We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort is the ultimate vacation getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
1 review
“TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort is the ultimate vacation getaway!”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My wife & I spent almost nearly 2 weeks at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort and we had the best time! The staff was friendly, courteous and very willing to help. The grounds and accommodations were kept very clean. The food and service were excellent! We found it very relaxing and very difficult to leave once our stay was finished. We heartily recommend the TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, and we'll be back!

Brian and Karen Distelzweig

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,787
    1,263
    613
    362
    222
See reviews for
2,232
1,009
75
807
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Pros: pools, scenic, location

Cons: $25 resort fee per day (plus tax) that was not indicated through Priceline until I checked in; Resort fee overly priced; Manager (Neil) did not address our concerns; Small window for lighting; Way too many people; Too much like timeshare property; Did I say too many people?

I would give it a 3 star rating as some other sites have shown. Not 4 star as Priceline shows. We got a 2 star room in this 4 star hotel. They admitted they have 4 star rooms, but Priceline sets us up in a cheapest room they offer (they have 25 price levels). They guard their towels like they are made of gold, so be sure to keep an eye on them or you will get charged. Other on-site activities require a charge so be aware.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanettestpete, General Manager's Office at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2009
Reservations made through Priceline.com are responsible for the resort amenity fee based on Priceline.com’s terms and conditions, Section 2.C.

A representative from our resort will be attempting to contact ggolff through Trip Advisor for further information and to address any concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2009

The rooms were not clean. It seemed VERY OLD and worn-out.
Our first room #2605 sounded like we had a JACKHAMMER in the bathroom....anytime the sink, toilet or shower was used the pipes made the most awful....LOUD noise! It was so loud it woke me up 4 times during the first night and I take Ambien to sleep!!!! Our second room #2611 was much less noisy but you could still hear it. When I initially complained about the noise the staff acted as if I was making it up...CRAZY!
The beach towel situation is strange too. You must use your room key to receive/retun towels which in theory is great except they only have one towel "HUT" open until 8:00 PM so you have to walk all around the large resort to get to the hut, wait in-line and return the towel before 8:00 PM or you will be charged $15.00 per towel. If you stay out past 8:00 PM BEWARE...you will have to take your wet, sandy towel back to your room with you and return it in the morning....RIDICULOUS!!!
The pools were very cloudy.
The service at one of the restaurnats "BEEF O'BRADY's was terrible and get this...they were havinf their convention at the resort while we were there!
The BEACH was fabulous but I suppose I should thank "Mother Nature for that!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We returned from a getaway just a few days ago and I will say that some of these reviews are insane! If you are expecting a luxury resort where you are waited on by your personal conceierge, take a pass. But if you are looking for a nice vacation spot for the family, you can't beat this!

Location & Beach - You really can't beat St. Pete Beach. There is so much to do around the area and the beach itself is top notch. It seems that you can walk in either direction for as long as you'd like and the beach is wide, too. Oh, and the 85 degree water is pretty nice as well! :)

Staff & Service - We found all the staff people we encountered to be very friendly and helpful. If you are the goober who brings your own food to the beach and then expects the server to go get you a cup of water when it's hot, forget about it. The waitresses/bartenders were great, the housekeeping staff was courteous, and everyone else we encountered was helpful.

Amenities - I really don't think you need much more than the beach. But if salt water and sand aren't your thing, there are 4 pools, a paddleboat river, wallhooky (gotta play it!), tennis courts, a fitness facility...and other stuff I'm sure. But you don't need any of this, just get a cabana on the beach and chill. Also, don't miss the FREE Wifi.

The rooms - It's not a five-star place, but it's been updated.

Food & Drink - I was impressed with the variety at the restaurants. The beach bar was pretty good for lunch and we really liked the "Applebees-ish" Beef O'Bradys. My only complaint is that the drink menu was the same at EVERY place we went. That was kinda lame.

Other stuff to do - We caught a Ray's game at Tropicana Field...indoor baseball is different, but it was a cool experience. We also received free tickets to the Clearwater Aquarium and a sunset cruise. Take a pass on the Aquarium...the drive is too far for what you get. The sunset cruise was great, though. Even if you don't get free tickets, it's worth the money. (www.dolphinlandings.com)

A few drawbacks - First, this is a conference site. That being said, they shut down the beach and the lobby a few times for one of the groups. Pretty lame. But at least there fireworks on the beach one night for the conference. Anyway, be aware. Second, we asked for a crib to be in our room on arrival and it wasn't. We arrived near midnight and had to hold our sleeping toddler for nearly 30 minutes while we waited for a crib to be delivered. That was a bummer. Third, late at night parking is limited. You may not find a spot, but valet is always an option. Fourth, the water slide was in the way a bit. We may not have minded, but our little guy was too little to enjoy it, so the slide seemed to be a bit much!

Overall - Well worth a stay. Good sized resort, adequate amenities and a great beach. If you are traveling without kids, I'd look elsewhere! Have a blast and "just let go."

PS - Skip the Sandpiper...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanschreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I was very concerned about Tradewinds after reading a slew of negative reviews right before we were to leave for our trip. Most of the reviews I had previously read were a mixture leaving me to believe this was probably a good choice for St Pete Beach but maybe not a great choice. First of all, SP Beach is a very nice beach with a big wide beach and nice white sand. The beach is pretty much the same for all the hotels along the beach but the Don Ceasar and the Tradewinds appear to be the top dogs on this strip or at least they were in their day. And that leads to my overall impression of this area.

Every hotel we saw on SP Beach appeared to be built 30-40 years ago and there is nothing new or luxurious in this area. I did not go in the Don Ceasar despite walking by it every day on the beach so I can't comment on their rooms but the pool area didn't appear to be anything exceptional. One thing nice about the Tradewinds was that it had 3 pools and one was exclusively for adults - which we were glad to find. This hotel appears to be geared best towards families with young kids where accommodations are not overly important. Our ocean view "suite" was dated, small and the "balcony" was a joke as it was pretty much just a railing outside of our sliding door - totally unusable as a balcony.

Our maid service usually didn't get done until late in the day which was annoying because we would be out all day and then come in to get ready to go out to dinner and the maid was just starting to clean the room. It was crowed with the 5 of us in there but "really" crowded with 5+1.

The Tradewinds has some nice things going for it but it doesn't feel luxurious and the term "Grand" more appropriately relates to it being big more than majestic. We ate at a couple of the restaurants and food was decent. Overall we managed to have a nice time at TW but I would say it was more due to the great weather and the beach than the hotel itself. If we'd had to spend much time in our room, it would have definitely been less appealing.

We got their one week package special which supposedly included some things you normally pay for and a 20% discount card at any of the restaurants. All things considered I can't say if felt like this was a bargain or even a good deal but if you're wanting to stay in SP Beach, you may not be able to do much better.

If I had friends with young kids and they wanted to stay in St Pete Beach I'd tell them to consider this hotel otherwise I personally have higher standards than what you'll find at Tradewinds.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where the CG sends us...
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My husband and I (fiance at the time) chose Tradewinds for our wedding because we had a large range of ages coming and we felt Tradewinds offered the most things to do for all age groups. We were right! Everyone had such a wonderful time! The service was exceptional, the food delicious, and there were many things to do.
If you are considering Tradewinds for a wedding, I highly recommend it! They do a lot of weddings and definitely know what they're doing. I can honestly say that the food was awesome too! That in itself is surprising considering most wedding food is (at the least) forgettable.
From it's picturesque setting to the variety of activities, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape coral florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2009

From checking in to checking out the tradwinds st beach beach was great I would highly recomened this resort to my friends and family, and will also return in the future. Maria Fleming at the front desk was especially helpful. I had a broken foot and she placed us in a ground floor next to the pool and beach. She was also extremely helpful at checkout. hands out for Maria

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing