We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Beautiful facility, wonderful staff, great services and wonderful salon on site. Highly recommend and will return. The beach side service and cabannas are lovely and for only 15$ you can reserve a front row.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuckerAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,445)
There are newer reviews for TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,374 - 2,380 of 5,445 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent 2 nights on a business trip. The resort is generally well laid out and well maintained, the staff were very pleasant and attentive. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired (I am fussy with my rooms). Room was clean but I think they need a remodel to bring up to standard. Do not agree with the resorts 4* rating but this may be based on the facilities as much as the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for not meeting your expectations. I appreciate your comments regarding the condition of the property and our level of service provided by the staff. However regarding the room standard I'd like to mention that within the past 18 months, all 585 guest rooms have undergone a $20 million renovation. I hope that you will not let this one experience prevent you from returning to TradeWinds in the future. If I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you.
drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I decided to get out of the snow and take a trip to Florida, my sister had recommended us looking into the TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort. We spent 4 days at the resort and what an experience. I am not sure why people would want to travel out of the country to visit a resort on a beach, when they have the TradeWinds available to them.
From the time that I made the initial phone call to make a reservation until we departed out trip was a fantastic experience. All the people that work at TradeWinds were very nice, pleasant and helpful. The resort itself is beautiful and well maintained. You will never be bored, there is so much to do there that you probably won't have time to do it all. The restaurants and pubs were very entertaining, the food was great. We really enjoyed the Tikki Bar to sit near the Ocean have a beverage and listen to the music was very relaxing. Since our visit we have already made reservations to go back and have convinced other family members to make reservations. We cannot wait to go back to the TradeWinds what a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Our room was a beachfront room and it was great looking and listening to the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Dan R,
You've painted a beautiful picture of a perfect vacation with your words. Thank you so much for sharing the details of your spectacular getaway. Also, please tell your sister THANK YOU for us - we're so glad she recommended you come to the TradeWinds. We're really excited that you'll be coming back again next year with even more family & friends in tow. See you then for more fun in the sun!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our first trip to the west coast of Florida and we just loved Tradewinds!
Beautiful beach, great food! Loved our dinner at Bermuda's and our waiter Tyler was extremely attentive! We had wonderful frozen drinks outside at Salty's, terrific buffet breakfast back at Bermuda's in the morning. Relaxed and enjoyed every minute. Fun stuff to do all day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just got back from an amazing experience at Tradewinds. The staff was polite and welcoming. The room was fabulous and housekeeping did a wonderful job. There were so many fun things for the kids to do. Loved the reservemycabana system and ordering from the cabana menu to have food and drinks delivered directly to our cabana. We can't wait to return to this fabulous resort!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationfun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Vacationfun08,
We LOVE that you loved us! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and recommendation. The 'ReseveMyCabana' online reservation system has definitely received high marks from our guests since put it in place. Hassle-free and no waiting in line to get your spot in the sun! Let us know when you're ready to come back.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I only live an hour away but The Tradewinds is my mini vacation spot. I visit as often as possible and always feel like I'm a million miles from home. It is so relaxing, everyone is so friendly, including the guests, and the accomodations are so clean. It is always a pleasure to visit here and enjoy a couple days of "down" time. It is a great spot for adults as they have an adult only area which is enforced and they have severl "family" pools and lots of stuff for the kids to do. This is a great destination wether you want to be alone or enjoy some family time.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites because they offer the luxuries of home, but all the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramE1177WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Laura M,
We love our "locals" and agree that stay-cations are one of the BEST ways to just let go from our daily routines. Of all the options you have in our beautiful area, we're so thankful that you choose to spend your 'down time' with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and for being a loyal guest. See you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent our honeymoon at the Tradewinds some 25 years ago. This was our first time back. It is a lovely place and very relaxing. We had an oceanfront room with large balcony where we spent our mornings and evenings. Service was great and people are friendly.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Bleu-I's K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £196 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing