We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Room. Great Staff !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Room. Great Staff !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights. Room was clean and larger than expected. Very good value for on the beach. Extremely helpful and friendly staff both at the front desk and cleaning staff. Our request for additional coffee and such was promptly brought to our room.

The building could use some work but it seems the staff works hard to maintain an aging building. Have stayed in other HoJo's with similar issues but the staff here works hard at keeping it up.

We would certainly return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelRRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    682
    517
    245
    178
See reviews for
811
612
104
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
664 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our party of 9 was in 3 rooms over 4 nights. One cannot complain about the location...right on the beach, with a swimming pool and restaurant and bar on the property. Our room was very quiet too, which is a big bonus for me.

On the first night there was a problem when we were given keys to a room we were not assigned to. After returning that evening one party was locked out of the room and not even allowed to enter it to provide proof that their belongings were in it. We had daily problems with the access keys, but that could have been because we kept them in our wallets next to our credit cards.

The hotel is looking old. The hallways and stairwells have seen better days. I found that the coffee and cups were not being restocked each day and had to go to the front desk each day to get more.

Despite all this, I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel, at this price. Some previous posts have mentioned the noise from the bar or restaurant...I never noticed it.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms (lower levels) do not guarantee a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us , we strive to address any issues to correct them . Unfortunately, regarding the keys you are right sometimes when you keep them in your wallets next to your credit cards it affects them , and for your protection before we re-issue we confirm your identity. Also , I will inform the department responsible for stocking coffee cups to be more diligent . Most important we are glad that you enjoyed our Hotel and the amenities and look forward to seeing you soon . Its nice that you mentioned the value please be aware of our booking specials when you call our Hotel directly to book your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just stayed there last week and the rooms are dark and dirty. Our balcony was a view of the ugly building next door. The rooms and hallways are very noisy. The location is great and the beach is beautiful, but the hotel has not been maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We are an older hotel with a staff that works very hard to maintain the upkeep and the cleanliness of the property. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass this information on to the appropriate departments so that we may improve. I also apologize that the noise of other guests disturbed you. I do have security on property in order to control this. I will definitely talk with the security department about being more proactive. Please be encouraged to always contact the front desk so that we can rectify any challenges to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing