We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly with a wonderful beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family friendly with a wonderful beach!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Upside: very family friendly; staff was always helpful and around every corner; the beach was gorgeous and clean; waterslide was super cool but long line to ride; arcade and other amenities for the kids, food was great and service was quick; room was clean and had everything we needed; fair and reasonable prices, the grounds were very clean; Cabana reservations were extremely easy; Rumfish Grill is an amazing experience, definitely recommend it!
Downside: Pools were rather small, very crowded, and suspiciously cloudy; teenagers were loud until fairly late at night; Check in and Check out was pretty chaotic; and parking for friends coming to eat with us was very difficult.
Take away: Very fun, well maintained, family hotel that overall is worth the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthTampaBuc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,875
    1,308
    637
    375
    226
See reviews for
2,345
1,035
77
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Exceptionally clean,comfortable, pet friendly. Staff went over and above anywhere I have ever stayed. Friendly, helpful. Wonderful. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. If I had children at home (all grown) it would definitely be a great place to take them on vacation. As a couple we had a great time. I can't wait to go back . Full kitchens, so you can save money, if you choose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Sally N,
We're thrilled to hear that your experience at TradeWinds Island Resorts exceeded your expectations. Thank you for providing a detailed recommendation and for highlighting our high level of service. We hope you'll come back to stay with us on St. Pete Beach again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Tradewinds several years ago for a conference. When the opportunity came to go to the same conference last week, I stayed a few extra days! Great beach! The staff is friendly, the resort amenities (now included with the hotel price) are unbeatable, and there is easy access to great food in the area. Will stay here again! My only suggestion would be to have breakfast included in the resort fee, or add an all inclusive package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaineF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have been to Tradewinds numerous times and it is a great place stay, friendly staff. Terrific family atmosphere. Kudos to Elaine at Tiki Bar is top notch, always impeccable service, friendly. Highly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My room did not have a view, but it was very clean and newly remodeled. The bed was amazing! The hotel has great amenities on the beach. The food is okay. The tropical drinks were not that great. I was here for a conference and enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The exterior of the hotel is a bit dated and it rained one evening and to get anywhere, you have to go out into the open. The parking lot had 5 inches of water. The coffee was excellent and the food at the conference was pretty healthy and decently prepared.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had a great four days. Staff was attentive. We thought the a/c was broken but Sule saved the day. He explained how it was a smart thermostat and how it works.
Food at the flying bridge was excel lent. Grouper sandwich better then Frenchys.Chef John at palm court did an excellent job on the veal and lamb chops.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello TrinityJoe,
We're so happy to hear that your anniversary celebration at TradeWinds Island Resorts was wonderful! Thank you for recognizing our staff for their outstanding service and our restaurants for their high quality food. We hope you'll come back to visit us again - whether it's a special occasion or just because.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had problem with TV. television would not turn on. Tried all of the remotes and still would not come on. Called the front desk and within 5 minutes a maintenance man showed up at door. Fast service from Katchi Mara - everything working now.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,686 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing