We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priced to High for what you get!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Strafford, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Priced to High for what you get!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We arrived July 14th for a mini vacation at Tradewinds and we're suppost to stay through July 20th. However so many things were wrong it made us nauseated so we left early. First of all upon check-in we had no problems. Service at the lobby was great. No problems there. When we got to our room it was one thing after the other that was wrong. The toilet kept running all night long the first night. The next morning before I could mention the toilet to the front desk I noticed the shower head was spraying in every which direction and the bathtub had a 1 inch give in the bottom. Good thing I don't have vertigo I'd have been on the floor. The activities were ok. The middle pool was wayyyyyy over crowded. They really need another pool! As far as overall stay. Too much for what you get for sure. The rooms are older and overpriced! If I go back I'm not staying here I'm going to Don Cesar instead. Also we checked out two days early due to all the problems we had. It wasn't worth it. We ended up going to Orlando and spending the rest of our vacation there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melicakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,712
    1,230
    603
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,154
990
74
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

From the moment we drove up, we were greated by very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us get the most out of our time. We were kept informed of activities and what to see. The housekeeper went out of her way to make my 5 year old grandson happy. He is a busy, not afraid of anything kid, and as we were leaving he ran ahead to the elevator, but didn't know how to keep the door open and as we turned the corner, he was going down and we were on the 6th floor waiting for the other elevator. when we got to the bottom he has no where in sight. His mom waited on the main floor while I went back to our floor and as I turned the corner, this lovely, caring woman had shown him we were not in the room and waited by the room for us to return. I am very happy with everything--but the chilly weather:)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We love the Tradewinds and have stayed many times. This trip was the first time we utilized the pet friendly rooms. The dog walk area is fabulous. Very clean and well kept. It was great to be able to let the dogs off leash.
I did feel however, that the pet friendly rooms are not the same upscale quality as the other rooms we have had in the past. The rooms are in great need of repair and updating. The bath area is old and leaky. The door to our room didn't fit or close correctly. The furniture was broken down and in poor condition. They advertise having a pet closet with towels, bowls, shampoo, etc. This closet was completely empty our entire weeks visit and we were unable to get towels for our dogs even when we requested them twice from the front desk and housekeeping.
All in all it was a great visit. The beach is beautiful and the plenty of activities for the entire family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Ok I too read all the mixed reviews before going to Tradewinds Island Grand and really didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly suprised! The lobby was okay, but our 2 bedroom gulf front suite was super, this building jacanda has been completely rennovated. New carpet, travitine flooring, granite counter tops in kitchen and bath, full size frig, a cooktop with 2 burners, no oven, the bedding was nice, the balcony is small but but you can sit out on the balcony and the entire living room wall facing gulf is a huge window/door. The colors are a neutral sage green, tans, and browns. There are flat screen tv's in both bedrooms and living room. One nice feature we loved is in the bedroom curtains are of heavy fabric which keeps early morning light out if sleeping in. In this 2 bedroom suite, one side has a bedroom, bath, and connecting living/kitchen, why the other bedroom has it's own bath and a little area with mini fridge, coffee maker, etc. The kids activities where nice but ours love the pool so much they only painted and made ice cream one day at Konk Club, but one of the highlights is when i scheduled to have Beaker to tuck them in bed, they loved it! A must do. They loved the beach 3 story slide but is to expensive, 4 bucks a trip or 30 bucks for all day pass, we opted to let them slide 1 time a day. they also have pool side activites for the kids as well, our girls had tattoos, hair braided, necklaces made, etc. For the adult life there are plenty of places to get a drink, an adults only pool, we loved the quaint feeling of Blackbeard's Tavern Bar and Karoke night was awesome, we where lucky to get the 20% discount card that was off all food and beverage on property so paying $6.85 for a drink was a little easier on the pocket. There are several restaruants on prop'erty we ate pizza hut which was good, beef o brady which was so so, flying J's was okay for just sandwiches, cheesesticks, etc our favorite restaurant was across the street at Skidders. The beach is big and well kept but doesn't compare to the white sands and cystal water we are use to in Mexico. The staff was nice and when we called for late check out they were more than helpful but after noon, every hour you stay pass checkout is $20 bucks more an hour. In other reviews people spoke about cleanliness and poor water pressure, our room was very clean and new I did see into other's rooms down at the pools and they where the older rooms that have not been renovated so you will have to ask for new room if that's what you want. The water pressure in bathrooms are okay but kitchen sink could have had more pressure. Overall we were very happy and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Room Ok but had paid for 1 bed suite - beds small and no balcony and a bit tired - leaky taps and toaster set off fire alarm, but useful kitchenette and spacious lounge area.

Beach fantastic - best thing about hotel is location ans sea is peachy 88 at the moment.

Pools small and crowded - altho there are 5, some are just tiny like the childrens paddling pool, just 2m across. Big minus no umbrellas and by 2 o clock no shade to be had anywhere. With 100 heat and small children not good. Could go into room I guess but would prefer to be able use facilities in afternoon! Plus is decent size towels included.

Hotel obviously makes money from groups, several large ones whilst here - one 'beauty' pageant for small girls - which meant lots of very made up small girls and an unbearably loud intrusive PA system next to the only family pool with any shade (we got there early!).

Other than that couple of good restaurants and very good service , plus lots og good extras like free internet and parking etc

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Booked this hotel because I wanted many amenities on-site to take advantage of for the kids and adults. It was very relaxing. The highlights were the beach cabanas, multiple pools, the towels available and the little on-site huts that were selling snacks and even jewelry. The bellhop service and fast check-in was great. We had an amazing gulf view room in Breckenridge which was clean and spacious for a family of 4. The Publix down the street is a plus, only wished there were more restaurants on the strip. We left the hotel only to go to the store, restaurants, or Ft. Desoto Park which has a great beach with much calmer waters, which the kids really enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at the Tradewinds Grand for a wedding on St Pete this past weekend. I didn't want to pay for the Don Cesar when we were just going to be sleeping in the hotel at night so I searched on Priceline and got the Tradewinds.

The "resort" is a series of older hotel properties that have been linked together to make this one large property. We bid $149 for a Standard Parlor Room that faced the parking lot (no balcony..only a window) and it was fine for what we needed..a place to sleep. The rooms are dated and show some wear, but clean and my feet did not get dirty walking around on the carpet or tile, so that was good. They do triple sheet the bed which is nice but request more pillows if you like more than one per person. The rooms can be noisy with the people above moving chairs on the tile or if people are in the halls, but there was no overly noisy people during our stay and I didn't hear anything after 11pm.

We didn't use the amenities as most of the weekend activities were held at the Don but I did walk around the property.
The pools are smaller but there are several. We stayed in the Breckenridge building which is a bit of a walk from the lobby, but again..fine for our stay.
The beach is very pretty and there is a large amount for this resort.

I understand that there are newly renovated rooms on the Gulf side with balconies..they are suppose to have Flat screen TV's and a green/earthy decor. We were offered this upgrade for $60/night but since we didn't plan on being in the room much, we passed. If we had planned a longer stay or planned on being in the room more to enjoy the balcony, I would have paid the up fee.

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Our room was not cleaned fully on Saturday as she had just started when we returned to dress. She did take the old towels and give us fresh ones, but we declined to have her clean or vacuum because we needed to start getting ready.

I would recommend stopping at Publix grocery store (located just about a mile away) to pick up paper towels if you plan on using the kitchenette. They only have dishtowels and they don't really clean up spills.
There is also no soda or snack machines in the building..only ice. So if you feel like a soda..you need to pick some up from the store

I would stay here again if I needed a quick stay but if I was looking for a "resort", I would save a little more and go to the Don Cesar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#23 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing