We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just got back from a trip to Florida and was lucky enough to spend 3 nights at Dickens House.
St Petersburg is an up market and interesting city and Dickens House is just a short walk to plenty of restaurants and local attractions.
The real gem of the establishment is Ed, the owner.
His service is second to none and he will make your stay truly memorable.
We stayed in the Perry Snell room in the first floor which was absolutely spotless and had all the amenities you could ask for.
The house is a real credit to Ed and you can see the time and love he has spent renovating it to the magnificent place it is today.
I think the highlights of the stay for us were the breakfasts. All freshly prepared by Ed, they were among the tastiest I have ever had.
Do not hesitate to stay at this fantastic place.
Thank you again Ed for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENGLISHBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
135
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Only staying in St Petersburg for a few nights meant we that we researched thoroughly on the best place to stay - following the strength of previous reviews, we booked in at Dickens House.

The owner Ed, greeted us warmly, provided us with a early check in (we arrived at 1pm) and was on hand with plenty of local information and ideas for things to do.

We stayed in the Cottage Suite which was very well appointed, very fresh, clean and with plenty of space to relax.

The B&B is only a few blocks from the main downtown shopping and dining areas and is very handy to walk around the majority of the town. Parking is available on the street and was easy to find. The Dali Museum, pier and looper trolley bus are all within easy reach.

Breakfast is made fresh every morning and comes with an assortment of offerings all made by Ed himself. Everyone sits around a large table.

The character of the house is plentiful with a well stocked kitchen. We would return to Dickens House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baildon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Good B&B. Great location in St. Petersburg. Clean rooms. Friendly owner. Parking was on the street but easy to find and neighborhood seemed very safe. It's also within easy walking distance of the stores and restaurants along the waterfront area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromnyctofll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA Beach
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We only spent one night and got upgraded to the Carrage Suite, but it was a wonderful place. House has lots of character and I don't mean that in any negative way. The suite was spacious ,well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was well done with most folks seated at an eight person round table so conversation was easy and fun plus the owner joined in. He is personable and very knowledgeable like a B&B host should be. Also, the house is very conviently located in the trendy NE section of St Pete.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alphotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just returned to gray, slushy NYC from a sunny, delightful week in St. Petersburg. Our delight was, in no small part, due to staying at the Dickens House B&B. We booked late but Ed, our most excellent innkeeper, made the Carriage House available to us as we were staying a week. It is an upstairs apartment in a small building behind the main house. It has a small but very well equipped kitchen, a large main room with a truly comfortable king-sized bed, loveseat and comfy chair, and a small tv (which we used but once). The bathroom is large, the shower bracing and the water hot! Plenty of good quality towels (and bath products). Lovely bed linens. Comfy! And then there is breakfast. As has been mentioned, there's a big fruit platter from which you can select a changing array of fresh fruit. And there is a changing repertoire of breakfast foods from brioche french toast to eggs, to cheese and fruit stuffed croissant. Strong coffee and good company and conversation. We enjoyed chatting around the table with all the guests who stayed during our stay and, of course, with Ed. Our only disappointment was leaving after a mere week. It should also be mentioned that the house is a walking distance from a terrific assortment of restaurants, from parks, where you can sit and watch pelicans swoop down and catch fish, a small beach, a local trolley that takes you around to the local sights. There's the Dali Museum and an excellent Museum of Fine Arts. We can't wait to return next year, for longer, and check out the many things we didn't get to. Thank you, Ed.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was very quiet but the house is on a quiet street so I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beautiful, comfortable home and very clean, cozy room. (Perry Snell room). Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly innkeeper. Breakfast was tasty. Good coffee. Fresh fruit. Nice company. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Dickens House several times in recent years, and it keeps on improving. Ed's selection of fresh fruit now sometimes includes papaya and juicy dates, and he has become even more creative with his breakfast preparations including eggs and pancakes made differently than you've ever experienced before. The Cottage Suite remains my favorite room, quite spacious and adjacent to the garden where it feels more like a forest than the middle of a city. Ed also has some hilarious stories and isn't afraid to have some fun with his guests. I would highly recommend staying at Dickens House.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Cottage Suite, but please don't select it if you plan to be there the same we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Dickens House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickens House Bed And Breakfast St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing