We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Don CeSar
Nearby Hotels
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$214
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Zamora(St. Pete Beach)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,132)
Filter reviews
4,132 results
Traveller rating
2,445
903
394
201
189
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,445
903
394
201
189
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon cesarmaritana grillehistoric hotelcaptain jamiepink palacesea porch restaurantsea perchspa oceanalobby barpool staffself parkresort feerooms are smallpaddle boardingjet skian umbrellabeach service
Filter
Updating list...
2,670 - 2,675 of 4,132 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

June family trip. We stayed in luxury king suite , very luxurious, two luxury robes, double sinks in bathrm, the king mattress was a sterns and foster pillow top ,best hotel mattress I've ever slept on. The entire hotel was clean, no bugs. The staff called you by name and every staff member greets you when you walk by. Pool staff approached my eleven year old and made sure she was having fun. Two pools were warm and inviting with available floats and inflAtables for the kids. Beach was beautiful and clean. Cabanas were pricey to rent though, bring your own if you can. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I'm happy to hear that we were able to help create such great memories for your family vacation here at Loews Don CeSar. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy you slept so well!

It's great when the kids have a great time too. And, by the sound of your comments, your daughter was having fun participating in our poolside activities. I'm also happy you found our beach beautiful and clean. We take great pride in our beaches and are glad you were able to enjoy them.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you and your family back int he near future.

best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been visiting the Don Cesar regularly since 1990 and during that time it has been never less than excellent.

It is true the bathrooms are small but fine for a shower. However we have always easily managed with a family of four. The rooms are always beautifully kept and over 23 years on a surprise basis that is impressive.

Sunday brunch is a must and always of a high standard and the pool bar cocktails and food delicious. I have always found the staff to be very helpful and polite.

The beach is magnificent and our daily walks and the sunsets a highlight of our year.

The only negative factor is that over the years and with the addition of a spa the pools have become overcrowded and steps should be taken to resolve this.

Despite this it does not stop this hotel being my absolute favourite because of its comfort, amenities, beauty, position directly on the beach and the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RexHorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I'm so happy to hear that we are the "love of your life" and that you continue to experience memorable moments each time you visit.

I was really excited to hear your feedback on our Sunday Brunch in Sea Porch! It is special and Chefs Hunsberger and Cuerta, and their team, provide a dynamic selection of traditional brunch items with some fun, out of the ordinary dishes.

And, walks on the beach at sunset go without saying. Amazing!

Thanks so much for coming back again and again. We are privileged to have you as our guest.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed just one night, unfortunately, but it was wonderful! The bell hop was great and very welcoming. The front desk staff we had was icy at best...wish she'd been memorable as it seems the other desk staff were somewhat friendly. That is our ONLY negative, however. It was even quaint that one elevator was down as it caused many people to ride up and down and talk to each other with a common chuckle and smile.

The great aspects: she is a beautiful, grand old lady and the remodel keeps her fresh; the rest of the staff were fantastic (Ritz level service) and Southern hospitality; the pools and amenities were top notch; and the food is fabulous!

We had room 442 and will post pictures later as the views were amazing and a balcony too! There were 3 windows to maximize the views in all direction, one of which being the sliding door to our balcony with small table overlooking the right hand pool. There is some noise fromAC units below but it is minimal compared to the ocean sounds. The room was beautiful and roomy. The bathroom wasn't huge but roomy enough...I have had much smaller.

Lauritana is THE PLACE to eat! Try to get a table by the aquariums...Cesar the Moray eel is entertaining and the other tank had beautiful fish as well. I believe Jeff was our waiter and the Somelier...and nice blue eyes...he steered us to perfect choices! We had the grouper with chorizo and gnocchi (we think) and the cobia, which was fabulous with squash (i think). We literally swapped bites back and forth that they became one fantastic dish! The best grilled seafood we have ever had! We saved room for dessert and had the Chocolate raspberry fantasy dessert! Again, fantastic!! The service was tremendous and the food, best ever seafood!! Oh, and the robe, only one, which is odd, was the nicest I have ever had at any hotel.

To answer some of the negative reviews: There were plenty of complimentary newspapers, you just have to get up and go down the hall and there were many fun complimentary poolside pamperings and lovely towels/umbrellas etc, all complimentary. The beach cabanas do have charges which is very standard. All staff were great except front desk. Resort fees are the rule in Florida and minimal. Our room was quite roomy...much bigger than most luxury standard rooms. Only other negative we had was housekeeping kept entering our room prior to check out...make sure to put your do not disturb out.

The poolside bar was great! Matt and Martina took care of us and the drinks and food were awesome! Yes, we did a lot for a one night stay. The Piscolada was my fav drink...a greatly modified pina colada and the fish tacos and mahi sandwich were great (the remolaude very spicy). Great salad, sweet potato fries accompanied them.

The beach is lovely, some seaweed but bathtub temperatures for water and beautiful sunset. We didn't have time to do water sports or beach yoga. One suggestion is to do early beach yoga. The shops were great and super friendly! Uncle Andy's does a great Starbuck's latte and the pastries were fresh and great. The ice cream looked really good too. The gym is also nice.

We did see some meeting rooms and they were beautiful and adequate for most purposes. There is also a business center. We didn't get to try the spa, unfortunately, next time! O

Room Tip: 442 had a great balcony, great ocean views, roomy, and not at all loud.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withoutscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We can't wait to see your pictures!

Thanks for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent visit to our "Pink slice of heaven!" We welcome your comments, and appreciate you honesty.

I'm so happy that your dining experiences were so memorable! You're right, Maritana Grille is the place to eat, whether you're next to the aquariums or at one of the other intimate tables in the restaurant. I'm also happy that Matt and Maritana took such good care of you poolside, and that your dining experience out there was awesome as well.

You certainly fit a lot into your one night stay, between dining, pool and shopping! I do hope that you'll make time to try Spa Oceana on your next visit. It is just as memorable as the rest of our seaside hotel.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

staying here met all of our expectations. My husband and I were looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway for our anniversary. Glad to say we found it at the Don CeSar. They do charge for every additional amenity, but we felt like we were in a tropical paradise. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Meeting and exceeding guest expectations is one of our primary goals, and I'm glad we met that with you!

Thanks for allowing us to share your anniversary with you and I'm delighted that you were happy with our tropical paradise.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Comfortable rooms although very small. Not
a resort like I was expecting, just an overpriced
hotel. Rude service staff. Lots of extra charges,
resort fees, parking etc. Nice beach location,
but be prepared to pay for chairs & umbrellas.
Nothing complimentary like coffee or newspapers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm glad you found our rooms comfortable.

I do apologize for any bad service you received while you were here. That is not how we train our Team Members. We hire individuals with friendly, cheerful and engaging demeanours. I hope that if we have the privilege of welcoming you back, you will experience that.

As for extra charges, we do offer a Park & Beach package that includes your room, valet parking, beach chaise lounges, umbrellas and more. You may want to look into that if you return. Additionally, complimentary coffee is provided in all guest rooms and free newspapers are offered at the concierge.

We hope to see you back!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews