We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beachfront hotel in St Petes!!!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The beachfront hotel in St Petes!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My third time in the Don. It is expensive but worth it. The building is so impressive. Service is good. Staff are friendly . Poolside beds and towels are included in resort fee. Beach sun beds are extra. Car parking is $10 self park. Valet parking is more expensive . Would hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for coming back for a third visit! It's so great to hear that you still find our building impressive, service good and staff friendly. Our staff is no doubt the best in the area! They are genuinely passionate, sincere and want to be certain each guest has a truly memorable stay.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,044
    820
    358
    179
    165
See reviews for
1,093
1,272
99
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are locals, and had a birthday breakfast at the Don. The breakfast was just wonderful, the service over the top, and I did not mind giving this waiter 20% tip. The Don has never disappointed myself or my family, in which we have stayed there as guests many times.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Happy Birthday!

I'm really happy that you chose Loews Don CeSar as your place to celebrate, and that our team provided you "over the top" service - that's what we strive to do, and our staff is happy to do it!

It's great to hear that we have never disappointed you or your family and we hope to be a part of more birthday celebrations in the future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Don Cesar lives up to its reputation as a gorgeous beachfront hotel. Note the rooms are quite small including the bathrooms, however the staff is very friendly, the concierges are helpful and the beach is stunning! Go and relax and let Raul and his crew find you a spot in the sun - caveat - the drinks will take forever to arrive…

Room Tip: Call and speak directly to the hotel for assistance with the rooms, I needed an adjoining room and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkeimkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your comments! I'm excited to hear that we lived up to our reputation as a gorgeous beachfront hotel.

I am sorry that you found our rooms small, but I hope that our "very friendly" staff made up for any issues.

It's great to hear that you found Raul and his team on the beach - they are truly the experts in finding that right spot in the sun.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend for our anniversary at the Don CeSar. It's a beautiful hotel. First and foremost the staff at this hotel were very friendly and very nice. I found out that some are part-timers who retired and work in the shops. This is an excellent hotel. The service is first class. We had a wonderful time and would love to come back. My only wish was that our room and bathroom could have been bigger. The space between the bed and desk was very tight and the bathroom can only handle one person in there at a time in front of the mirror. Room 466.
PS We also saw a celebrity staying at the same time we were here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are nice. We have a side view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
First off, Happy Belated Anniversary!

We're delighted that you chose our Pink Palce to celebrate, and that you found our staff to be genuinely friendly, nice and that they provided 1st class service! That's what it is all about and I am delighted you experienced such a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon and, maybe, you'll even have another special "celebrity sighting!" You never know.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Beach Suites just up the road. Spacious, well maintained and right on the beach.
We spent time at the main hotel pool, had lunch poolside and also had a light dinner at the lobby bar. The food was excellent.
The staff is amazing...thank you Tommy, Christy, Sid and Alexa for taking such good care of us!

Room Tip: The Beach Suites are a short walk from the main hotel and offer more room as well as a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfrkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our "gorgeous hotel." It truly is rewarding to hear from guests who are staying at the Beach House Suites, and how they appreciate and take full advantage of all the amenities we offer to them here at The Don! Glad you enjoyed the pool and experienced some great meals!

I'll be sure to share your comments with Tommy, Christy, Sid and Alexa! They'll be happy yo hear that they helped make your stay a memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a little late on my review, I came here with my family for Thanksgiving and we had a great time. I have spent the last 2 Thanksgivings here & enjoy the special buffet they set up. I have also been here for Christmas & in August. This is my favorite place to stay to do nothing but relax. I've seen beautiful weddings take place, the sunsets are gourgous & I love watching the dolphins play while walking on the beach. Hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks for your comments! Better late than never, especially when they are as complimentary as yours!

I'm so happy to hear that you have not only made us your getaway spot for Thanksgiving, but that you spend your Chirstmas holidays with us as well.

Glad you have experienced our spectacular sunsets and had the chance to see the dolphins swimming offshore. Both of those experiences are memories that will stay with you forever.

We appreciate you making The Don your "favorite place" and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was at the Don Cesar for 3 nights. The hotel was full but you wouldn't know it. Plenty of lounge chairs at the pools and on the beach. The service was outstanding in all areas of the hotel...restaurants, room service, concierge, bellman, front desk. The rooms are on the smaller side and the air conditioning in the rooms is a little tricky (woke up both nights freezing to death even though the ac was actually off...not sure why since it was in the mid 70's at night). The food is a little on the pricey side but it's very good. The beach is beautiful...soft, white powdery sand...not hard packed like some of the beaches on the Atlantic side. Definitely a destination hotel. Come here when you want to relax on a gorgeous beach. My only real complaint was the bed. I've noticed the beds at Loews brands are not as comfortable as some of their competitors and the Don Cesar is no different. Wasn't horrible but considering the price of the rooms I would expect better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks for your comments about our beautiful beach and great service!

I'm excited to hear that you enjoyed outstanding service in all areas of our hotel, from the restaurants and room service, to our bell staff and front desk. That's what we strive to provide and I am delighted that we were able to make your visit a enjoyable one.

It's also great to hear that you were able to truly relax, however, I do apologize that our bedding was not up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing