We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Saint Albans, WV
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay :)”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I stayed July 3-5 for the 4th celebration.. We got to the hotel early around 11:00 AM - our room was not ready which we figured - but they let us park and use the pool and beach til our room was ready which we checked in at 12:30 - They have a changing area to get in your bathing suits and the bathroom by the pool was one of the nastiest bathrooms I have ever seen. But again - the maids may have not cleaned it yet from the night before and people who use the bathroom don't have to be so dirty and miss the seat (woman's bathroom). The beach real nice, pretty, crowded, and you can rent the lounge chairs for $20.00 a day. One big disappointment was both bars on the facility have been closed. I always enjoy a beach bar to get a quick lunch and cold drinks. The rooms were nice and clean and most have a balcony. The front desk was pretty nice and helpful - could be a little nicer. The breakfast in the morning is bagles, wrapped muffins, fruit and coffee. They have juice but you have to ask for it and seems to bother them to have to get up and walk and get it for you. Overall I say average because it is a typical hotel room and service - the price is ok and its on beachfront, the pool my opinion was small but had enough seats to layout or sit at the table. At night it is noisy but we were there the 4th of July but you could hear everyone and it sounded like they were right outside your door; you could also here every door shut. But I would recommend it and prob come back and stay. nice location and you can see fireworks from everywhere!! One thing to check out - the hotel beside us has a bar called Jimmy B's thats nice but can be expensive - they say one price but then its another!!! Hope this help you making a decsion where to stay at St Pete Beach!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUherdFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    744
    562
    281
    220
See reviews for
941
653
112
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for a family vacation(june 2012) when we checked in the clerk wanted to "upgrade us". We did take the "upgrade" but entered our room that was exactly the same as others......so much for an "upgrade". We later noticed that the sliding door lock was hanging loosely off of the wall and the headboard was leaning and unsecured. We called to get it all fixed and the maintenance had to have my husband help witht the headboard so that he could fix it. We tried to go to dinner but both restuarants were closed for our entire stay(the pool grill and the dining room) which was very disappointing. Lastly, at 9:30 at night while we were getting off to bed from a long day, SOMEONE ENTERED MY ROOM! The front desk had given them a key card and had even written my room number on the case! Needless to say my son was scared from that moment on and we put our belonging in the car for safety. We attempted to find other accom. but spent 2 hrs of doing so unsuccessfully. The manager did take one night off of our bill but that was all. I contacted Wyndam and they were rude and laughed when I told them that someone entered my room. NEVER again. It was dirty, UNSAFE and rude. My money is good elsewhere.

Room Tip: NO rooms at this hotel would be safe if the staff makes mistakes like this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, OH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was the first time staying on the beach and i loved it. The hotel has a great location. The game room the kid enjoyed but it only had a few arcade games. The view from the 5th floor was great. if it had not been cloudy the sunset would have been great. I liked that once walking into the room it was tiled therefore the carpet did not get wet after coming in from the beach or pool. The room had a ceiling fan which was great you could leave the sliding glass door from balcony open hear the waves and the temperatured was confortable. The beds were pillow top and very confortable. i checked both beds NO evidence of bed bugs. When I booked i requested 5th floor if possible, when arrived was scheduled to have 4th but clerk was able to get me in 5th room with no problem. The restraunt attached was very good, a little slow but the food was worth it.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the beach can see beach and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeMilford_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I've stayed here three different times and all were good. As others have said if you are looking for a 5 star go somewhere else. You get what you pay for. I can't brag enough about the last time i booked a room, for $149 a nite, we got a huge place, full kitchen, dining area, 2 big beds and bath and living rm, sq ft approx 600 or so. Everybody is so nice, but remember how you treat people is how they respond to you. There are two hotels right on each side that has live bands so yea you will hear music. It is a great place for familys or younger people. but if you want to have quite time, probably not a place for you. As they always says you get what you pay for its true. If you're not looking for 5 star, this is not the place for you. There are plenty of
resturants to go to and things to do. You are right on the beach, They do have different rooms for different prices, but i have been others too, and felt like i got my moneys worth. And when it comes to roaches you are in florida. Ha ha get used to it. If it was several a reason complain if not , as i said your in florida.

Room Tip: ask for the one that has a living rm and dining rm, ours faced the parking lot but it was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcj592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We spent two nights at the Howard Johnson on St. Pete’s Beach. Listed as a Resort Hotel, but can only be considered a ‘Resort’ due to its location on the beach. Having read all the previous TripAdvisor reviews this was no surprise.

This hotel has a superb location, is slightly showing its age but staff do well to look after the property – the staff are accommodating and friendly. Beach view rooms are limited due to the long and narrow design of the 5 floor building.

Our hotel room had 2 double beds, fridge, full size coffee maker, small patio with 2 chairs. The furnishings were old but in good repair. Nothing was broken but showed some signs of wear. The room was clean and comfortable with no evidence of any bug infestations.

Everything that was described or promised was delivered. We came for the beach, stayed for the great value from a property directly on the beach. If you only stay at renovated 3+ star properties this may not be the location for you.

There was a mix of the young who partied until the early morning hours Sunday, families, and those in their golden years. Saturday night had its noisy moments, but Sunday night was subdued. All the guests had one thing in common – the beach.

The pool is fairly small, with a bar adjacent. This hotel has free wifi, but the signal strength is weak and difficult to maintain a consistent connection. The wireless access points are located in hallways, if you access near your door or keep the door open you should be able to maintain a stable connection. This worked for us. Alternatively the Beachcomber resort next door is accessible from the North side rooms.

Don’t miss the nightly congregation to the beach each evening – find a spot to sit to witness the sun as it dips below the horizon. What I didn’t expect was the thunderous applause and cheers as the last bit of sun vanished.

All in all the St. Pete’s Beach Howard Johnson’s is a clean and comfortable beach hotel that offers great value for the area. I would stay at this property again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want beach view room, ask for 3rd floor or higher. Also avoid the rooms by the elevator near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorax001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs, ca
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

First time in St. Pete Beach. Stayed here for the value, which is great. The room and bath are a little tired. Could use some updating, but they are clean. Nice big pool and right on the beach. If you like the north side of St. Pete beach, you will not be disappointed. (I prefer Pass a Grille). Good restaurant on premises for a post hangover breakfast, and a nice beach bar to get that hangover.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dag144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here last April for the 3rd year in a row. Great beach, great value, great service. Hallway carpets redone to spruce things up.
Great food at front restaurant, excellent breakfast. Pool salt water and very clean. Also has a good beach bar

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chachi326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing