We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nasty hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
1 review
“very nasty hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stay at this location because of a wedding party i was part of on 6/14/14. i would not recommend this location to anyone. The hotel stink of an old musky smell. It is in need of a serious renovation project to the point they need to tear down and start all over again. The wall paper in the bathroom under the sink was molded with stains all over it. the curtain to the sliding glass do had mold on it at the bottom. the chair in the room was broken and we had to call down stairs to get one. i wasted my money of 149.00. i have stayed at lower end hotels and higher end hotels and have never had this type of experience. If i was a health inspector i would shut this location down as a health hazard. A/C very noisy when coming on and turning off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear G M. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for your review. It is our goal to provide our guests with a clean, quiet and comfortable room and we obviously fell short of our mark with your reservation, for that I'd like to offer my sincerest apologies.

Again, thank you for sharing your recent experience. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    686
    520
    246
    180
See reviews for
820
613
104
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in a few hours ago. Couldn't be happier with the room. Our 4th visit to HoJo SPB and this is by far the best room yet. Last time we had issues with a funky smell in the room and we're moved. Sea view @ $80. per night thru hotels.com. Originally booked it at $160. but, hotels.com lowered the rate and we rebooked. Arrived at 11A...and, had to wait till 2P to get in the room...but, worth it...hung out at Toasted Monkey Beach Bar which is part of the complex. 5th floor renovated room...amazing gulf view.

So far so good...updates to follow.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MullD003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Greetings, MullDoo3. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for writing a review. I'm happy to hear that you are enjoying yourself while with us and look forward to reading the review you'll post after you check out. Should you need anything during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk as there is someone there 24 hours a day. Enjoy your stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location, great room,front desk was exceptional enjoyed this stay better than previous stays at T Winds or G Harvey. And No Hidden Charges. The rooms on the upper floors allowed good views of the Gulf. The Toasted Monkey restuarant offered very good food for a reasownable price.Overall a fun stay which we will repeat.

Room Tip: Try to reserve rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Greetings, Mike S. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the magnificent views from your private balcony. One of the best parts about our property is that our rates are completely inclusive, and you won't find the "hidden" fees for amenities such as parking or wifi as you will find at so many of our neighboring hotels.

Again, thank you for writing a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were really stoked to stay on the beach last minute for a friend's wedding till we went to crash for the evening and realized our television wouldn't turn on. Maintenance apparently wasn't available because it was late at nite, so the polite receptionist sent over someone from security. This gentleman was nice as well, but not capable of fixing the problem. We ended up passing out after some boring tv-less tossing and turning.

The next morning I called up to the front desk to ask if we could extend our check out time a tad because the lack of white noise made it hard to sleep and we hoped to grab an extra couple hours of rest. The manager I spoke with on the phone couldn't care less about my situation or bad experience. I told her I was unhappy with the circumstances and asked if she wouldn't mind allowing us to sleep in a little longer to make up for the inconvenience. Not only was she very brash and abrasive over the phone, but she took the situation very personally and accused me of threatening her.

Needless to say we immediately packed up the car and went to the front desk to get out of that uncomfortable situation and drop our keys off. In the office I had the pleasure of meeting Cynthia in person, where she proceeded to continue to ridicule my request in front of her employees (all of which were helpful and pleasant aside from her), and other guests checking in.

All in all, the rooms were nice for the price and the location can't be beat. If someone had bothered to check the rooms to make sure all amenities were in working order, maybe I wouldn't have had to meet the insulting tactless manager who ruined our stay. If it weren't for the generosity if the GM Mina, along with the pleasantness of the rest of the staff I would say just find another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stitchgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing