We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maintenance”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had problem with TV. television would not turn on. Tried all of the remotes and still would not come on. Called the front desk and within 5 minutes a maintenance man showed up at door. Fast service from Katchi Mara - everything working now.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,845
    1,293
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,299
1,029
75
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came to get the tour the sales people and working were very nice and explained everything you wanted to know.Also the restaurant Bermudas Randall was are server ,he is so friendly like he really take pride in his job and made you feel like your family ,so did the all the other workers there .We will be back to the restaurant. Has for the resort it needs some up dating and cleaning ,the room we saw on tour the corners of floors were dirty ,the shower room near pool was real dirty and piles dirty towels and around adult pool dirty cups and kids were in that area eat ice cream dripping all over and one kid was even in the pool doing back flips ,so that wasn't to relaxing we were checking for a get away from kids for the day .The beach was very nice till you see watermelon and garbage at the edge of the water .People need to clean up behind them self and staff to check ground a lot more.I would like to come back see more off season due it was to crowded.Also they should have exercise room open 24 hours .The staff are all wonderful but building needs help.Fyi we also had park across the street for the tour that s not a good first impression also the valet drivers the wrong way with peoples cars and almost hit us .

Room Tip: If you want just hand out with friends and see the sunset and eat at the Bermudas its a great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for the cleanliness conditions throughout the resort. I have forwarded this to all the appropriate department managers for further review with their staff and areas of responsibility. I would like to take this opportunity to let everyone know that the changing rooms by the pool are scheduled for a complete renovation later this Fall. At the same time we will also be making major changes to our restaurants which will allow us to provide a superior product and service. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff and if i could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose the property since there was so much for kids.. beach, pool, kids club, boats, mini golf, etc. Won't go back...... Service was not good. None of the workers smile- they look away from you so you don't ask questions, housekeeping was inconsistent, many amenities closed early, blow ups in ocean are down by noon every day (although not advertised that way). All in all, room was nice, property was nice but it was a miss for me since service wasnt good.

Room Tip: We chose a basic room and were very happy. Don't upgrade to a balcony- our room had an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. All our guest comments are important and I have mentioned your concern of the friendliness of our staff in our operations and orientation meetings just this past week. This is a major and simple part of our philosophy, a simple greeting when passing a guest. Regarding the hours of operation of the Splash Island Water Park from 10am to 4pm, inclement weather plays a significant part in that as well as the safety for all our guest. I'm not exactly sure which dates you were here, but for three days the park was closed at 3pm due to weather. Then the following three days, it didn't open at all. I certainly understand your frustration as at this time of year most of our guest are here to enjoy the beach and activities for the children. Unfortunately, none of us have control of the weather. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a weeks reservation at TradeWinds but checked out after the first night. All the pictures on the web site show you the inflatable water slide to imply that this is a family centered resort. What they don't show you is how balconies are all connected and the interior is set up like a motel with with chairs and tables for multi room parties until all hours of the night. This is a party resort not a family resort. The web site bragged about their big renovation yet our Gulf View Suite with balcony had a connecting door to the room next to us that was paper thin, like a cheep motel door. We could hear every part of the conversation in the room next to us, profanity and all. We changed rooms but then listened to a multi room party until 3:00 am and party wasn't even on our floor. The resort is set up for this type of thing, so if that's what your looking for this might work for you just don't be fooled into thinking it's built for family's because they have an inflatable water slide. Also, most of the young kid activities are lame and expensive. The cabanas that look so nice online are simply two wooden lawn chairs so only two people can sit in them with no room for anything else. They do serve Starbucks at the bar in the lobby and it's only $4.00 for a small regular coffee.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. I understand your frustration with other guest noise even after selecting to move rooms. We do indeed take guest noise / disturbances very serious and have security available around the clock to address any concerns of such. A call to the operator to report such disturbances, especially at 3am in the morning usually result in an eviction. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our children's activities, which are a vital part of our operations at this time of the year. I hope that you will not let this prevent you from returning to TradeWinds and if I coould be of any further assistance, please contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Tradewinds Resort. I was part of a group of 10 professionals that were there to attend workshops with 600 other attendees, and I must say the exprience was flawless. Breakfast and lunch as a group of 600 must not be an easy thing to coordinate, but the people at Tradewinds did so successfully. We hardly felt crowded and buffet lines were speedy, tables always clean and ready.
The hotel in itself is very family friendly. Besides the white sanded beach and the pristine blue cabanas, there were tennis courts, pools, inflatables for the kids, trampolines and other activities appealing to the family. If I had the luxury of time, the paddle boats I saw navigated next to a swan filled "lagoon" looked like lots of fun.
If I had to name one negative, it would probably be how widespread the property is, going for one building to the lobby to the beach is quite a walk. We stayed at the Beckenridge Building which BTW had a Pizza Hut and ice cream shop in the exit to the beach...very convenient! We had dinner in The Palms and Beef O'Brady and though very different, both were very, very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ledesmarubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is not a 4star resort, but if you are looking family friendly, awesome beaches, good value, friendly staff, and a great location, this is a terrific choice. Checking was fast and painless, room is clean, and ours has a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave plus a few dishes, and a toaster.

There's a Publix market right down the street for shopping. We got a small cooler plus water, Gatorade and lunch supplies for the beach. Resort fee of $35 covers wifi (which actually works), free beach cabanas, towels, etc.

Breakfast at Skidders right across the street (just walk) is outstanding. Restaurants on property are very solid so far as we've tried. Nothing remarkable, but better than average resort.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the first floor near the pool with a patio area. Those would be pretty attra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeTravisAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello LakeTravisandBeyond,
We love that you had a 'grand' time with us! You've made some great recommendations and suggestions to your fellow travelers. Thank you for sharing your experience in regards to our location, accommodations, dining options and service. So glad you'll be back to visit us again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Bills truly made our dining experience enjoyable. He brought me my own personal salad without me asking because I and couldn't have cheese or ham. He cares about the guest and wants them to have a great stay! Well it worked we will definitely be back and ask for bille again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,562 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing