We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The facility and people were great. Wanted my brother to visit me but he couldn't park there. Early check out and no option to extend (as if you really clean all the rooms at the same time, i have to leave by 11 but couldn't check in til 3.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 1SMCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear 1SMCline. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly, as exceptional customer service is always what we aim to provide our guests. In regards to parking, I'm sorry that your brother wasn't able to park on the property. However, due to limited parking we can only accommodate our guests vehicles. Late check out is generally an option Sunday through Thursday. During the weekends we can not honor a late check out as our housekeeping staff must have time to turn the rooms over for arriving guests. I hope this helps shed some light on our hotel policies,

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. I hope that the next time your travels bring you to St. Pete Beach we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,661 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've been coming to HoJo on st Pete beach for 14 years and there has always been a problem. Never are the reservations accurate and the price quoted is NEVER what they charge at the end of your stay. I'm done! Tv didn't work, towels not replaced, never washed out tub after 8 days, never any coffee condiments unless I asked for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Kim U. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'd like to apologize for the experience you had while staying with us this year. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quite, clean and comfortable room and we obviously fell short with your reservation. I have forwarded your review to my Executive Housekeeper so that the proper training can be implemented for our future guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post to Trip Advisor. We hope that the next time you want to stay on the beach we hope you will give us anther chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Staff was helpful and responsive. The room's decor and hotel's interior was very dated. The bathroom had a cracked sink, cracked tiles and the bathtub floor was mushy. The grout in the bathroom was black but I don't think it was supposed to be. Towels were small and thin. The game room was a joke - tables but no food or drink allowed, old video games and a tv. A pong pong table and boardgames would have been welcome on rainy days. In short I think it is a stretch calling it a resort hotel.

However, the small grounds were nicely landscaped and well maintained. Enjoyed the shuffleboard, volleyball courts and corn hole. Lunch at the Toasted Monkey was unexpectedly delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Greetings, Paul F. Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson St.Pete Beach. Your kind words concerning our staff are greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize for the condition of your bathroom. I have forwarded this review to our Chief Engineer, so that these issues can be properly addressed and fixed for our future guests. I appreciate your feedback on our game room as well. I will be taking your suggestions to our next management meeting to hopefully implement some new games in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to see you again the next time you want to stay on the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As this is an older hotel, one should not be shocked that while guests at other resorts are at the beach, or having fun, you instead are stuck sweating in the hallway waiting on broken locks, wiping up stopped up toilets or even having to plunge them out yourself. The dairy products in the fridge went bad and general cleanliness is a HUGE problem here - we spent time chasing/killing bugs in our room and we could not even get the front desk clerk to acknowledge (they would have had to look out a window) the rat (we have a picture but will not post unless Trip Advisor requests) sitting on a hotel walkway outside the front desk office.

We found the hotel location (St. Pete Beach) to be nice. but the view from extra cost beach view room was not worth it - (you are not that close to the beach/water) and what they called heated for the pool, most others may not and instead be disappointed the pool temperature was not as advertised.

What we found most shocking was that even though we had paid for 5 nights in December and were originally checked in for 5 nights, but we were told to leave after 4 nights. The front desk staff refused to even check my registration confirm on our phone, call the booking agent or even answer the phone (personal calls appeared to be the priority) when the booking agent called to advise that the hotel had already accepted payment for 5 nights. Instead we were told we had to vacate before 11AM (it was already 10:30AM) or..................................... Quite frustrated, we packed up the car and made other sleeping arrangements. When leaving the property (dropped off the safe lock), we were then told they figured out the problem and even though we had already made other sleeping arrangements for that night, we would be billed the cost of the room. When I advised I would not pay, the front desk clerk threatened to call the sheriff and have me arrested. Needless to say we left quickly.

Please note that we were eventually able to be credited for that 5th night (had to threaten a lawsuit). But that neither of the hotel owners (believe Wyndham worldwide owns the HoJo's name and Reagan Resorts, the specific hotel franchise owner) would apologize, accept any responsibility or even acknowledge receiving the complaint.

In short, this is likely one of the worst managed hotels we have ever stayed at. And with an adversarial front desk staff would not return here even at no cost.

btw - we just returned from our 8 day April trip and found better accommodations (MUCH closer to the beach, heated pool, clean room and priced similar/better) elsewhere. Suggest others might also benefit looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jacquelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
506 reviews
0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £130 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing