We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“weird place”
Reviewed 27 December 2008

we booked it on priceline. once we got there, we were told there was a mandatory $25 nightly extra charge. This is illegal and hopefully there will be a class action law suit about this against priceline soon as there is lots of complaints about such mandatory hidden charges on the internet.
aside from that, this place was DEAD in high season. there was no one in the lobby and it was spooky and DEPRESSED . it seemed like more than 3/4 of the rooms were vacant, and yet they managed to give us the worst possible room in the whole hotel, which had no windows, had furniture in poor condition and had a musky odor. the reasoning they gave us for the terrible room was "you booked on priceline".
even forgiving the poor choice for the room. this hotel is a 3 star at the very best.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room quality
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ManofTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    1,279
    621
    365
    224
See reviews for
2,255
1,019
75
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We had my daughter's wedding at your hotel on 11-22-08 (Julie Gatlin/Devine). Renee Prine helped us organize it and she was very helpful, kind and organized. Everything went perfectly. The food was wonderful and all the service was great. Everyone had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend you to anyone who is looking for a place to have a wedding or looking for a great vacation spot. Thank you very much!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank jgatlin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2008

This hotel has a great location, right on St. Pete Beach. It's fitness center is nice as well, but beyond that I would definitely not recommend staying there.
My husband and I were given a room with 2 double beds, despite our reservation for a king. We did not check-in early. The hotel was "unable" to find us a king room, but from the tone of the receptionist's voice it was clearly an issue of unwillingness.
We put our laptop on top of one of the beds and when we lifted it there was chocolate all over the bottom and in the data ports. We called reception. After a Bart Simpson-esque comment from the person answering the phone (to much laughter from whoever else was at the desk) they promised to have the housekeeper deal with it in the morning.
By the end of the next day the comforter was not replaced or even shaken out. My husband did that.
During our entire stay the bathtub, which didn't drain properly and didn't get addressed by housekeeping despite request, was not cleaned. The collection of dirty footprints and hair was quite impressive.
My husband and I go to Florida several times a year to visit family. This will not be a hotel we ever stay in again.

  • Liked — proximity to family
  • Disliked — staff responsiveness, cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MDstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Your walls are paper thin, we could hear every word, every step, all the water pouring, everything from the rooms next door. The only way for the doors to close, to the hall, was to hear a big slam. You could hear everything out in the halls, foot steps, talking, everything. For as much as you charge, you would have thought that the rooms would be a little bit more private!!!!!!!!! And one more thing, the beach towel return, we got charged two days of not turning in our towels, and we always did, so we had to make sure that we kept out receipts and check our bill daily.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2008

My wife & I had a wonderful 3 day getaway at the finest resort on St. Pete Beach. We enjoyed our honeymoon there 4 years earlier &
returned this year to again experience that superb service & atmosphere. Every employee bent over backwards to satisfy our every need & the view of the Gulf of Mexico was delightful, especially the sunset. We enjoyed this visit at half price due to the decline in tourism caused by economic conditions, which was an added bonus. Since we live less than an hour away in Tampa, we are familiar with the beaches & rate the Tradewinds as the best.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampashamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I can't say enough about the quality and comfort of this hotel. It was a great experience. Very relaxing, peaceful and just amazing sunsets and very polite service people and when we dined we had a great experience with everything. Taste, service, and speed of receiving our orders. I am coming back again very soon. I would reccommend the experience to everyone.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank loganFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2008

When we arrived to Tradewinds and saw the gentleman standing outside the door all dressed in white I knew I had just landed in a bit of paradise. From the time he helped us with our luggage, to the time we departed, we were treated with respect and luxury. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food was fabulous and our room was beautiful. My favourite part of the day was going out to our cabana on the beach. The young lad got the mattress pad out and made the experience so exciting, our own cabana!

It may be a once in a lifetime for us to go to a place like Tradewinds and the staff just added to the experience. Thank you Tradewinds for a wonderful time and a heavenly experience!

  • Liked — they were beautiful and loved the cabana on the beach
  • Disliked — sandwiches were a bit pricey
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sidOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,518 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#27 of 98 in Clearwater
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing