We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite on the beach!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stay here a couple of times a year and we love it. We live in Orlando which is about an hour and a half away. Service here is great. Love this place for a beach weekend get away. Rooms are ok. We love to sit by the pool and get some sun, drinks , and lunch! Very relaxing! Will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Glad you made the trip over from Orlando to enjoy our iconic Pink Palace! It is an ideal beach escape, and we appreciate you taking the time to come over, relax and have a memorable visit!

We hope to see you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,381 - 2,387 of 3,800 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

That was the quote from the front desk when I asked why our $500 "luxury queen with view" was a handicapped room facing a wall. ouch! So here is the truth about the Don: terribly small rooms for an astonishingly large price. beware "partial view" means you must open the window and lean out to see the beach. If a great room is important to you either pay $$$$ for one of the few suites or don't stay here. Besides the rooms, the beach and ocean are amazing. The Spa is perfection. the food is generally good - and the Maritana restaurant is extraordinary. The pools however are small and quite disappointing, as is the pool bar. the shops are good... more than adequate. and the hotel is clean. bottom line: the price they charge and the room they deliver will probably make you feel very cheated. But the beach, food, and service will make you feel a little better about it. hopefully.

Room Tip: walk to the beach first before going to your room. it may help lessen the disappointment when you op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timber f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us here at Loews Don CeSar.

While we understand the frustrations you experienced with your room, we are happy to hear that you found our beach and ocean amazing, that Spa Oceana was perfection, stores good and Maritana Grille extraordinary.

While we may not be able to alter the size of our accommodations, we do our best to ensure that every guest experiences the "Best of the Best" in the many amenities we offer outside the room - including those you mentioned above, plus experiences from our History Tours, Sea Life Program, fitness and cooking classes and more.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice facility, nice staff, nice beach, nice pools. Otherwise, nothing much nearby walkable, hard to get in/out by car. Everything in the hotel, especially food, is expensive. This hotel is really best for those who don't mind the costs and just want to relax and do little else.

Room Tip: Its a really old, refurbished property so most rooms tend to be small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your "nice" comments about your stay with us here at Loews Don CeSar!

Sorry you did not have a chance to discover the many things there are to do around The Don. The charming Pass-A-Grille historic district, as well as the shops of Corey Avenue are a short bike or Trolly ride away. Additionally, we offer FREE shuttle service to downtown St. Pete. There you can explore the variety of museums (like Dali), galleries and fun and funky boutiques and stores. Of course, there are plenty of activities taking place at Loews on an hourly basis, from beachfront yoga, to History Tours, Sea Life and fitness programs for all ages.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our 4 night stay at the Don Cesar was simply wonderful. A wonderful getaway and since we are only a 4 hour drive away it was easy to justify the nightly rate.
Our only complaint was a bridal party gathering at the pool who were oblivious to others guests that were trying to relax. Not the hotel's fault, just clueless people that forget there are others around that do not want a dozen people standing in front of them while they 'catch up'.
One other thing...I left my toothbrush charger in bathroom and when I called the next day the room attendant did not turn it in. I would expect more than just throwing in trash.
Aside from these two minor annoyances, we think the Don Cesar is amazing and we look forward to coming back for another relaxing stay. PS. Jaffe the pool attendant is a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enasully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks for taking the short trip to come and enjoy some relaxing time with us. Sorry about the noise from the wedding party by the pool. Hopefully thier excitement after seeing one another "tapered down" and you we're able to continue to enjoy your Loews experience.

We always appreciate feedback, and thank you for sharing yours here on Tripadvisor.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent a relaxing 3 days at the Don CeSar over Memorial Day weekend. With a full house the service was still excellent. All the staff were friendly and would go out of their way to make you feel at home. Room was small, but comfortable and decorated with great taste! Yes, prices are high, but service and quality were well worth the cost. What a great story with this Hotel, thank goodness it was saved and refurbished to it's beauty today!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunTravel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback!

As busy as the entire St. Pete Beach area was over Memorial Day weekend, I'm happy to hear that you found your stay here at The Don to be relaxing and that our staff made you feel right at home.

I appreciate you recognizing our efforts to maintain the charm and beauty of our historic treasure and glad to hear that you'll be back!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a relaxing stay with great service. The poolside drinks, food (Don's Beach Burger), and service were extraordinary. The staff was very friendly. When my wife got sick, they went out of their way to help. The location on the beach is great for walks. We had a beach balcony room which provided fantastic views. The rooms are comfortable, but very small. My wife used the spa for a massage which she enjoyed immensely. We asked for a small refrigerator which helped for breakfast and the cold drinks we brought. Bring some dollar bills for tips. The staff provides outstanding service with a smile and you will want to reward them. The atmosphere around the pool was "normal" and relaxing. There were hardly any unruly kids or party goers. We used the valet parking which made coming and going to sites much easier and stress free. We stayed four days and could easily stayed longer had time been available.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Boldvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I'm so happy to hear that your recent visit with us was nothing but relaxing, and that our staff was extraordinary, friendly and genuinely helpful! They are very passionate about the service they provide our guests, and I am glad that you recognized that.

I'm pleased your wife's visit to Spa Oceana was enjoyable and that your overall stay was "stress-free!" We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I are full time FL residents living just an hour south of St Pete Beach. Now that the snowbirds are gone, thought we would enjoy the beautiful poolside restaurant at the Don Cesar for lunch. What a mistake!!! Although the food and service were good and the property fantastic, hold on to your wallet! Lunch with their 18% gratuity was $67.50 but what was truly UNACCEPTABLE was the parking fee, which no one at the hotel would validate. Parking at the Don Cesar for less than 90 minutes was $21.40, ridiculous especially in the off season when the lot was empty!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank JChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I'm happy to hear that you took the time to visit our iconic Pink Palace, and enjoy lunch poolside. However, I am sorry to read about your frustrations.

We welcome locals and non-guests to come and experience Loews Don CeSar. It is such a treasure and we're happy when we have people come visit!

All of our restaurants, with the exception of the Beachcomber pool bar, are open to everyone. Due to our intimate size, we dedicate that restaurant exclusively to registered hotel guests.

The Sea Porch Restaurant (with great outdoor dining), Maritana Grille, Lobby Bar, Uncle Andy's Ice Cream, as well as our retail shops and Spa Oceana are all open to the public. Parking charges, if applicable, may vary. Feel free to contact us directly prior to your visit if you have any questions.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
580 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,259 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £196 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing