We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Absolutely fantastic!! Everything was first class. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and the gulf. Exceptional service, rooms were spot less, pool area is one of the best around. I highly recommend the Don to anyone who can afford it....which is it's only down fall......Pricey!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PV4u2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,017
    811
    353
    176
    163
See reviews for
1,070
1,259
97
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2010

May 22,2010 on the courtyard at 7 pm at the Don Cesar with a trumpet voluntaire, a sun setting over the gulf, a 100 people admiring the flowers,and the gorgeous wedding party in rasberry,pink paisley and slate grey with a beautiful manicured green courtyard and a beautiful pink stucco background was a culmination of 1 year of planning and scheduling with some of the nicest employees in the world!! Cudos to Lisa in group reservations for dealing with 33+ rooms of guests who changed their room needs over a 3 month period without knowing the work involved! The Bell Captain, Tim, and his crew that from my arrival 5 days prior with a UHaul never ran and hid...especially Scott who always smiled. Then the front desk where Lisa and Laketa and Christian and everyone worked to make sure all wedding guests had a room,welcome bag and plently of plicards with the bride and groom 's picture to unlock their room. All rooms were clean and plenty of towels were always available. Of course all this was orchestrated by Denise in cater management..she was our "wedding"advisor" She made sure that Blue Moon ice cream was at the reception...she made sure the father of the bride had a martini to slow the tears prior to "lift off" down the aisle. The actual staging sites of the wedding is perfect at the Don. I did use Beth at Cheers Events for the coordination of the vendors on wedding day. She was so-o-o worth it. Caught that we did not have table covers for reception on 5th floor terrace and also somehow napkins overlooked. But she worked with Connie Duglin and all appeared the night before. David Dillingham quartet was awesome with Tom Fee on Trumpet and the champagne in the lobby kept guests occupied prior to sitting.Josh was an awesome DJ and his rose uplights made a statement...also Room Service brought in settes and chairs under Beths draped twinkle lights on the terrace. Now the food...we had guests who have travelled the "world" and they all have said the dinner was extra-unbelievable. Cudos to the chef and wait staff the filet melted in your mouth and the halibut was so moist. I also cannot forget Joe the bartender who was marvelous at making the grooms'signature drink and placing the pink lighted stir sticks in all drinks!!!! Did we have have bumps??of course but my husband ,the bride , and me (MOB) all agree that the Don Cesar staff did cartwheels to make sure it was right by 7 pm May 22nd. My daughter wanted the Don since we have vacationed there since 1984. She has always had great memories of Camp Cesar,walks on the beach to the Undertow or the Wharf or the Hurricane but most of all the staff of the Don has always made it seem like we're their family.Thank you and also a number of our guests stayed at the Don Beach Suites and loved it .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patc1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed here in June 2008 for five days as part of an east coast trip of the USA – we spent 4 days in NY and 5 in Orlando ... I know it's now two years on but the memories are still vivid the hotel itself is stunning the warm sea water the food... breakfast just near the beach with waffles and maple syrup ... fantastic.... the beach itself is just out of this world.... we were told to watch out for baby sting rays but never came across any... as we were travelling with our daughters we required rooms that were close enough to each other so we had to wait a good while at reception for both the rooms to be ready... we paid in full and in advance which they did not seem to have up on their system but really minor gripes. June is not peek season hence restaurants closed early like about 10pm! We being used to eating out late when on vacation in Europe found this unusual – just so you know.
Highly recommend this hotel – it is a 5* so is above the standard rates but worth it for us

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubsPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I booked this gorgeus hotel to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday. It's just such an amazing place, the service is 1st class, the rooms are small but the beds are amanzingly confortable, with goose down conforters we could just enjoy them all day. The pool area is superb, they treat you like a celebrity. The beach is just spectacular beautiful.
This is truly a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I have been visiting the Don Cesar since 1990 and as a Registration Resort it was fantastic and unspoilt. Gradually it has become busier and has gone downhill.

The real point of no return was the purchase by Loews and the addition of a Spa plus letting it be "Dog City". Having dogs all over the place was bad enough but the addition of the Spa meant it was permanently overcrowded. Spa members can bring in their friends and so if you are staying at the hotel it has become a nightmare and all the sun-beds seem to be permanently in use, the pools and the beach overcrowded, and the whole essence of the Don Cesar has been lost.

From being my favourite hotel it has become a nightmare and Loews are the most detested hotel chain in my book. All about the bottom line and they could not care less about their hotel guests.

The staff hate what has happened to the hotel as well.

Trip advisor, you cannot put Spa and relaxation in the same category, they are totally different. I went there to relax but the Spa ruins everything and they all look ridiculous and out of place in their dressing gowns at a beach location. Spas ruin hotels.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My cousin and I recently stayed here and it was wonderful. We were treated like royalty, everyone was so nice. We had facials, pedicures and massages at the spa, all heavenly. This hotel is rich in history and many celebrities have stayed here. We are already planning on going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetloverLeesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I'm trying to stay relatively positive with this review and stick to the facts, but I was bitterly disappointed with our holiday there, having booked this hotel because it's allegedly the best in St Petes.
Firstly the hotel - is lovely, old world charm, sumptious etc. Rooms lovely particularly if you're lucky enough to get on the 7th floor with a full gulf view, beautiful. Are they small? I would say bijoux, but very nicely furnished and also if you look on their website, they're exactly as described and pictured, so I don't understand people who then go on to complain they're small!
The beach- again lovely had we been able to get on it!!
Service - the guys by the pool and pool bar and on the beach were great, frieindly, helpful and chatty and polite. Front of house it depends who you get. Some were helpful others were just downright rude and once you'd asked your question it was as if you were dismissed. They also look at you as if checking that you're good enough to be there.
What didn't I like? Its one big convention centre. It's obviously a big venue for weddings, which I can understand, but they can take over, especially if they're outside as big sections get roped off. Also when we checked in on a Saturday for a week we discovered they were having a big food and drink convention there the following weekend. This meant that all week the beach area directly in front of the hotel was sectioned off for the biggest marquee I've ever seen to be erected, which in turn meant constant noise from diggers, drills, hammers, generators so put paid to any rest and relaxation we would've got. Added to which they then started to jet wash all around the pool one day, again ridiculous levels of noise, all in prep for this convention. By the Friday, when some of the convention people were arriving they sectioned off that much off the pool area, the paying guests couldn't actually get to to the pool!
I know this must earn them big bucks and I understand that, but it could've been far better organised. They were only concerned with the convention and the wedding people and completely disregarded their paying guests. Had they have told us about the convention we would've cancelled and gone elsewhere.
Lastly to add insult to injury we were also told when we checked in that we would have to pay a daily resort tax of $22 plus tax, of which we knew nothing about. When I asked what this was for I was told it's for the gym, exercise classes, parking in the car park, (which you do yourself unless you pay for valet parking), wi-fi, and a houskeeping tip!! I've stayed at 5 star resorts world wide and never had to pay for these things. Given that I also found a porn mag in the room from 2005 I suspect housekeeping needs to up their game! They did waive the resort fee after this.
Overall, it is a lovely venue in a lovely spot, but that's what it is a venue, not a hotel. Would I recommend it? No.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,344 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,029 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing