We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$236
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Zamora(St. Pete Beach)
US$428
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blind Pass Resort-Motel(St. Pete Beach)
US$114
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabal Palms Inn(St. Pete Beach)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramar Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)(Great Value!)
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,731)
Filter reviews
5,731 results
Traveller rating
3,073
1,368
661
396
233
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,073
1,368
661
396
233
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsflying bridgejacaranda buildingbeefpizza hutpirate showthe palm courtgiant slidebeach slidetrade windsadult poolkids clubkids activitiesfront rowmini golfbedroom suitefamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,863 - 2,868 of 5,731 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews so this is a first for me but I just had to share my amazing experience here!! My husband and I stayed at the Trade Winds Island Grand for our honeymoon over the past weekend. Upon arrival my husband mentioned to one of the workers, a tall gentleman named Dan, from housekeeping, that it was our honeymoon. After getting settled in the room, we received a knock at our door and had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries delivered. It was amazing that the employee who we spoke with went out of his way to make our stay extra special. We will definitely return again and are recommending the Island Grand for our friends wedding guest accommodations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello TravelingTreasures,
Thank you! We are so excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your treasured honeymoon memories. Dan certainly is an amazing individual and we will be sure he is recognized for taking the time to make you feel extra special. We hope to see you for your One Year Anniversary! Congratulations to you both and best wishes for a many years of happiness.
Kind Regards,
Léni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was my family's first time to Tradewinds and boy were we ever impressed. As soon as we pulled up we we're treated like royalty. Matt at the bell stand was great. The room were perfect for a family of four, and the view was picture perfect. In fact my Facebook has lots of those pictures on it.
The kids had such a great time there between going down the huge slide, swimming in the pools and hanging out at the konk club. The konk club was great because they have a babysitting service so my wife and I could sneak off and have a nice drink together during sunset.
I want to give Dan from housekeeping a special thanks, we took his advice and went to Johnspass and had a blast. We even saw dolphins in the pass which the kids loved. So thank you Dan.
All in all the stay was perfect and we most definitely coming back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prees11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello prees11,
To 'impress' you from the very start is certainly what we strive to do, and how wonderful to hear that we were able to do it! Thank you for sharing your photos of the resort on your Facebook account and for taking the time to write your review here. We love that the kids had a blast at the pool, the High Tide Slide, and the KONK Club (especially since you were able to have some special alone time together over sunset cocktails ;) Also, thank you for specifically recognizing Matt and Dan. We will ensure that their efforts are recognized by management. Can't wait for you guys to come back to see us!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the cold reception upon arrival, even at 6:30 in the evening, to the numerous other issues on site, the experience was terrible. There were kids running around completely unattended and crowding the hot tubs with 10+ people (all of which were under 12 years old) all through the night. The bathrooms were disgusting, toilets stopped up, doors stuck to where you could barely get out. There was a dance competition going on and we were barely able to get past all of the exhibits in the Breckenridge foyer due to the large crowds. The dance competition lasted until late and the noise was not tranquil like you would expect for a beach resort. Not to mention that you really should not put guests right in the middle of a convention that they are not a part of, you should separate them if you know that an entire area is going to be engulfed with so many people participating with a convention. It was obvious that the convention did not want us in their way either.

The property did not resemble or feel like a resort in any aspect. The $35 resort fee should have included some of the other items on property like the bungee jump, etc. The splash park was a huge advertisement on the website yet it was not up on our visit, creating a huge disappointment. While using the cabanas, not one employee ever asked if there was anything we needed. Also, there were no pool towels available at any of the pools, only on the beach and this was only while they were staffed. It was not fun to get into a "heated" pool only to realize that it wasn't heated and then have no towel to dry off with.

We will not return to this property. I was actually scouting this as a possible property to host a conference, and did so on my on dime and without contacting their sales people so that I could really experience what our guests would experience. Needless to say this will not be on any list of possible venues now or in the future due to the terrible stay that we had. This was a waste of $300 on a mediocre motel stay that should have been 1/3 or less of that! Even our 11 year old was extremely disappointed and could not wait to leave.

I received a better room rate and extreme attentiveness by staff for myself and my family at the Don CeSar just down the road. For anyone looking for a resort experience and expectations, I would highly recommend Don CeSar over Tradewinds, hands down. Their staff was very attentive and the amenities were much more than what Tradewinds could ever provide.

Room Tip: Find a room at the Don CeSar instead.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALMWACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I have already forwarded your concerns to the appropriate department managers for further review. We were fortunate to have high occupancy during your one night visit, otherwise I’m sure your room assignment would have been in a more preferred location away from any potential disturbance of the dance group. The resort amenity fee covers just about everything except the bungee jump and the gyro sphere which the children do love, so we are taking that into consideration for next year. Splash Island water park was closed for safety reasons due to extremely low tides. This combined with inclement weather are the only two reasons for which it would be closed, obviously beyond our control. However, the High Tide slide did remain open that weekend for everyone to enjoy. There must have been some confusion as all pool towels are available at The Adventure Center, which is the central focus point for all activities, towels and any other needed items adjacent to the beach front pool. Regarding the pool temperature, four out of the five pools at the Island Grand are heated to 85 degrees. The only exception is the toddler pool with a maximum depth of one foot with the temperature being controlled by the natural sunlight. A review of all engineering hourly pool records showed no indication of any temperature variations within any of the pools. Seeing how you were on a personal sight visit, I again apologize that TradeWinds did not meet your expectations. Regardless, I have forwarded this to our sales office for further contact in hopes of answering any other questions you may have and to hopefully consider TradeWinds. Scrolling down through the recent reviews on TripAdvisor, there are several other extremely positive reviews from group guest attending their conference while here which I know given another opportunity you and your attendees could have the same experience. If I could be of any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
Doug R. Director of Guest Satisfaction – TradeWinds Island Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Island Grand again, the hotel and facilities are amazing and the food in the Palm Court Italian Grill is still to die for. The difference this year was the presence of BlueGreen a company on site and apparently partnered with the Trade Winds Hotel.
They will invite you to a 90 minute presentation and warn you that they will make you a "soft" offer to buy their holiday plan. Basically it's a time share except you buy points instead of time. It's more flexible and seems like a better scheme, I might even have seriously considered it except for the fact that it was an extremely high pressure sales pitch. The presentation dragged on for three hours during which time multiple techniques were used to try and get us to sign up. In the end we had to just get up and walk. It's a half decent product guys, but you're using the same sales techniques as the timeshare guys of the late eighties.
That said, it didn't spoil our time at the Island Grand, we had a great holiday, it's just a cautionary tale.

Room Tip: Get a high room if you can away from the air con generators.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wavy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Wavy281,
We are so happy to hear that you had another fabulous stay with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Blue Green. We certainly take all feedback to heart and will be sure to pass it along to the parties involved. We hope you will come back to visit us for a third time when you are ready for your next dose of beautiful beaches, amazing accommodations and fantastic food.
Kind Regards,
Léni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our family has been staying with this resort every year for about 30 years. Why? Because its an absolutely wonderful resort. There is so much for kids to do and so many activities. The resort itself is beautiful, the rooms are clean, and very nice and updates often. The service is exceptional, the employees are very kind and helpful and they have plenty of choices for dining at the resort. I highly recommend it to anyone! We have never once in 30 years been disappointed and the beach is beautiful! Can't beat the sunsets!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriser14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello Chriser14,
Thirty years of memories at the TradeWinds Island Resorts? WOW. We are so honored to be a part of your family's history and special moments. It really says a lot that you have stayed with us countless times over the years and that you have never been disappointed by our accommodations, staff, activities or restaurants. Thank you so very much for sharing your kind words.
See you in "heaven" soon!
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews