We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucker the sandwich maker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

They have a deli on property and you have to let Tucker make you a sandwich. He is very friendly and makes you smile even when you don't feel like it. Staff is awesome. The pools are nice and clean. You get your cabana's free but have to book the day before. There isn't many shops near by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bubbles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,107 - 2,113 of 5,537 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

After doing much research looking for a hotel in St. Pete's Beach, Florida. I read great reviews on Tradewinds Resort. I live in Massachusetts. I quit my job in December to care for both of my elderly parents who are very ill. I called and made reservations and spoke to the woman telling her that I need a well needed vacation where I wanted to rest, lay out on the beach, and read books. Also I was there to celebrate my birthday and some friends would be coming to visit me. She told me she would put me in a great, quiet room with ocean view. She quoted me ~420.00/night. I asked her if the had any specials (AA) and she said no. She said the room include parking, blue double cabana, internet, bracelet to use all amenities, and cable. I told her friends would be visiting me and would it be an issue for parking? She said no even though it was the holiday weekend (Memorial Day). It was pricy but it would be worth it considering all that she told me about all the was included. I was burnt out at home I would have paid for any amt. to get R&R.
The day after I booked the room, someone from the hotel called me to tell me about the resort and they told me that I could get 2 nights free for next visit and money card to attend something that sounds like a vacation rental. She asked me what time did I want to go....let me tell u about my life at home...I have two very ill parents who r sick....I just wanted to get away for a few days...as for setting up a time for couple of hours I wasn't interested. But because the woman who I booked the reservations took so much time with me I figured I wouldn't get the room "special room just for me" so I told her I will make the time when I got there....I wanted to get into room first before I said no. I didn't want to lose my "special room just for me". And every other day for 2 weeks they phoned me. I never asked for that, never said I was interested in vacation rental/timeshare. I was shocked when she called me to tell me about it. I feel it was sneaky on reservation person that she informed me someone would call to let me know all the hotel had to offer. She never mentioned this vacation timeshare.....plus they calling me so often. I don't have time to speak to my friends never mind timeshare! She should have been honest and up front in the initially phone call. I would never had booked had I known they would have called so often. And that they were sneaky about it....to this day I feel they r sleazy.
A friend came with me for 2 nights with an infant which was decided last minute. I was charged $5.00/night for the crib. I didn't think that was a big deal but my friend was surprised that I was charged for the amount of the room. We got to the room it was nice and clean but small and a little cheesy. The headboards were nailed higher on the wall but legs didn't meet the floor. We had a balcony with was a must for me. The scenery was beautiful facing the gulf but in front our view was a huge blow up slide that they have. Bummed me out....it was one of the reasons why I paid so much. Also we were 1story about one of their outdoor restaurant which was noisy at night. Thankfully after midnight it got quiet.
The first night we ordered room service and my pasta dish was horrible. My friend got a salad which was larger and was good. The next day on the beach...looking forward to sitting ocean front in my blue cabana. What they didn't tell me it was additional $15.00 for beach front. You need to order it online the night before. The day some friends came to visit I ordered 4 cabanas, paid for them the next day I only had 3. The next day I went to 4 places to try to get my $30.00 back but every place I was told to go the next place said I was in the wrong place and no one knew what to do. Because I left the next day I didn't bother to go after it. Even though everyone (well most) staff were kind but disorganized. If I didn't know better I would have guess this was their 1st weekend at the resort. I was annoyed. And throughout the stay I feel I was nickel and domed for hidden cost that was never mentioned. In order to get your cabana rental you need to order online. Certain times while at the beach I was unable to get online on my IPad.
I went to eat at beef restaurant and the food was horrible. The best thing I ate was a pricy grouper sandwich over $20 on the beach. Even some of their alcohol fancy drinks were terrible. It got to be a joke. In fairness to them I didn't go to their Italian rest or brunch. I went by and it looked good. Also for my birthday I got a coupon for a free drink and breakfast.
Lastly speaking to people on the beach, I paid to much for the room. There was no consistency with room rate. I think I wouldn't have minded so much if the reservation woman didn't say I would get a "special room" and if she told me the additional $15.00 for beach front on cabana rentals. As for friends visiting there was no parking for them and none in the area. 2 didn't people told me that there was plenty of parking. I had to pay additional $30.00 for day passes per person for them....not sure why, I rented the cabana and they bought loads of food and drinks.
If I was so excited I wouldn't have been disappointed. And the majority of the workers were kind. It had loads of activities for kids.

Room Tip: If you order a balcony room make sure the huge blue slide isn't in the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oceanlover524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I traveled with our two boys, ages 9 and 11, to Tradewinds last week. The boys had a lot of fun - there are tons of activities for the kids - bungee jumping, huge water slide, ocean water park (but it was closed due to weather conditions), beach, arcade, ping pong, paddle boats, and pool. There are also several onsite restaurants to choose from. The room had been updated since the last time we stayed a few years ago, but the hallway still has that worn in/beach kind of smell and feel. The beach is nice - the resort fee ($35/night) includes a cabana in the back rows - $15 more per day for a front row cabana. Our package included unlimited slide on the beach for the boys but the bungee and gyrosphere is additional - at least $8 more per ride which I thought was crazy and felt they should have included at least one time with that activity for the extra $35 per night. Parking is tight when they are crowded. My mom (who lives locally) came to visit for lunch and they couldn't even allow her to park at the resort - they suggested a place a 1/2 mile away which was also very inconvenient. They wouldn't even valet park her car for an hour or so. That was unexpected. But overall, it's a nice place that is fun for the kids. Kids loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the parking lot vs. the beach. It was $75 more a night to face the beach w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKBRIGGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello SKBRIGGS1,
We're so glad your family enjoyed your time at TradeWinds Island Resorts. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your accommodations, amenities, and activities. We appreciate your feedback and will take those items into future consideration. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you're back in the area visiting your mother.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only good thing about the resort was "Mike" the bartender in the main lobby! He was the greatest ever! The door into the suite hits the bed every time you open and close the door. The elevator was hot as hell. Need to reconfigure where to put furnishings, including the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 626PJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to advise that just yesterday we had an outside engineering contractor here starting the re-wiring process for the elevator a/c units. We realized there was an issue with the a/c not cooling properly and immediately took action in finding the contractor for the necessary repairs. If I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful St. Petersburg beach is always wonderful! What made this trip extra special was the attentive service. Housekeeping and guest services was always helpful. We had to deal with a couple of special incidences and they took care of everything in such a timely manner. In addition, Aaron, at the Front Desk, was exceptional! He was courteous, funny and went above and beyond to make our stay worthwhile from check in to check out. Love that you can reserve your cabana online the day before and have it set up for you. Wonderful restaurants close by. For great seafood, as well as other delicious dishes, go the Middle Grounds Grill. For the best pizza ever, visit De Losa's at John's Pass in Maderia Beach.

Room Tip: Island Grand has more amenities than the Guy Harvey. Also, the Beachcomber, at the Island Grand, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luv2abc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been going to TradeWinds Island Grand for 16 years and each time it's an enjoyable experience. The staff and service is top-notch. Definitely a 5-Star resort! A must is to visit Elaine at Salty's Tiki Hut by the adult pool. She knows how to make you feel special! If you order room service, hope you get Beau to serve you .... great guy! Gary York, Manager of the front desk check-in definitely knows how to make you feel special as does his well-trained staff. Sose and Corline from Housekeeping always made our room sparkle. If you're planning a beach vacation in Florida, you won't be disappointed if you book some time at the TradeWinds Island Grand!

Room Tip: Gulf views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirl442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello beachgirl4422014,
Wow! We're honored to be a part of 16 years of memories with your family! Thank you so much for recognizing our outstanding customer service, accommodations, and amenities. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words about those specific staff members as well. We truly appreciate your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went for the night with our 9 year old son, this place is a fantastic family place, had the water slide, and at night they had a carnival theme party with 9+ jumpers, games, popcorn, snow cones, hotel had fireworks on the beach. Son had a great time. pools were over crowded, bit small but the ocean view fabulous. had ocean view room, newly remolded. bathroom new and clean. Had Aveda products. Hallways were a little noisy but expected with a kid friendly hotel. Staff was very pleasant, Cannot wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello Christina L,
Our staff really does know how to throw a Fourth of July party don't they!? It's really incredible how everything comes together to create such a wonderful celebration and we're so glad you and your son got to experience it! Thank you for coming to stay with us for the holiday. We're excited that you plan to spend time with us again next year.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £198 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing