We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Beach Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Very friendly and informative staff (made several excellent restaurant recommendations upon check-in), clean, comfortable room, and great location. The Toasted Monkey has great atmosphere, a nice Happy Hour with live music, and tasty food. Pool and pool deck area are large, clean and accommodating. One could dissect things and perhaps find some imperfections if one created an expectation that they were staying in the Waldorf with a Gulf view for $110/night but once reality sets back in, what you have here is a real gem! We live across the state on the other coast and would (and will) definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
I very glad that you enjoyed your visit at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I will be very happy to share your graciouse comments about the friendly and informative staff. We work very hard to keep our rooms comfortable and clean for our guests. Our large pool and pool deck are favorites with all our guests as is the great atmoshpere at the Toasted Monkey. I hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    686
    520
    246
    180
See reviews for
820
613
104
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms clean and spacious. Safe parking at the hotel. Beach is beautiful & the Toasted Monkey Bar is nice place to have a drink and eat dinner. Close to lots of other restaurants. Offers dog friendly rooms. Price value is good !!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judadams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding my friendly and helpful staff at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I am glad that you found your room to be spacious and clean. The staff works very hard so our guests enjoy their visit. I hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Just to note: we are not a pet friendly hotel. The restaurant and beach bar patios allow the dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Broken furniture, broken fridge, coffee maker, and many more things.....location is good on the beach but they have a bar and all drunk locals re there, so you don't want to take your kids to the beach and pass by the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakarya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. I apologize for any inconvenience that the broken items in your room presented. I hope that you contacted the front desk with your challenges so that we could resolve them. I am also sorry that the patrons of the beach bar interfered with your stay. I will definitely give this information to the appropriate departments for any improvements that we can make. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing