We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Laporte, IN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our third year in a row at Island Grand. This is our new go to resort for our annual vacation. Had a great time. We prefer to stay in the Breckenridge Building which is by the adult pool which we spend alot of time at. Sunset beautiful! Everyone is so friendly! Food is good. Lots of different restaurants to pick from. We especially enjoy the flying bridge Great fish taco! Cant wait to try the new restaurant at their Guy Harvey resort, short walk down the beach. Cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriC119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello LoriC119,
Thanks for coming back again! We're so happy you enjoyed yet another visit to TradeWinds Island Resorts. The sunsets certainly are stunning and our location is the perfect place to watch them. See you next year!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    1,293
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,299
1,029
75
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Traveled with my kids 11,13 for a summer get away, after a few days in an Orlando resort followed by a couple days on the beach. This hotel gets an average from me as opposed to very good because the tub tiles appeared to be in need of a re-grout and the caulking was stained with mildew. Although it appeared to have been cleaned and smelled of bleach, this is the very last thing I had hoped to have to look at in a resort hotel of this calibre. The full length bathroom mirror had fasteners that were rusting and chipping on the floor. For my booking price and the great reviews I expected better thought to detail. There was only one hook in the bathroom behind the door above the mirror, it was beyond my reach being 5'2"...
The rest of the room was tastefully decorated and clean. The beds were of average comfort. We had a 400sq ft room with a refrigerator, sink and microwave facing the parking and inter coastal.
I booked a standard room based on what I had budgeted for. From what I understand I was upgraded from a 300 sq ft room to 400sq ft, but only after first trying to sell me a higher rate for several different upgrades which I declined. I booked though the Tradewinds website just 2 days prior which turned out to be 35 dollars more a night than had I looked up with another site as I was going to try to book another room for my parents. I called and spoke to a person I thought was with reservations but was actually the front desk. Was told there was nothing that could be done because it was within 48 hours of the booking and it couldn't be cancelled. She stated she really couldn't undermine and change the price that was booked by someone else anyway. Next time I'll know better.
My parents were going to come visit and dine with us, I was told there could only be one parking pass per room and there was a possibility they could not park in the lot at all for the visit depending on how full the hotel was. I am pretty sure this hotel was not 100% booked in the middle of the week in the summer. When they arrived they were told to park by the lobby and only had 2 hours to visit!? Really?
Moving along... the cabana reservation was painless and easy to make online. The beach was beautiful and flawless. The kids enjoyed the slide and the beach very much.
We ordered Pizza Hut the first night and had Beef o Brady's the next evening. There was a publix across the street which had great subs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinaAmaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for the condition in which you found your room upon arrival. Our Housekeeping and Engineering departments both have specific staff members assigned to inspect and correct the issues you mentioned within your room. Regarding the concerns of your reservations, I'm thankful that once identified the front desk agent did take the appropriate action and adjust the fee for you. However, parking is challenging as the Summer is here and we are running at very high occupancy. Recently, there was a large group in house which were in their conference all day, but they too even had additional drive in attendees and presenters. Thank you for all the positive comments and I hope that you will return to TradeWinds while on your next trip to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a BEAUTIFUL resort. The rooms are spacious and have all of the best amenities. The beach and resort amenities are superb! Pools, bars, restaurants and a Great beach!! WOW would highly recommend...

Tip: Do NOT listen to the "time share" presentation. We were advised it was about 90 minutes and we were there for 5 HOURS! Very disappointing and disorganized.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentgwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first trip to Tradewinds. It was a nice resort and overall we enjoyed it. The front desk staff was great as was housekeeping. Everything was very clean. We were disappointed with some of the other staff at the hotel. Several of the staff were rude at the Flying Bridge and the paddleboats. I was also a little disappointed with our view. Having never been there before I relied on the booking agent. In the past we have always stayed at Don Cesar and always had a gorgeous view. At Tradewinds we were to have a tropical view but what we really had was a view of the roof across from us. Overall it was nice but I think we were spoiled by the level of service we received at Don Cesar and found this to be lacking in comparison.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 318Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. I want to thank you for your positive comments regarding the front desk and housekeeping and that you overall enjoyed the resort. I have forwarded your concerns about the service at the Flying Bridge to our F&B managers for further review of the lunch experience on 6/2/14. I've also reviewed your reservation and noticed you were in a tropical suite, on the 5th floor which also just happened to be located one room back from being Gulf front. Again, I apologize that you found us lacking in comparison and I hope that you won't let this one experience prevent you from staying with us in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Once again, we had a great get-away at the Tradewind Resorts! The Island Grand and The Guy Harvey Resorts are so friendly and helpful from the moment you check in till you "have to check out"! Would like to give a big thanks for making our stay wonderful to Melissa Carr at the Guy Harvey Rum Fish Grill!! Awesome food--compliments to the chef!! To Darleen at the retail shop at Rum Fish- thanks "country girl at heart" for your hospitality! To Adam at Beef O'Gradys and Dave on the salesteam for BlueGreen. Thank you Aaron at the front desk for all your assistance! Great sunsets even when the clouds try to take over! :}....Hurray for Sam at Salty's for guessing a drink by it's color!! Awesome new attractions on the beachfront at both resorts for families to enjoy! Thanks for always striving to be better! It's working! We had another great day on the water fishing with our Guide Capt. Eddie Caldwell (inshore fishing)! Definitely take time to check these resorts out! Check them out on FaceBook! They're always posting!!

Room Tip: Definitely beachfront for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secblc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello secblc,
We're so glad that you had another FANTASTIC getaway at TradeWinds Island Resorts! Thank you so much for recognizing our wonderful team members by name for their abilities to go above and beyond when it comes to great customer service. We appreciate your enthusiasm for our new beachfront attractions and RumFish Grill. Additionally, thank you for pointing out that our properties are on Facebook. (We're also on Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Google+, and YouTube!). We definitely strive to be social and keep everyone up-to-date on what's going on at the resort. See you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently went on our Family Vacation to Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Resort, that was Booked for us using Beach Bum Vacations. Our freindly and helpful travel agent Lisa Zwissler with Beach Bum Vacation recommend this location to try. We wanted a family friendly place with a nice beach and shopping available. The Beach was great and clean, and my kids had a blast playing in the sand. The Hotel room was pretty basic, but did fit our needs. It was a nice area with good resturants close by, it also had a few areas to shop within a short drive. The resturants on property were very over priced and had just okay food. The local resturants were much better and more cost friendly. It was not my Favorite of our Family trips but it is not a bad place for a family to visit for laid back fun. DWY

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Dallas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have been going to this property for many many years. Rates are definitely on the increase which is ok for the occassional visitor but it would be nice for long time guests to
have an excellent rate especially Canadian guests (with the exchange rate being so poor). Long time guests promote the property to friends and relatives which in turn brings in more
business. We liked the new changes they have made outdoors. Firepits and lounge furniture is really comfy. Need umbrellas around the new sand area for the kids and a splash pad would be a nice added feature. Towel huts should be redesigned and moved as they are too high and they block the view of the pool. New restaurant was not open for service yet when we were there but we did get a tour and it is really lovely and we are sure if they keep it casual with average prices people will come. Gulf front rooms are great - they overlook the Gulf and the pool. Disappointed you can not get breakfast (eggs, bacon) at Patio anymore as we have always eaten most of our breakfasts there during our stay perhaps they will rethink this. All equipment in our room worked well and we have found if you call maintenance they come and look after everything very quickly. Carmen at the front desk is amazing and always is happy to look after anything needed. We absolutely love it here - wish we could stay all winter as it really feels like home away from home!

Room Tip: Gulf front suites are fantastic and also have the best view especially the ones on the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchisholm2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello dchisholm2004,
Thank you very much for sharing your review on the Guy Harvey Outpost property. We're so sorry that you didnt' get to try our new restaurant, RumFish Grill while you were here. Hopefully, you'll get to try it the next time you visit! We appreciate your feedback on our new SandBox beach lounge area. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words about Carmen. We love that you love it here - see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,562 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing