We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our week long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The stay in the hotel was adequate. It did have all we needed, microwave and fridge. It could have been cleaner. We always had to ask for more towels 4 in room only got two on one day and three on another. It was on the beach and we loved that. View was okay. Need a little more modern updating in the room. Liked the bigger TV.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,860 - 1,866 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in March but only just got around to making my comments!
To get the best deal during "Spring Break" we booked direct with the hotel four months prior to staying and took advantage of their seniors rate, due to the varying reviews on T.A and the initial difficulty trying to make contact by e-mail we almost gave it a miss but so glad we didn't, we wanted an oceanfront room directly on the beach and that is exactly what we got.
The information on their web page is not very clear as it only states ocean view rooms and we found it difficult to confirm that we had booked ocean front of which they only have 25, but eventually we received a confirmation e-mail from Robin Newman Hotel Director confirming all was OK.
On arrival (2hrs prior to check in time) we where welcomed by Cynthia on the front desk who advised that the high floor room that we had requested would not be available for half an hour so checked us in, gave us our car pass and suggested we take a look around. On checking in we where pleasantly surprised to find that most of the negative comments on T.A where nothing to be concerned about, yes the furnishings are old the fridge had some rust on it , there was a burn in the carpet the shape of an iron (obviously made by an idiot guest) but everything was clean and worked, we received a call from the front desk half an hour after check in to check that everything was O.K we reported that the security bolt on the door did not work and this was rectified in half an hour. The room was large had a comfy bed and had all the practical facilities plugs and mirrors in sensible locations, good lighting etc. towels where old and greying but clean and replaced daily.
The Toasted Monkey bar between the pool and beach is very good for drinks and snacks and the restaurant is excellent quality and value for money (we where lazy and ate there all three nights) nice pool area with plenty of beds and parasols.
Tip for the beach - if you mention to the beach boys that you are stopping in one of the beach front hotels you get a beach cabana for $20 instead of $30.
The comments regarding noise I would say are more to do with a very busy noisy resort than specifically due to the hotel.
Affordable superb location, good staff, no need to leave the hotel for food and drink, all we needed for a relaxing break.
For those with negative comments that want a five star hotel at these prices we would say "Get A Life"

Room Tip: Book early,pay the little extra and go for one of the twenty five ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank un0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place is a total dump. We booked because nothing else was available, but regretted it.

The location is excellent. And that's where the good things end. The rooms are dingy and disgusting. The hotel is in disrepair. Grime is its most noticeable feature.

The pool is fine. Nothing special. The beach there is amazing. But not enough to make up for the filthiness of the property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rteeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank roselady3510
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cheryle M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This HOJO compared to many other ones we have stayed at was not the best. It is an older hotel and needs some updates and maintenance. When we checked into our room, there was no trash can, no do-not-disturb sign, etc. I called the front desk twice to get these items, as well as some extra towels, and nobody brought them.

I was there 10 days, the 2nd night we heard dripping in the bathroom at 1:30am, and water was coming out of the ceiling from the room above us. I called the front desk, and the clerk told me that nobody would be available to check it out until the next day. By morning, our bathroom floor was flooded, and we had used every towel we had to soak it up (would have been nice to have the extra towels we asked for but didn't get).

The next morning I had to go to the office twice to get someone up to our room, which didn't happen until about 11am. I asked the front desk clerk to speak to the hotel manager, who was not in until noon, but they said they would leave her my cell number. I never received so much as a courtesy phone call back from the hotel manager, and we also never got a call from anyone to see if the problems had been taken care of (they did resolve it). Poor customer service by most standards.

The rest of our stay was without incident, and the staff was generally friendly, but the lack of service, and the general condition of this hotel is enough to keep me from coming back. I suppose it is an ok deal for the money, but if you are there on a weekend, be prepared to hear loud drunken college kids coming back from the bars until 2 or 3 am. It didn't bother us too badly, but it would not be for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £75 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing