We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is in a great location and has a nice beach and...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    716
    546
    269
    207
See reviews for
883
644
110
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Do NOT stay here if you are not looking to party all night. And do NOT stay in a beach front room. The Toasted Monkey bar is located right behind the hotel and is very loud until 12-1 AM. It is a nice bar to hang out at, but it just goes on way too long. On top of that the walls are paper thin and anytime anyone shuts a hotel door you will hear it. There were plenty of younger kids (we are 29 years old) that ran up and down the hall all night long. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with a family. Save your money and stay at a TradeWinds or another resort, you WILL hate this place; we did after just 2 nights. Will never be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the front part, away from the beach and the Toasted Monkey bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llazaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear llazaroe. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I am sorry to hear you had so many noise issues. While the Toasted Monkey does offer a variety of live music throughout the week, St. Pete Beach does have a noise ordinance of 11 PM. I will be discussing this situation with the tiki bar to ensure this doesn't occur again for any future guest. In regards to any noise throughout the halls of the hotel, I truly wish you would have contacted the front desk. We have a guest services agent at our front desk 24 hours a day, as well as overnight security to ensure that our guests are not disturbed. Then we would have had the opportunity to address the situation, or move your room.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you didn't have a wonderful experience, but hope you may give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersbur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Howard Johnson's to attend my daughter's wedding at a nearby hotel. The day after we checked in, I noticed a lot of rust around the metal pieces all over the bathroom but just figured that the room needed some updating or rust cleaner. We were busy with the pre-wedding events and did not have time to complain. On the third day, my wife noticed a t-shirt stuffed behind the headboard of the bed and when she pulled it out, the shirt was covered in feces! She called housekeeping and they came and took it away. Next , upon closer examination, the bathroom had a numbers of spots where mildew was apparent. Twice during our stay, the toilet backed up and maintenance had to plunge it. The toilet ran constantly. One of the GFCI plugs did not work. The hair dryer on the wall had charred black on the plug as if it blew up. When we complained, the manager, Cynthia, was very concerned and attentive. She and the head of maintenance came immediately to the room and were aghast at the problems. They fixed and cleaned many of the issues that day. When we left, she was only able to give us one day for free as compensation for our trouble because that is what the management allows her. I emailed the general manager and he was to give us another night's charge refund but I have not received it yet. I would not stay at this place nor recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Barrypaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Barypaint. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincere apologies. At the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach, we strive to provide every guest with superior service, therefor your feedback is very important to me. I want you to know that I am taking the appropriate measures to address the problems with both maintenance and room cleanliness that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence. I am however very happy to hear that Cynthia was able to assist you immediately and was able to provide you with compensation. Unfortunately, I never received and email but would love the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. Please feel free to email me @ minap@reaganresorts.com.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Dauphin, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Front desk staff were so good to us. Especially Crystal who helped us find a better room (sliding glass door issue) & she continued to make sure we were ok. Susan was also very helpful. Pleasant stay.

Room Tip: North side rooms are more quite. Good food at the Toasted Monkey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greetings, Jean K. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you very much for your kind words about our front desk staff! Our team prides themselves in providing exemplary customer service and Crystal and Susan are both such assets to have at our front desk. I'll be sure to pass this review on to them.

Again, than you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We hope to see you again the next time you're in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is situated perfectly on the beach but the hotel along with the pool area is in major need of a deep cleaning and renovation. Our room on the 4th floor was ok as we walked in but once we looked around we noticed the carpet was filthy, the fridge had leaked at one time and the tile was either stained or still dirty. The fridge door handle was so loose it came off in my hand as I opened it. The bathroom was deplorable with some of the tiles missing from behind the toilet and never repaired. Corners all over the room had ten tons of dust and dirt in them. The pool water was murky the whole time and we couldn't see the bottom. We will never, ever stay there again. Even after showering I never felt clean given my surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldinmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear coldinmichigan. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. We are pleased to hear that you saw the amazing value of our property being located right on the Gulf of Mexico. I would like to apologize for the issues you had while with us. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with a quiet, comfortable and clean room, we obviously fell short with your reservation and for that I am sincerely sorry. I am going to share this review with both my Executive Housekeeper and my Chief Engineer so that the issues you had can be rectified for our future guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing