We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but fix cable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I would give it a c+. Everything was ok but the cable was horrible and they has DVD or a channel to rent a movie. The beach was beautiful. Pool had too much chlorine

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank KARIN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I will most definitely share your experience with our staff. I appologize that you found our pool to have too much chlorine. We do balance the chemicals in our pool each morning prior to it opening at 10 am. Therefore, I am not sure how we had too much chlorine in the pool. However, I will definitely follow up with my staff. Thank you for taking the time for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My experience at this hotel was great and there is so much to do in the area. The rooms were very clean. The onlycmplaint I have is that one of the sinks was stopped up but once reported to the front desk it was immediately fixed. I really enjoyed the Undertow Beach Bar, Skippers has great breakfast and its a plus that the beach is less than a 1/2 mile walk away. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ASHANTI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future. I also appreciate you contacting us during your stay so that we might fix the challenge in your room. I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We decided not to go home after a day at beach. This hotel is right on beach, had a vacancy, and price was great compared to others. Rooms are definately older and need some TLC. Beds were comfortable and staff was great. We typically stay at a neighboring hotel for a much higher price tag and I can't say that their rooms are so mich nicer they're woth the difference in price. Don't stay here if you're expecting luxury but for location, price, and friendliness... it's a winner. Once they finish the remodel on the restaurant - we come over from the other hotel for breakfast - and they open their new beachfront bar...it will be excellent!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Roxanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will stay with us once again after our restaurant and beach bar open this month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

horrible rooms, dirty and disgusting showers... would never stay at this hotel again,and would not recommend it either.. even the hall ways smell bad

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank STEPHANIE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share this contructive information. I will most definitely share this with the appropriate departments so that we may improve our rooms. It is unfortunate that there was an odor in the hallway. Unfortunately, with so many people in our hotel there are times when items are spilled that may cause this odor. Once again thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This room wasn't as nice as other rooms we've stayed in at this facility. It definitely needs to be remodeled. For instance, the refrigerator is old and rusted and leaked rusty water on the floor. We had to forcefully slam the door from the outside to get it to close. The TV stations were limited. We were not able to watch a game we wanted sind Sun Sports was not available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CARLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your recent visit. If there is ever a challenge with anything with the room please contact our front desk so that we might correct the challenge. We appreciate you taking the time to give this feedback. We will make sure and share it with our staff so that we might make your next stay with us more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Room was good and clean. Staff was helpfull and efficent . Poolwas clean. Could use more shade at the Pool

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DENNIS402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel and always want our guests to be comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I don't understand all of the positive reviews. The hotel was just ok. I wasn't expecting anything nice at this price, but anytime I feel like I can't even go to the bathroom without putting my shoes on, it's not a good experience. The maids did the best job they could cleaning it; it's just that that carpet was never going to feel clean. The sinks are old and dirty. The towels are small, rough, and stained. The fridge wasn't cold. The walls are paper thin. I was up most of the first night with people yelling outside. Most of the balconies overlook the parking lots. The only positive was it was cheap and on the beach. But to be honest, this wasn't a nice beach. The whole beachfront area was tacky and cheap looking. Drive down to Clearwater, as we did on our last day, and see what a difference a 30 minute drive can make.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasBac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to make every guest happy. If there is ever a challenge I hope that each guest will let us know during his/her stay so that we may attempt to improve the situation at that moment. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the beach either. St. Pete Beach is known to be one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £75 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing