We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm at New World Prices”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old World Charm at New World Prices”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely historic hotel with fine restaurants and a delightful white sandy beach. We took full advantage of the hotel spa, and enjoyed the delicious food served on site by the polite, knowledgable staff. There was construction going on outside the hotel driveway which made leaving and entering the premises somewhat confusing. Doormen and those parking cars were a bit disorganized, but were also unceasingly polite and accomodating. Rooms have been updated and are very comfortable. Do try to get a room facing the beach if possilbe. The views are terrific. There are two pools, and one does wish that one pool would be designated adults only. It was impossible to relax with a book or enjoy casual conversation when the loud calls of children and splashing water disrupted every attempt to destress..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for providing feedback on your recent visit! I'm happy you enjoyed our "lovely historic hotel," as well as our fine restaurants, views and guest rooms.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    811
    353
    176
    163
See reviews for
1,071
1,259
97
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We attended a wedding and stayed two nights. Although the hotel is old, it has been updated beautifully without losing its charm. There is a whole section of rooms on the first floor especially for people with pets. Our little King Charles loved the layout.
There was an initial problem checking in as it took almost an hour and a half to prepare our room even though we had reserved over a month before. That lost us pool/beach time. It was only when I threatened to change into my bathing suit in the lobby that the room was made ready.
Aside from that rough beginning, the rest of the stay was superior. The hotel is on the beach with two pools, a magnificent view. There is a concierge desk in the lobby which sees to any need you might have.
The construction is old and sturdy. Even though they had a Jazz Band at the bar town the hall, you couldn't hear a thing from our room. The walls are very thick and solid.
My wife found a great dress in the boutique on the ground floor. They have ample shopping and, if you like to go outside, there is no problem getting your car.
Although the Town has an ordinance against dogs on the beach, the concierge showed us a great doggie park and beach not too far away. A real must for dog lovers.
The wedding itself was absolutely beautiful being held on the steps facing the ocean. The reception, food and service were second to none.
Breakfast was also fantastic. Again, we chose the buffet. This is where you go for grand old service and modern entertainment.

Room Tip: I don't believe they have a bad room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Except for the problem we had with check in, the staff went overboard to serve. I can't begin to tell you how friendly they were. The whole hotel seemed to fit in with the area as though it was intended to be there.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for recognizing the fact that we are a "Grand Old Lady" who has been updated without loosing her charm! That's exactly what we are looking for!. We're excited that you, as well as King Charles, had such a great experience.

I'm also happy that you enjoyed a beautiful wedding, discovered our charming retail shops and appreciated our grand old service and modern environment!

Next time you're here with King Charles, we'll meet you at the doggie beach!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I just spent a weekend at the famed Don Cesar hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have dined there and had cocktails in the past but never stayed there since it's less than four miles from our home.

The most positive thing about the hotel is the staff. The waiters, bartenders, bell persons, etc. are all efficient and extremely nice. They make you feel at home. The next positive thing is the lobby bar where you have expert bartenders who make exceptionally good drinks. The pool is beautiful with attendants who know how to provide service. Most are attending nearby colleges and are enthusiastic. It is obvious that the staff has been well trained to be pleasant and helpful. If you looked lost, someone will come up to you and ask if you need help.

The negatives. The biggest negative is the cost of this place. The least expensive room is $399 a night to which is added a sales tax of $27.93, another tax of $19.95, a resort fee of $25 and two taxes on the resort fee of $1.25 and $1.75, a self parking fee of $10.70 (including tax) and .25 for a newspaper that is delivered to your room. Since you are spending close to $500 a day one would expect a decent size room and bathroom. Unfortunately, both rooms are very small. In fact if you sit at the desk your chair is flush up against the bed. On a positive note, the rooms are clean and well stocked. You get two free bottles of water a day and if you opt for the Fiji water it is "only" $7 a bottle.

The hotel caters to weddings and other functions so parking can be tight. Also, if there is a large function going on you can spend some time waiting for the two elevators.

Much to my surprise there were many families with small children there. For older children there is a camp to keep them busy. The grounds are well maintained and the beach is beautiful.

Room Tip: Spend more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I can't thank you enough for recognizing how efficient and extremely nice our staff is. All of them are genuinely passionate about making sure that each guest has a great experience, and from what you shared, they have succeeded!

We are very proud of our staff and are pleased to work in a beautiful property in one of the most beautiful and exciting destinations in the world!

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a great 4 days at the Don Cesar. I had never been there before and I loved the place. Beautiful grounds and great service. I enjoyed a wonderful massage and pedicure at the Oceana Spa. The staff is very friendly, the room was redone and very nice. it looked out over the beach, which was a treat. I have no complaints. I want to go back already! It is expensive, but to me , was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Beach side better than looking out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your visit to Loews!

I'm happy to hear that everything was memorable and that you loved our Pink Palace! We're looking forward to welcoming you back!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Loved this fabulous resort. The beaches are great such soft sand. The hotel is luxury plus!! thank you Precious for the great check in service. The Maratina Grill in the hotel was delish and breakfast in the sea porch terrific. can't forget housekeeping you guys are great! Can't wait to come back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day weekend with us!

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and kind words about the hotel, beaches, food & beverage and especially housekeeping!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second time in this hotel and we love it. Yes the rooms are quite small, the a.c noisy, hotel is pricey (charging for beds on the beach is outrageous when you have already paid a resort fee) but there are so many good things too. Staff are friendly, hotel is tastefully decorated and comfortable as well as being spotlessly clean. Pool area is great and staff are attentive. Listening to live jazz in the lobby bar at sunset is lovely. The Maritana grille is a must! The food is delicious and staff very accommodating ( thanks Laurene). Spa is amazing and well worth checking out. Staff are very well trained and experienced (thanks Deborah) We could holiday here every year!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bettymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to point out some of our "good things!" We take such great pride in providing our guests with friendly service, in a very clean and well-kept environment.

I appreciate your mentioning some of our staff who helped make your stay more memorable, and I'll be sure to share your comments with them!

We hope to welcome you back for holiday again! We'll be saving a seat for you in Maritana and a massage table in Spa Oceana!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was my second visit to the Spa Oceana and I enjoyed it as much this time as I did the first time. I started with a massage from Chris. You really must ask for him! I can probably say it was the best massage I've had because he has a great touch! I also had a mani/pedi from Olga. She did a great job and was super friendly. It's a bit pricey but the spa is a lovely, tranquil environment that makes you want to spend the day, which you can at the hot tub or on the deck overlooking the beach and hotel pool. You can also order lunch on the deck - how's that for a great day? I didn't stay at the resort on this visit but did 11/12. It's a beautiful, well-maintained property and certainly one of those places that would be great for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We'll be sure to share your feedback with both Chris and Olga!

Spa Oceana is a special place! It's refreshing to hear from guests who have found us, and truly made a day of it! The rooftop terrace is special and as you mentioned, the perfect place for a meal or just to simply relax!

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back for another "blissful" experience.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,345 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing