We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great ice cream, not always pleasant service”
Review of Scoops - CLOSED

Scoops
Description: Locally made St Petersburg ice cream and sweets/desserts. We also offer locally made ginger beer and kombucha.
Restaurant details
Description: Locally made St Petersburg ice cream and sweets/desserts. We also offer locally made ginger beer and kombucha.
Niles, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always great ice cream, not always pleasant service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been coming to Scoops 2-3 times a year for the last 15 years. The ice cream flavors are outstanding ! There's always something new and tasty. However, the elderly couple who own and run the store are often tired and not always the friendliest. They have had this ice treasure up for sale for several years but no buyers. Yes... The lady can be curt and short at times. Her husband tends to be nicer but he isn't always around. The ice cream is delicious and the location is easy to get in and out of quickly. If you want good ice cream.. This is a great place if you don't mind an unpredictable lady who appears to really wants to retire !;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anndave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    9
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent home made ice cream - 60 flavours!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Went here three times in the 10 days we spent at St Petes Beach, Micki is a character and all the ice cream is lovely. Kids had to get back before we left for another. All the photos on the wall of customers make it authentic and interesting. Kids loved Lemon Sherbet flavour. Read the comments book when you go in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude Old Lady”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to get ice cream w 4 adults and 4 children. We were inside the building for about one minute before the Old Lady came out from the back room. She never greeted us or said anything. I decided to greet her with "hello" and she said hello back as if we were bothering her by being inside. We started to place our order when my six yr old daughter said she had an upset stomach and needed to use the bathroom. My wife asked the old lady if they had a restroom and she replies, "did you just come in to use the bathroom". Now I had just paid this woman for a scoop in a cup for my three yr old. Unacceptable behavior and as I read other reviews I see that others have had same experience as us. We were planning on buying 8 scoops but decided on just two after this old lady was disrespectful. Took our business elsewhere and you should too.
Now, I see why the business is for sale

Helpful?
1 Thank jr7wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Smoothie warning”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for a smoothie and it was not good. The lady put water in it instead of ice. Maybe she was confused or this is what they do. Very thin and two disappointed customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zinnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Lady very appreciative.....”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stopped in despite some of the prior comments. "Old Lady" was very appreciative of my business. Product was outstanding. Facilities clean. Loved the sign: STRESSED spelled backwards is DESSERTS. Definitely more fun than the soft ice cream place next door. Give it a shot. It's terrific!! Will come again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoops also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing