We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going above and beyond to Help!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going above and beyond to Help!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

our 18 month old daughter accidentally locked herself in the bedroom and was helped by Hannah Bunbury and Mr Alpha. Our daughter was crying and screaming and we were about to call 911, Ran to the concierge and Hannah did not hesitate to help and called a locksmith and Alpha to help until the locksmith arrived. The locksmith was having a hard time and it was already an hour and my daughter continued screaming. Alpha saved the day by somehow going the window of the bedroom. This was our 6th trip to the tradewinds and by far the most unforgettable. Not only is it the best place on St Pete but the staff is always friendly and willing to go above and beyond to help....See You next year!

Room Tip: Reserve your beach seats early and get the all day pass for the slide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Ronald B,
Oh my goodness! Certainly an unforgettable visit - but, we're so glad that everything turned out to be okay in the end. It's so great that our staff members quickly went into action to save the day. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. Hopefully next year's visit will be as memorable, but for reasons that are much less dramatic ;) We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,877
    1,308
    637
    375
    226
See reviews for
2,346
1,035
77
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were looking for a quick 3 day get away with our 13 year old son… We wanted a beautiful beach, nice weather, clean accommodations and actives to keep our 13 year happy. Most of these things were found at Trade Winds. We booked a Tropical One Bedroom Suite; the suite had 2 double beds’ a full bath (nice sized) and a separate living area (with sleeper sofa) and small kitchen area. The suite was smaller than it appeared in the picture but was all that we needed for our stay. The resort offered great amenities’ that were included in the daily resort fee however our son was a little old for them. I would say this resort would be best suited for families with children ranging 4-10…wish were had been aware of Trade Winds in years past. Location was excellent! Half mile from Publix for all your grocery needs, just across the street from a beach supply store and walking distance to great eateries. We did not dine at any of the onsite restaurants but did here other guest saying great things. Overall a great 1st experience in St Pete Beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello happyone200,
We're so happy to hear that your family had a great first experience at our resort. We also wish you had come to visit us in previous years - but, better late than never! It's nice to know you found our location to be excellent and that your room provided everything you needed. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you'll come back to see us again.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are from Florida. We did a long weekend at The TradeWinds with the grandchildren. We had separate rooms (called suites) in the pet friendly section. Our first problem was parking-there was none. The place is huge and mobbed with no place to park. If you are lucky enough to get a parking space, don't plan on moving your vehicle the entire vacation. There is valet available but with pets and kids forget it.
The rooms were cramped. They boast a small kitchen but without kitchen ware to prepare anything. You are expected to eat at the expensive restaurants on site. We gave up and ate out.
There is a daily resort fee and you also pay for anything extra like the waterpark.
One plus was the staff. Everyone was pleasant.
Would we go back-NO

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations at TradeWinds. During the first early weeks of summer as the children are now out of school combined with high occupancy and great weather, everybody is coming to the beach. As closely as we monitor parking, it can be very challenging at times. Regarding the necessary kitchen items that were missing, I've forwarded this to housekeeping to take an inventory and replaced the needed items. Thank you for your positive comments about the staff and I hope that we can win you back! Please let me know if I could be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have been coming to St.Pete for over ten years. So glad to have found a new place to stay with our seven year old that has more than enough to keep him busy having fun all day long. I tried the Jet Lev and found it a big challenge worth a few more trips to Tradewinds to master. The Jet Lev staff was awesome and John was very informative with directions to fly it around with little ease. My wife had fun Parisailing with our son and they both will never forget this week. The resort staff was wonderful and room cleaning staff was awesome! We will be back for many years to come!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Warren M,
What a wonderful family vacation you had! It sounds like you all were able to try some of our really cool activities that we offer. We hope you WILL come back to take another stab at the JetLev - it's just so awesome! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to helping you all create more memories next year.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
670 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Have stayed here twice in the past couple years on courses. Large complex with great amenities. Plenty to do with kids and adults and the beach is quite nice as well. The rooms were spacious and staff were very good. The restaurants on site were very good as well. Would definitely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Amazing hotel, piece of Heaven, great service. Meagan is Banquets was awesome, Jessica who was working the slide rocked, and the person who cleaned my room at 5204 6/2 thru 6/4 was great, God bless you all, :)!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Matt B,
Hooray for a wonderful conference experience at TradeWinds Island Resorts! We're so glad you found our staff to be extra accommodating and that you got to enjoy our little piece of paradise while you were here for business reasons. Hope you can make it back over to "Orlando's Beach" again soon for some more fun in the sun.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the Tradewinds for a wedding and really didn't leave the entire time I stayed. Between the beach, slide and just all around atmosphere there was never a dull moment. Our group stayed right by the Flying Bridge restaurant and our waitress Kiersty was spot on with her suggestions two days in a row. The frozen drinks, food and her personality really made it a fun lunch for both my family and myself. Will definitly return sometime this summer hopefully.

Room Tip: Shouldn't close restaurant/ bars so early on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_B4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Alex_B4561,
We love that Kiersty was able to take such great care of you while you were here! Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family again this summer.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,690 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing