We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$214
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,772)
Filter reviews
5,772 results
Traveller rating
3,100
1,378
664
396
234
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,100
1,378
664
396
234
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsflying bridgejacaranda buildingbeefpizza hutpirate showthe palm courtgiant slidebeach slidetrade windsadult poolkids clubkids activitiesfront rowmini golfbedroom suitefamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
2,871 - 2,876 of 5,772 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed on the 6th Floor with ocean view. "Balcony" room leaves alot to be desired, as balcony is about 24 inches wide, but the views are amazing and opening the sliding doors to the ocean breezes was so relaxing.

Beach cabanas were a great Plus, although the FRONT ROW should really be included during off-season in my opinion. We didn't use the beach airslide, but the kids running around loved it. The ocean was calm and cool and nice to get all the way out there without fear of getting sucked out like the Atlantic side.

Room was well stocked with kitchenette.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views, but the trade-off is the slow elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZAXIBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello ZAXIBEE,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback and it's nice to hear you had an overall very relaxing experience on beautiful St. Pete Beach. We hope you come back to have another wonderful stay with us sometime soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I took a short fall vacation actually we are still here came in on November 27th leaving December 2nd. The hotel it self is very nice however we went around to others in the area which are just as nice but about $100 less a night. I have yet to figure out why this one cost so much more. We are staying in a building that is away from the main building nice beautiful view but the noise is very loud. Every night it seems like a party going outside our window. We had a drink at the Tiki bar and for two drinks it was over $20.00 down the beach about a block or so we paid $10.00 not sure if we were paying for the little umbrella but that was crazy. You would think with the price they are charging for the room they could give you a deal on drinks and food. We even wanted to cancel and move to another hotel but the said they would still change us the full price.

Room Tip: Gulf view but not above the bar
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello JoFlat,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we take suggestions from our guests to heart. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and that you will consider visiting us again the next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in September. Our first disappointment was in finding that we could not use a luggage cart and take our own luggage to our room. They have bellmen who have complete control over the luggage carts. You are not allowed to borrow a cart. You HAVE to use the bellmen and have them take your luggage to your room, and of course, give them a generous tip. Our bellman loaded our luggage onto a cart and then told us he would meet us at our room and for us to go park our car. When we got inside, we found our luggage cart at the elevator with all of our luggage and valuables abandoned at the elevator. The Bellman was no where in site. When he finally showed up, he said he had gone looking for us instead of staying with our cart. He messed up some of our bags by piling them all over each other. Once in the room, we found that the TV didn't work. We called the desk and had them send someone to fix it. After 2 different trips to our room, they never did fix our TV, and they could not move us to another room. Our view was of a roof and air conditioners for the entire 7 days. The entire hotel lost it's electricity one day, due to a storm. The electricity was out for several hours. Our room was small and had a tiny closet. They do have a laundry room and very nice swimming pools, but we never got to use the pools, as it rained almost every day we were there and had flooding. They put sand bags across the back entrances to try to keep out the water. There were huge jellyfish on the beach...never seen jellyfish that large...larger than a basketball. We won't be back unless a lot changes at that hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for your concerns regarding a bellman and the use of a luggage cart while arriving to your room. We are a full service resort which does provided bell assistance to our guest as necessary. However, with 585 guest rooms we do have a sufficient number of carts available, it’s just that when guest take the carts on their own there is no telling where they may end up. Some guest leave keep them in the room, some place them by the elevators and yet others simply leave them abandoned. Another thing to consider is that by being spread out like our property is, there are several different ways to reach the same room. Some include ramps which requires special attention to the use of the cart and could present a possible liability if not used properly. So for your safety and all those involved, our bellman are available to make sure you enjoy all your time while here.
Unfortunately there are a few things beyond our control such as the weather. As a result of the storms, our property was struck by lightning and we did experience a loss of total electricity for a couple of hours. Afterwards we determined a piece of equipment which provides all the HD channels on the tv for all the guest rooms was damaged. This resulted in a service call and the replacement equipment was ordered and had to be shipped here for correction. Please accept my apology for this taking an extended period of time.
Regarding your request to be moved to another room and being informed that we couldn’t, please allow me to explain. The HD tv channel issues were property wide, thereby moving would not resolve the issue. However with regards to the roof top view of the air conditioners there were two separate situations. After reviewing your folio, I see that you are a BlueGreen Owner staying with us. As an owner through BlueGreen, your room type and location is that of rooms located specifically within the Breckenridge building. During your stay BlueGreen was completely booked with their room types without any availability to accommodate your request for an upgrade or room with a gulf front view. Even the Island Grand was running with very high occupancy and had very limited room availability. Without a doubt, should there have been anything to move you to, we would have accommodated your request so as to ensure that your time with us was as enjoyable as possible under the circumstance of the weather.
With this brief explanation I hope it will provide some reassurance of the overall service that we want to provide for all our guest. It is unfortunate that this has left you feeling like you may not want to return, but if there is anything I can do to assist you in returning, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
Director of Guest Satisfaction
TradeWinds Island Resorts
Drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Only negative was temp of water 69F - just nice enough to wade in though. Absolutely no complaints nor issues with resort. Again the staff was top notch! We took a long weekend trip in April and with TradeWinds' Fall back to the beach promo...would could not pass it up and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves again. We are already talking this place up for a couples trip with a group of friends. While this place is terrific if you bring your children - it is also an awesome place for couples. Close to so much - easy trolly (low cost) on street to explore area.

This trip we did a half day deep sea fishing trip with Hubbard's Marina at the suggestion of Jennifer at TradeWinds - had such a great time!! Inexpensive ($50pp) and great crew - easy 15min cab ride from resort.

We will be back - so pleased with the level of service you receive, immaculate grounds, great beach and cabanas - and if you do not care to leave resort the restaurants and bars are terrific too! We've eaten at all except Palm Court.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello KMC-NC,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Fall visit with us just as much as you enjoyed your time with us in the Spring. We are also thrilled you will be coming back for a couples retreat soon! It's great to know you had a great experience across all areas of our resort and had a blast with the deep sea fishing trip. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were at the TradeWinds for a wedding on the beach and in the middle of the cocktail hour I had to find a restroom to change my daugther's diaper. There was a man sweeping the sand off the sidewalk, named Felix and I asked him for directions. He stopped what he was doing and walked me and my daughter the whole way there. He could have just pointed and left me for lost, but he was very nice to stop what he was doing. Just a testament to the great service at The TradeWinds!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank CE82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello CE82013,
First of all, thank you so much for making the effort to share this fantastic story! It's wonderful to hear that Felix went above and beyond to make sure you found what you needed in that distressing moment. We certainly pride ourselves on our customer service and a staff that truly cares about the well being of all guests. We hope you will come back to visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews