friendly service. Pool area and beach area is impeccable. Very nice touch to have complementary flavoured water available by the pool.They try very hard to please their guests.

Every time we visit St Pete's Beach we drop by the "Pink Hotel" - it's a great landmark to identify a location in relationship to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanukTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I'm so happy that your visit to our "landmark" Pink Palace was so enjoyable! It appears from your comments, that everything - from out great staff, to the beach, pool and even our complimentary flavored poolside waters, was memorable!

Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

While this is clearly an old hotel, I found the rooms and public areas to be in excellent, modern and good working order. The pool and beach areas make the price worth it, if you are able to use them, otherwise the room rates are too high. The pool side bar provides good food and good drinks at a reasonable price for the location, and the attendants around the pool and beach areas were ever present and very accommodating. The only negative was that the neighbor's dog and children started the day before I was ready, and unfortunately I could hear them and their TV shows all too well. The bathrooms are quite small, so women who travel with many toiletries may feel a bit cramped.

Room Tip: Requesting a room without an adjoining door might block some of the neighbor's noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Loews Don Cesar on Tripadvisor.

We could not agree more that our beach and pool are incredible! As a matter of fact, Tripadvisor just ranked St. Pete Beach as one of the Top 10 Beaches in the U.S.! So, thanks for your feedback!

I'm also glad to hear that you found our rooms excellent and modern. It's not always easy to accomplish in a property that's 86 years old!

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMMING
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Don is one of those unforgettable historic hotels. It is kept in pristine condition both in decor and cleanliness. But the best part of this hotel is the staff. I read the review from Meagan about Charlene, helping her when she was sick.....not surprised at all. I would be stunned if she hadn't been helped because people who take care of you there....take care of you. Of course, St Pete's Beach is incredible. I have never been to any beach that is any better than this one - broad, clean and gorgeous. It's all there at the Don Cesar. We were just there for 9 nights. Oh yes, if you love a first rate gourmet restaurant...be sure and make a reservation for the Maritana Grille. It is first rate, as is the wait staff. You will NOT be disappointed.
Ann Achie

Room Tip: Be sure to designate beach or bay side. If you want the sunset, be sure to get beach side. Not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Unforgettable! I love that word, especially when it's being used in a positive manner such as you did!

I'm delighted that you found our decor memorable, the property very clean and recognized what a great staff we have, You can have the finest building in the world, but without a great staff, we would have nothing. We are so lucky to have a group of such passionate individuals working with us here at Loews Don Cesar.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just spent 5 days at the Don Cesar and would recommend it highly. From the very beginning, starting on the telephone making our reservations, we were treated with courtesy, respect and professionalism at every level, which in these days is TRUE luxury. The Hotel itself is a Grand Old Dame, which is in itself very special. Although the rooms are small, they are spotlessly clean and well appointed. We were fortunate to be in a corner room on the 7th floor and had a magnificent view of the beach and the Gulf. We took advantage of the Hotel's public spaces: we enjoyed a good workout in the Fitness Center; yoga on the beach with Wendy, who led us in a wonderful practice; a delicious lunch by the pool; the powdery soft sand on the beach and the sun on the comfortable Hotel chaises; massages at the Spa, and delicious ice cream at Uncle Andy's. We sat in comfortable rockers on the terrace and watched the beautiful sunset. And later each evening, we sat in the Lobby Bar, with its soaring ceilings and comfortable and cozy seating, where we enjoyed delicious cocktails and were entertained by the music provided by "Butch" at his piano. It was a delightful experience, enhanced by the attention of the staff. We look forward to returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience at the Loews Don Cesar here on Tripadvisor. After a five-day stay, I'm confident you probably experienced just about all we have to offer!

I appreciate the kind remarks about our staff being courteous, respectful and professional. They are genuinely that way and we are so lucky to have them with us!

We hope to welcome you back to this "Grand Old Dame" again in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

While I normally stay at Marriott hotels where I have privileges, I was glad we chose the Don CeSar - could not beat the location, glamour or history of the Don CeSar. Loews is managing it well - very modern inside, clean and tidy, and the staff demonstrated professional pride.

Given that this is a historic hotel, be prepared for smaller rooms but they are very modern and tastefully appointed. The beach and pool areas are great! Hope to return next year. I recommend taking the history tour, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the bay (street) were still pretty quiet and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_expat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback! I'm delighted to hear that you decided to give us a try and enjoyed our glamor, history and location. And, you even took the history tour - fantastic!

You're correct, our staff does take great pride in their work, and I'm glad that it shows!!

We hope to welcome you back to Loews Don Cesar again in the future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loes Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I am not sure how to spell her name, it is pronounced like Charlene and she works as a maid on the third floor of this hotel, I just have to say she was the most wonderful and kind person to have on my vacation. I had fallen ill and she brought me soup and water to help me feel better. I hope she is recognized for her incredible service last week. This hotel is amazing and absolutely gorgeous! The poolside was lovely and the food was delicious also. I had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
WOW!

You're encounter with Charlene is exactly what we hope all our guests experience. A genuine, passionate and caring experience. There is nothing worse than being sick on vacation, and I'm happy that Charlene helped to make things better!

We hope to welcome you back soon and trust you are feeling better!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,208 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing