We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value is there if the weather is there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value is there if the weather is there”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

unfortunately the real treasure of this resort (the water activities) was lost on us because of whitecaps and wind. My children were desperate to do the water island and water slide and a few other advertised activities, but the wind cancelled all of those. IF the weather had cooperated, I'm sure the resort would have been worth the $$$ but for us, it was not. Hotel restaurants were too pricey for a family. We did find a lot of spots we enjoyed nearby to eat at. The hotel was bit on the noisy side in the morning with people milling about early in the morning. Elevators were terribly humid. I actually think they need at least one more pool as the 2 family pools we saw were packed. PACKED - especially in light of the cancelled water activities. We did have to track someone down about 3pm to finally clean our room. Hopping place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjbeach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,780
    1,260
    613
    360
    221
See reviews for
2,226
1,005
75
804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Tradewinds Island Grand and Guy Harvey Resorts have been some of our favorite family time at the beach trips. The price can be high, shop around for their packages on their website and once we even scored a Living Social Coupon that made it very reasonable for this high amenities resort. Guy Harvey Resort is slightly less money and since you can use both resorts, it's become our new place to stay. We splurge on the 1 bedroom suite, often with the gulf front view, since life is short and we take full use of being there. We don't leave the beach for the 3 or 5 days we usually stay in the area. If you are going to be off and running, then you may not find the value in staying there for the price. But with the adventure package we book, we get a variety of water sport options and our kids just love it and so do we! We all sleep well from being active at the beach. Be sure to join their "Just Let Go" Club since they keep track of how many times you've stayed and give "perks" when you return. Every little thing adds up. ( ie. Drinks, Food, Spa 20% off discounts) They often do FLA Resident deals in low travel seasons, so check the website often. My mom lives in the area, so she can take advantage of those rates, too. We are returning this summer 2014 since we have a conference in FLA, we will extend our trip at the beach for 3 nights! They keep renovating and improving their resorts and adding more value to the high resort fee they charge. This fee is included in packages, so we like that. They now include the high tide slide all day in this resort fee, years ago, we have to pay $4 per ride! Our kids love that big inflatable slide on the beach! Oh, it's now a double slide, so the line should be shorter for each ride. Just let go and enjoy some time at St. Pete Beach, a long stretch of white sand you can walk for miles and enjoy the Sandpiper birds around the surf as you walk...We love it there!

Room Tip: Ground level in a Gulf Front 1 Bedroom Suites are a splurge, but well-worth it to us, if you are goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello kanethecat,
Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation! We're so glad you enjoy the ability to 'stay at one and play at both' properties. Great tips on accommodations and yes, our Paradise Rewards Club is a great opportunity to earn points towards future freebies, discounts and upgrades. We look forward to creating even more family memories with you in the future on America's best beach.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family went to TradeWinds for a week vacation with our toddlers and we were not disappointed. The location can't be beat with just a short walk to the beach. I enjoyed a massage by Terri and she was wonderful! Also had a facial with Breanna and it was fantastic. I would definitely recommended a visit to body works. The staff of the hotel were so friendly and courteous. The Starbucks barista (female, can't remember her name. Sorry) was such a delite. The hotel was very clean and programs for families were great. I am looking forward to returning with my family very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azusa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When my coworker and I showed up after a full day of travel to check in for our conference at the TW Island Grand, we were disheartened to discover that, due to a booking issue, our rooms were not available. Ron and his fellow front desk crew wasted no time in doing what they could do to accommodate us and make our first night at the TW Island Grand relaxing and enjoyable. Though it took a little while to figure everything out, our evening was drastically improved by some delicious nachos and drinks at Beef O'Brady's and finally falling into our amazingly comfortable beds.

Due to availability, my coworker and I shared a standard room the first night but were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite for nights two and three. The two-bedroom suite is a great set up! It would be an excellent place for a family vacation!

Laurie, the front desk supervisor, worked with us to ensure our stay was "Grand" and patiently worked to ensure our charges were split properly so we wouldn't have any issues submitting receipts for reimbursement.

The TW conference services were wonderful! Staff was friendly and worked to ensure everything ran smoothly. Although I wasn't traveling with family, there were numerous family-oriented activities and families looked like they were having a wonderful time together.

Overall, a wonderful place for conferences and family vacations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Upside: very family friendly; staff was always helpful and around every corner; the beach was gorgeous and clean; waterslide was super cool but long line to ride; arcade and other amenities for the kids, food was great and service was quick; room was clean and had everything we needed; fair and reasonable prices, the grounds were very clean; Cabana reservations were extremely easy; Rumfish Grill is an amazing experience, definitely recommend it!
Downside: Pools were rather small, very crowded, and suspiciously cloudy; teenagers were loud until fairly late at night; Check in and Check out was pretty chaotic; and parking for friends coming to eat with us was very difficult.
Take away: Very fun, well maintained, family hotel that overall is worth the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthTampaBuc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Exceptionally clean,comfortable, pet friendly. Staff went over and above anywhere I have ever stayed. Friendly, helpful. Wonderful. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. If I had children at home (all grown) it would definitely be a great place to take them on vacation. As a couple we had a great time. I can't wait to go back . Full kitchens, so you can save money, if you choose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Sally N,
We're thrilled to hear that your experience at TradeWinds Island Resorts exceeded your expectations. Thank you for providing a detailed recommendation and for highlighting our high level of service. We hope you'll come back to stay with us on St. Pete Beach again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Tradewinds several years ago for a conference. When the opportunity came to go to the same conference last week, I stayed a few extra days! Great beach! The staff is friendly, the resort amenities (now included with the hotel price) are unbeatable, and there is easy access to great food in the area. Will stay here again! My only suggestion would be to have breakfast included in the resort fee, or add an all inclusive package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaineF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing