We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kyle the valet was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Kyle the valet was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We used the valet parking service on a Saturday night while visiting friends. Kyle spent time talking to my kids and even danced "Gagnam style" with them. I think he actually likes his job, which is nice to see in the service industry.

Room Tip: The room had broken furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi A G,
Haha! How wonderful that Kyle was able to entertain your children with his dancing skills! He is definitely a fantastic associate and we are thankful to have him. We are also very thankful that so many of our staff members enjoy working for TradeWinds Island Resorts. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for notifying us about the furniture so that we can ensure all items in the rooms are up to par. Hope to see you all again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,712
    1,230
    603
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,154
990
74
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent 3 nights in November to attend a dance convention. We had a very nice suite with a wonderful ocean view. The suite had two full size beds, a living room combined with a dining area and a fridge, stove top and sink. Everyone from the parking lot attendant to all the staff we passed while walking around had smiles and said hello to us. Our maid was friendly and although her english was not the best she got us to understand that if we needed any extra coffee, tea or anything else she was happy to get it for us. A small inconvenience was that the fridge was out so far it made it hard to use the kitchen sink. Our convention was a blast and it was nice to have the cabanna's, pedal boats, towels, slides and parking included in a $10 a day fee. We are looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a little extra room and the ability to cook for yourself the suites are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello Pamela R,
We are excited to know you enjoyed your stay with us during the dance convention! It's nice to hear that your room was comfortable and had everything you needed for a great stay. We love that you were able to take advantage of our resort's amenities between dance routines and your rigorous schedule. We hope you will come back to visit us again, for competition or just to relax.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My fourth year in a row and its still as wonderful as ever, great location, facilities and friendly helpful staff.

Dinner at Bernudas was devine, highly recommend Boom Boom Shrimp and the Filet Mingon

See you again next year!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum231ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello Mum231ASD,
How wonderful that we've been able to get to know you over the past four years! We can't wait for year number five! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your love for our property and for returning to stay with us again and again. We are so pleased that you enjoy our accommodations, restaurants, and staff. Next year and your next visit will be here before you know it.
See you soon,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spent 4 nights in October 2013 at the Island Grand for a conference. We had a Tropical View Room with a king bed. It overlooked the pools, waterway and part of the beach. Small balcony, comfy bed, nice room with mini fridge, microwave, toaster, a few dishes and a small kitchen sink. Housekeeping did a great job. Everyone is very friendly. Perfect time to go is fall/winter, no crowds, few kids and lots of quite time to relax. Tip: Stay at the Island Grand not the Guy Harvey. Guy Harvey is small and next to the Howard Johnson's Toasted Monkey Bar. Others told us they stayed at the Guy Harvey and there was loud music until early am and a fight in the parking lot. If you stay there, ask for a room by the adult pool.

Room Tip: Stay at the Island Grand and ask for a tropical view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello Tourist894,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in October. Many of our guests love that they are able to enjoy our tropical weather during the Fall/Winter months while our friends up north are playing in the snow! It's great to know that you were comfortable in your room and that you got to relax even though you were here for a conference. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you will come back to see us for your next vacation!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I recently visited the Tradewinds Island Grand hotel in St. Pete Beach. I found the staff to be very friendly and the hotel to be very clean. We stayed in standard room, with two queen beds. The rooms have a small refrigerator and a microwave. From the outside the hotel looks a little older, not run down or anything, just older. The inside looks great, rooms look like normal hotel rooms. The cabanas on the beach are very nice and comfortable.

We ate one night at the Beef o' Brady's at the resort. The food was good, I'd say it's similar to a Chili's or TGI Fridays. We had lunch one day at Salty's Bar which is right near the adult pool. The food was expensive and I wasn't too impressed with the quality of the food.

The specialty drinks are tasty but there doesn't seem to be much alcohol in them. So, here's what I suggest. There is a plaza just south of the hotel that has a Publix grocery store. Go to Publix and pick up some pop/soda. In the same plaza is Dolphin VIllage Liquors. The liquor store has a wide variety of small bottles of liquor. Pick a bunch of those up. Then, you can either use your own cup or just ask for a glass of water at the resort, which is free. Then add your pop/soda and liquor. This is a lot cheaper option.

I took advantage of the onsite spa and received a 1 hr. deep tissue massage. My masseur was Ron and I was pleased with the quality of the massage.

I liked the resort. If you're looking for a nice hotel that's on the beach this is for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nina107c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi nina107c,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit at TradeWinds Island Grand. We are glad that you enjoyed our property and were happy with your room. It's also nice to hear that our beachside cabanas created a nice place for you to relax on the beach. To add to that, we will be sure that our massage therapist, Ron, from Body Works Spa is recognized for a job well done. Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Once again, we enjoyed a great stay at Tradewinds Island Grand. Even though the weather wasn't the greatest, we still had a wonderfully, relaxing stay. Beautiful rooms, beautiful beaches, comfy beds, tons of amenities, and a courteous, awesome staff to meet our every need. Thanks again for the great experience at Tradewinds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Alayne L,
Although we wish we could've ordered better weather for your visit, we are happy to hear it was still enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your room, our amenities, and that our staff was accommodating. We hope you will come back once again to visit us when you get a chance!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

for the last 15 years my husband & I have taken our children and made so many memories there..now we take our Grand children. always treated Great, so much to do & will continue going. Thank you Tradwinds for ALWAY'S making our vacations top notch :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Tina R,
All we can say is 'wow.' Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your family's memories. We are so thrilled and honored to be given the opportunity to host your family vacations over the past 15 years. Cheers to many more in the future! We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#23 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing