We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape with my wife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 4 day get-a-way from the every day hustle of our normal lives (careers and 3 boys). We were looking for a hotel with amenities next to a beach and close to Tampa and shopping. The Tradeswinds Island Grand Beach Resort in Saint Pete Beach met our expectations. The property is very well situated on one of the most beautiful beaches i've seen and is large enough to contain several restaurants and boutiques. The location is also close enough to Tampa where we went out to see a Lightnings hockey game and Ellenton where my wife spent half a day at the Premium Outlets shopping. The final two days, we spent in the sunshine on the beach drinking tropical drinks and relaxing. The infrastructure is well maintained and the property very clean. Our room was also very clean and spacious enough for everything we brought. Although we didn't bring the kids, I would not hesitate to bring children to this resort as it has more than enough to keep them occupied.

Room Tip: The gulf front rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello Mike A,
Please come back and bring the kids next time! We're so happy you and your wife enjoyed your getaway with us. It's so true, our location is perfect - right on the beautiful beaches of St. Pete Beach, but still close to so many other great attractions in the Tampa Bay area. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,504 - 2,510 of 5,522 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Trade Winds Grand Resort. The food was delicious, the grounds very beautiful and the staff very kind. The valet who greeted us was a nice, helpful fellow named Corey. He started off our stay with a smile and made us feel relaxed right off the bat.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have stayed at the TW two out of three years for this particular conference trip. The rooms are always very clean and spacious. The restaurants, meeting rooms and spa facilities are but minutes away from you no matter which room you are staying in. If you choose a room with a view, there is nothing like waking up to the sunrise or watching the sunset from your balcony just off your room.

Kind of like a little piece of heaven when you come from a place that is -10 degrees with ice and snow on the ground and everywhere else.

Room Tip: Suite style rooms are the best, you can't beat having two TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello Eugene S,
We're so happy that we can be your "little piece of heaven," even while you're here for a conference trip! Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again next year.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our first trip to TradeWinds in St Pete and one we'll likely return to sometime! The staff was very attentive & helpful. We had a lovely view of the ocean from our room. We frequented & enjoyed all the restaurants we visited. (Trying to fill out our "Passport" was a great excuse for making the rounds!) Went to Beef O'Brady's several times for a quick, good meal. Drew the bartender was very nice. Enjoyed Kevin's wit at the Flying Bridge & was pleasantly surprised to find him as our Karaoke host @ Redbeard's Sharktooth a few days later. Had breakfast @ Guy Harvey's Outpost a few mornings & liked being served each time (our choice) by a friendly waiter, Chris. Spent some time with a lovely Shelly @ the Tiki Bar. Finished one night walking back to our room with a sweet poem ("Neighbor") shared by Felix. Excellent meal at Bermuda's - again, a very nice waiter (sorry, can't remember his name...seem to recall he was from Seattle?) Also, enjoyed the Adults Only pool. Don't get me wrong, I love kids but it was a nice option to have a quiet, splash-free pool to relax. All in all, a wonderful trip, especially when the weather cooperated & we basked in the 80 degrees plus temperatures!

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the Jacaranda Building. Had a great view of the ocean & overlooked part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karentPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is one beautiful resort, but has a few minor details that prevent me from giving it top honors. Like everyone else who has given it top rating on food, service, beach, and other emenities I too have to agree. Some of the minor things were that the hotel itself needs more detailing done to it. It just looked dated on some of it's exteriors. The rooms didn't condone the price paid as there wasn't anything special with them. They were just rooms. We did have a beautiful view of the Gulf from our room. The grounds were very nice and kept clean.
Really, I'd come back because like we all agree, it's is a beautiful resort with plenty to do and one lovely beach, but not without seeing what else is out there.

Room Tip: Get the Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello Bob K,
Thank you for recognizing our high level of food, service, amenities, grounds and the beautiful beaches. We appreciate your feedback and certainly take these suggestions into consideration to continuously improve our resort. We hope you will consider returning to stay with us the next time you visit St. Pete Beach.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I recently stayed at the TradeWinds while attending the conference. I have mixed emotions about this property.
The Pros: Beautiful grounds, Very Very Friendly staff, Excellent beach, Average rooms, exceptional banquet staff. ( I was really impressed with the way they handled a buffet for 900 people Well done!), lots of activities for the kids. Keith doing the karaoke was excellent, Lots of food choice, OK rooms.

The Cons: over priced, had I not been attending the conference and received a discount I am not sure I would stay at this hotel with already expensive rooms and then another $30 activity fee. I don't think I would stay just due to the cost.

However if you don't care about the cost this is a nice family resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avalanche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Though the first two days of my stay were a little gloomy due to weather; it wasnt hard to tell this place would meet expectations.
The service was great I would start out the day in the fitness center even though it wasnt supposed to open until later there was a lovely lady named Gigi (seek her out) who opened early to host us early risers with direction and a smile. Later on the trip I found her while perusing through souvenirs, customer service is a gift to that woman.Same goes with the rest of the staff, there is poolside and beachside service for food and drinks for kiddos or adults. I must say though that its a challenge to find a bottled beer or a can below the price of $7. Overall the stay was made by the service and amenities along with a great location large enough to not get bored with one scene.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graciousca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hello graciousca,
We're very happy to hear about the level of service you experienced, especially from one of our exceptional team members, GiGi. Thank you for recognizing her efforts and all the amenities our property has to offer for families. Please come back to visit!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £203 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing