We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and I have been staying at this location in the late fall for the past 10 years or so, they've done a good job at updating some things, the beach bar and the restaurant are now really hoppin'.
The staff, as usual, is helpful and nice.
The rooms are good, not spectacular but for the price they're quite adequate. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for you kind comments regarding the updates at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. We are very thankful and honored with your continued visits. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,264)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,677 - 1,683 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

WE have stayed at this property several times and are pleased each time we visit. The rooms are very comfortable with good maid service. Everyone was very accommodating from the time we checked in until check out. The rooms are dated as this an older property on the beach but they are continually upgrading. The view of the pool and beach are outstanding with a beautiful beach to enjoy. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are large. Will be back again next year to enjoy the spectacular sunsets and relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Call ahead to book a room with a gulf view. They are limited and sell out fast. There is a premium i...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am glad that you were once again "pleased" with your visit at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I will be sure to share your gracious comments with the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here 1 night with a friend. Pool was warm and clean with plenty of chairs around. Have to get pool towels near the front desk, which is a long walk to the pool if you forget. Toasted Monkey bar on the beach had a friendly bartender who remembered our one drink order over an hour later when we came back for another. Musicians in the eve were a bit off key and we enjoyed the band next door a bit more. But we did enjoy sitting by the pool and listening to the music. Originally we were given a room on the 2nd floor, which is not as up to date as the room we switched to on the 4th floor. The entire 4th floor smelled better than the 2nd floor and the room was more updated and felt cleaner. Beds were comfortable and we were grateful for an abundance of pillows. Staff was very friendly, helpful and understanding when we were disappointed with our 2nd floor room. We had booked a balcony room and paid a little more for this hotel than other comparable hotels because of the balcony, which we thought had some type of view. Unfortunately, if you do not call the hotel directly, it seems it is misleading in trying to book a balcony room with a view so if this is important to you, I suggest calling them. We changed rooms to the other side of the hotel, but we still had a parking lot view, although it was a better parking lot. Otherwise, we were asked to pay $30 more for a beach view. A bit misleading but again, staff was understanding and helped the best they could.

Room Tip: Be sure your balcony has a gulf view if this is important. Most of the balconies do not face the bea...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC5Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am glad that you found the staff accommodating. I will be sure to let them know. All of our rooms do have either a balcony or patio depending on the location of your room. Our gulf front rooms are very limited so it is always advisable to book these as soon as possible. We are always happy to have our guests call us directly so that we may assist with finding the perfect room for them. I hope that we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our room was average but decent- OK TV, poor decor. The lighting was bad and the carpet and bathroom fixtures very dated. However, our queen bed was super comfortable and the room was cleaned well every day. Also, the property was well maintained and the staff were all very nice and helpful. We liked the pool and the Toasted Monkey served good food and drinks. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for someone on a budget looking for great beach access.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed the wonderful beach access and the beach bar at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I will share your kind words with my staff regarding the quality of housekeeping. The entire staff works very hard to maintain the property. We are looking forward to the renovations that are scheduled for the near future. We hope to see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at this beachside hotel. We enjoyed the bar on the beach - although the bar next door is bigger and not as commercial (more to our liking), and we LOVED the proximity to the beautiful beach. Great for long, romantic walks.

As for the hotel itself, the bed was comfy, and the housekeeping folks did a great job, cleaning up our sand and giving us clean towels. Also, the shower was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for your gracious comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I will be sure to share with my housekeeping staff your kind words. I hope that we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I do not understand all the bad reviews. Its a hotel on the beach and its cheap. Compared to the other hotel I stayed at coming down to St. Pete this hotel was amazing. The Microwave and Reg worked great and The A/C unit wasn't to loud unlike the other hotel I stayed at. The people working there were really nice and the maid even opened my room up when I had my hands full and couldn't get my key. Always friendly and greeting me and helping me with anything I needed. I just wished I could have stayed longer. I was worried about the loud sound of the bar and restaurant next door but it wasn't to loud from my room. Yes I wish all the rooms had a better view then of the other hotels but seeing where its located you can only get beach view on one side and of course it will cost more. I loved this hotel and do not understand how anyone could complain about anything with this hotel compared to the hotel in Gainsville where I stayed and it was horrible. My only complaint is that the desk chair wasn't comfortable and the only reason I had to sit there was because I had to do some test for school online. I just wish they would offer more deals for people staying longer!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a better view then ask to be on the left side of the hotel because the back side only sh...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff at Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach friendly. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to them. Thank you for suggesting more comfortable chairs for our desk area. I will definitely look into it. I hope that we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £74 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing