We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our 2nd stay at The Dickens House B&B. Ed provides comfortable rooms and common areas and truly great breakfasts such as the french toast and eggs tempura. As in our previous stay we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and fellow guests. Its location is ideal as we were able to walk to the beach and pier, as well as to numerous shops, restaurants, art centers and museums. Ed is a true ambassador to the St. Petersburg area, and has a wealth of knowledge to help us choose things to see and do. When we return to the area we will stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
137
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Dickens House B&B after attending a business conference the week prior. The experience was terrific, and I can't wait to return! While I stayed in one of the smaller rooms at this B&B, it was amply furnished with just the right amount and style of furniture. The bed was terrific, A+++ quality, and the bathroom had a huge whirlpool bathtub. The house ambience was nice too. Amplifying my experience was the diverse international guests that stayed at the B&B while I was there. The B&B is at a prime location as it is very close to the downtown area and to the beach. Every day, in fact, I took the opportunity to run along the sunny beaches and eat at the terrific St. Petersburg restaurants and pubs. Very refreshing. Ed is the best host at any B&B I have stayed at in the past 10+ years. He welcomes you and makes you feel like a part of his family. Finally, if you like a real good breakfast as I do, you'll be in for a good treat (literally) at breakfast time. Needless to say, perfection to detail is Ed's specialty.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room if you will be traveling and require more space for your belongings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Dickens House one night and had a wonderful experience. Our host/owner Ed was most gracious and accommodating. His attention to detail in every phase of our stay exceeded our expectations from the immaculate/charming premises both inside and out through the wonderful breakfast he prepared.
Making guests happy is Ed's main objective not to mention his ability to be engaging on just about any subject you care to discuss.
I highly recommend staying at the Dickens House.

Room Tip: Be careful picking your room as there are a couple of rooms on the third floor that are accessed up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffo954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at the B&B in the Cottage Suite. The room is huge with a beautiful enclosed extra room. The bathroom is also huge with lots of counter space which is normally lacking. There is a great attention to detail in the rooms and the house overall. The house has been lovingly restored to its original glory. We loved the traditional front porch where you can sit out with your coffee and watch the passing world. Ed is a great host and easy to talk to. The location is just steps from everything - restaurants, shops, museums and so on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights (only) and loved the place! Ed Caldwell is a great host. He loves what he is doing and is interested in his guests and this shows in everything he does. The house is lovingly renovated and our little suite was perfect. The attention to detail made our room perfect. Hooks on walls, light switches, lights - everything was right where you would have wished for it. And there were homemade cookies too. Breakfast becomes an event rather than just a coffee and a bite. Ed facilitates for his guests to meet and talk and besides that he provides the perfect first meal of the day. The location is excellent for the discovery of St Petersburg. Everything is within walking distance and therefore the B&B is just in the right place. Thanks Ed for a wonderful experience. We'll be back

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My friends and I have stayed here on a few occasions, and each time we had a great experience. This is a true bed and breakfast. It is everything you expect from a B&B, very homey. The rooms are all unique and very comfortable. This is a great place for couples and close friends to stay and enjoy the surrounding area, all while staying at a place that feels like home. All this, and you walk down stairs and you get to enjoy a five star breakfast the next morning. Thank you Ed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriots888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dickens House last Saturday, and found it delightful! Ed Caldwell is a most genial and helpful host--gave us much useful information about restaurant choices for that evening. The house is a lovingly restored Arts and Crafts masterpiece; our room was clean and most comfortable. We'll stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Addicotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Dickens House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickens House Bed And Breakfast St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing