We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2006

The Don Cesar is a beautiful hotel. It was very clean and the staff were great. The room we stayed in was small but charming and decorated nicely.

The hotel was by far unfortunately the noisest we ever encountered. You could hear whole conversations through the walls, drawers opening and closing, doors slamming, toilets flushing, conversations in the hallway and some other things I can't mention here.

I don't know if it was a problem for the whole house but it was very annoying to listen to this while you were trying to sleep.

Leows spent alot of money refurbishing the hotel too bad they didn't do something to sound proof the rooms.

  • Liked — ocation
  • Disliked — noisey
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    779
    338
    167
    157
See reviews for
1,034
1,216
95
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2006

We stayyed at The Don after finding rave reviews and great info on their website.It matched our high expectations from the moment we arrives.Staff on reception were great and the concierges we superb.We loved the location,pools and the beach was really special.The Don made a trip to florida the ideal base -coming from england we had been to florida before but st petes was new to us.The great restuarants in the area and the top food at the hotel itself made the trip really enjoyable.Thanks to the greathotel location we saw everthing we wanted to but always couldnt wait to get back to the luxury of the Don.
It is a older hotel and so looks tired in places but we thought that was mainly charm and character.Bothe my kids loved the pools and felt really welocme very where(except the gymn )
We would go back in a flash.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — gymn
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chelsea118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

I have been going to the Don every Sunday for the past 2 years for the breakfast buffet on the SeaPorch. Sometimes we go to the big brunch on the 5th floor. I had my daughter's bridesmaid party in the SeaPorch restaurant. The staff made up individual menu's with the bride and groom's names on them, a cheese and fruit platter, a choice of 3 entrees, dessert, coffee, and a wine toast for 8 people. The cost was less than $300.00. I have stayed at the Don overnight twice, the last time was about a year ago. The room was quaint and full of a feeling of a time gone by. My fiancee and I are having our Wedding there next year, on the North Terrace. The staff has been exemplary and has even made the experience more exciting. The Don has the feeling of bohemian elegance. It sits on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The staff is friendly and efficient. The cost may be high to some, but that is the reason there are motel 6"s. Also, after reading some of the reviews, there were complaints about paying for parking....Hello....they validate for guests. I love the Don. Most people do.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank Malachowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

A bit of a rip off. Paying hotel guests have to fight for sunbeds and access to the pool with day visitors and beach club members.
Very small rooms and everything very very average to poor. I will not be back, there are so many other hotels far better than this one.

  • Liked — the outside looked good
  • Disliked — fighting for facilities with day trippers
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pgooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2006

Before going to spend Labor Day Weekend I checked the reviews posted by previous guests and most of them were not that good. I had my husband call the day before we arrived and mention our concern and I am not sure if a note was made on our reservation but we were greeted with nothing but great service.
The bellman, Michael, was very nice, and very helpfull, he arrived with our luggage at the same time as we did, and after putting them all in the room he was very informative about the room and the area, othe complimentary pet package arrived shortly after.
The rooms are small, at least the one with 2 double beds. And the bathroom is very small. but other than that, it was pretty comfortable.
As you get towels by the pool they give a paper saying that if you don't return them they will charge $20 per towel, which we learned was not true since towels were left everywhere around the pool and nobody came back for them, you do have to arrive at the pool early if you want to get a chair, but I saw the guys that handed the towels out removing towel and setting new ones up for guests.
The food is ok, the dinner buffet was not bad, and the people attending it were very quick to help you with anything. The hamburguers we had by the pool the next day were good and they continued to refill our fountain drinks.
There was not much to do at the beach, I am not sure if it had anything to do with the redtide that came in that weekend, but it is a nice hotel to just go and relax in.
The best place for Romantic amazing Sunsets, walks on the beach, long afternoon naps, and just plain relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2006

We had wanted to stay at the Don Cesar ever since we saw it many years ago on a visit to Florida. It's architecure, history and aura attracted us, not to mention the great beach out back. Now that we live in Florida, we took advantage of a few days off and spent four nights at the hotel in mid-August while some work was being done on our home.

Self-parking is free and convenient, which is great for a hotel of this type. The valets and doormen were friendly and only once during our stay did one of them fail to interrupt his conversation with the concierge and not open the door for us.

Nobody showed us to our room. The bellman who later brought our bags up left them inside the door. We had to find the luggage rack, set it up, and heave the bags onto it. He did not show us any of the features in the room, a service we find standard in the better hotels in which we stay. The room was very small, much smaller than a standard Holiday Inn-type room. The furnishings were airy and attractive and the room was kept spotless. We are surprised to read reviews in which people commnet on dirty rooms. The bathroom was also quite small. The small fridge was helpful but in order to put something personal in it, one had to empty out some of the high-priced items stuffed into it. Turn down service was nice.

The Don Cesar has two pools, one deep and one shallow. Both of them were packed with loud and splashing children. We have nothing against children, particularly during summer vacation, but why are they permitted in the deep pool? Isn't it reasonable to think the hotel could have one adults-only pool and one for children and families? The deeper pool was even shllow enogh on the shallower end for these children. There were plenty of couples (older, younger, honeymooners) who would have relished this. It makes no sense to us. The small jacuzzi was also loaded with kids, many under the age permitted according to the posted sign.

Pool towels and beach towels left on chairs after the occupants left for the day were not picked up by the pool staff. Therefore, it was a challenge to figure out which chairs were available for use. Chairs on the beach were covered with sand and remained that way for most of the day. Nobody came along to sweep them off. The first afternoon we arrived we finally found two chairs and an umbrella to use, and had to clean off the furniture ourselves. Even early in the morning the chairs were still untidy from the day before. On the plus side, when a beach or pool staff member was approached for assistance, they proved helpful and pleasant. The bar staff will come to your chair to take your order if you raise the small chair flag by the pool. Nobody ever came to us in our beach chairs and asked if we wanted anything. And, something that really bugs us, music was piped throughout the pool area all day. The first day we were there it was 70s disco all day. Can you imagine how annoying this is if one is interested in a relaxing, sunning and reading or chatting by the pool and "YMCA" or "Last Dance" is coming out of the speaker near your head? Why can't hotels let people use their own ipods and other personal devices for music and keep broadcast music for a club or bar area.

The restaurants were fine and the food of average quality and price for a hotel of this type. The staff and the pool bar were very friendly.

We travel quite frequently and have stayed in hotels of all qualities throughout the US and abroad. In doing so, one finds it is the service and the little touches (clean beach chairs anyone?) that move a hotel into a higher rating bracket. How the Don Cesar receives the ratings it does is beyond us. It's a nice place but it sure could be something special. Would we stay there again? No. Would we recommend it to others? Probably not.

  • Liked — Beach location and history of property
  • Disliked — pool scene
  • Tips/Secrets — if you do not have children, go when the kids are in school
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Travel Agent Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2006

The Don CeSar is an older Hotel, but so are the many others that we have visited over the years. This Hotel is a 3 star with a 5 star price. This is due to its location and lack of competition of other similiar resorts in this area. Many of the staff is not refined enough to work in a 5 star resort. Perhaps the supply of good people is difficult to find. I would suggest going during the week at a rate of 100.00 less a night. Watch out for extras that can add up to a less than great experience. Ask for prices, if they are not listed. For example, if you order a movie, it can run up to $18.00.
These are new releases, and they do not put the prices on the television. We called before we ordered, and we declined.
The food was as good as a Marriott Hotel. I would rank the
Don as a good Mariott Hotel. There are some wonderful restaurants in the area. Ask some of the locals for suggestions.
Good Luck!

Helpful?
4 Thank Beaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing