We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort did not disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“This resort did not disappoint”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our stay at Tradewinds really was a great experience. Every staff member I encountered was so friendly. We have a 3 year old and all of us were able to enjoy ourselves. I highly recommend staying at this resort. We hope to go back very soon.

Room Tip: The ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,809
    1,279
    621
    365
    224
See reviews for
2,256
1,020
75
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at the Island Grand numerous times. This time had an oceanfront room with balcony that was beautiful. They take great care to clean the beach and provide cabana loungers that you reserve online. I would go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treehouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I wish I had paid more attention to the negative reviews that were posted. With so many great reviews, I thought to myself, if you look at enough reviews some are bound to be bad. The general check in process was smooth, but that's where it ends. Our room was dingy with a moist, moldy feel in the air. My children have allergies so this did not help. Our toilet was continuously running, I had someone come fix it...but it didn't fix it. The air conditioner was unusually loud. People were up all night running around the hotel...and it was impossible to sleep. The grounds are so chopped up, you do a lot of walking around to get from place to place. The 2 pools my children could go in, were so small and overcrowded for the size of the hotel...they never went in. The line for the slide was incredibly long...so again, my children never went in. The paddle boats were so poorly maintained, you can't even turn and the area you have to work with is narrow and overcrowded. (My kids did like the paddle boats)

The parking spaces are so tight and so overcrowded...at times we took 20 minutes to find somewhere to park. Then, our car was dinged in the lot. When I called the front desk they said I needed to file a report with security and go through a lengthy process...and we didn't want to waste our time...so we never followed through. I tried to get our room changed and had absolutely no success. Then the time share people called...and even though I rattled off all my issues...they said if there is any way I can help...please let me know. I called back after having no success at the front desk....and they said they couldn't help me either. We stayed at this resort for 5 nights. On Day 2 I went down to the front desk asking if I could checkout....with all the issues I had...and they said I would still have to pay. We were stuck here...my son was doing a baseball camp. I wanted to move hotels. NO LUCK. I asked to upgrade my room...the only thing they offered was for me to pay a ton of money to be in a suite in front of the pool ----where it was so crowded a loud I would not go there for anything.

I only ate at the resort once. I took my daughter to breakfast at Bermuda's....and she ordered scrambled eggs with cheese from the station at the buffet,..he handed back runny over easy eggs folded over with cheese in the middle. My daughter didn't want anything else after taking one bite..she was grossed out...the whole dining area was moist and dingy with low ceilings. We were still charged for full buffet even though she didn't eat. We travel a lot....and this was by far the worst resort we ever stayed at.

One night my husband went to get ice and there was throw up by the elevators...too many drunks for a "family" resort. Clientele in general was not desirable. When you go down to get pool towels...we thought they may be recycled dirty. they were still damp and not folded...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank apc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectation. I appreciate that you responded to my request for contact and that you have provided us the opportunity to resolve each of your concerns. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The grounds are beautiful. The staff was very pleasant. The beach is beautiful. I am a Florida native but reside on the east coast. I was reminded of how different the beaches are on the west coast. I stayed in what I believe was a time share room (Breckenridge building) with a breataking view of the Gulf. I was here for a conference and my only gripe would be with the smokers. There were no designated smoking or non-smoking areas for that matter. After each class the smokers would quickly gather to the closest outdoor area and start lighting it up. This included near pool areas and children. I understand that some of this fault lies with the smokers themselves but if there was an area designated for this perhaps it would save some of us from second hand smoke (especially my 7 month old that I was traveling with). The overall impression of the resort was memorable and I would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: 7th floor in the Breckenridge building for an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Attended a conference at the TradeWinds. Second time in this location. Room was very nice. Staff are always nice and helpful. Had a problem with the whole door 'knob' going bad and wouldn't read my room key. Staff was very attentive and had the issue fixed very quickly.

Room Tip: If you're going to be staying for any length of time, ask for a room in Ponciana. These rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyFlaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our second stay first was about three years ago and my wife and I were very impressed. So we decided to have our 30th wedding anaversity there. we booked rooms for our 3 adult children and spouses. Had a great time looking to go back in August or September this year.

Room Tip: beach front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My family and I arrived at the TradeWinds after two hectic days in Orlando at Universal Studios. St. Pete Beach was our relaxing part of the vacation. The location was so wonderful. A Grocery store just down the street. A Large Beach shop across the street that had all the souveniers and beach items you could ask for, also across the street was a nice restaurant with a water view where we watched a Manatee poke his face out of the water while we dined. The Hotel itself has so much to offer. We were there for 4 nights and still didn't get to take advantage of everything. The kitchenette style room was wonderful as we bought food at the local store and saved on some expense. The Deli in the hotel has wonderful sandwich options. Would DEFINITELY go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Hello Rhonda J,
We're so glad we were able to help you relax after the go-go-go of Orlando. It sounds like you had a wonderful beach getaway that let everyone in the family 'just let go.' Thank you for sharing your experience and for your recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 98 in Clearwater
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing