We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2011

New owner (Bill) was very friendly and in the process of making decor changes, so the common areas were a bit cluttered but this did not detract from the overall experience. The Hibiscus Room was lovely and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. The location couldn't be more convenient. I will definitely recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

We were married here several years ago and they, unlike other local bed and breakfasts, did not charge us any extra and did not try to push florists, wedding planners, etc. on us. We stayed that night, and go back every other year on our anniversary, in the Lighthouse Suite. It is the height of comfort and luxury. Dennis and Jewly are terrific and breakfast is always delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

this is a charming place to do it. Quiet, clean, relaxing, and close to everything that the city has to offer within walking distance. Sleeping was like dreaming in a cloud and the breakfast in the morning was exceptional. I will be going back!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I were going to our friends' wedding in St. Petersburg and we were looking for a change from the usual hotel scene. We chose Inn at the Bay based on the positive reviews. We knew in advance that we'd be arriving late, and we received info to access the inn without needing to disturb anyone, which was great. Jewly was a great innkeeper-so friendly and her breakfasts were good, though not to be picky, but my husband and I are foodies, so I could tell the apples in the baked apples and crepes were frozen apples and not fresh, and the eggs benedict were fried eggs, and not poached, though it didn't take away from the meal too much.
We stayed in the Manatee Room. The rooms were suitable, though on the small side. The carpeting is very old, and the bathroom didn't have a full sized sink or even a pedestal sink with counterspace. It was equipped with a whirlpool tub (really nice), and a stall shower, though the shower curtain had noticeable mildew about 2 inches up from the bottom of the curtain. The bed was nice though.
The dining area was a nice set up-several tables for 2, which really appealed to us. The common area had furnishings that looked a bit on the shabby side at best and the front desk was a bit on the disorderly side, an indication that not a lot of time was spent there.
The location was nice, right next to the bay, and near the Baywalk, with many nice restaurants and shops. We rented a car, so it was easy getting around and to the wedding which took place at the Sunken Gardens.
Overall, a nice change from the hotel scene, and some attention to the small details would really increase the appeal and value of the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_racz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Excellent stay--Again!!!!!!
We had a wonderful time--the feather beds were so comfy and the breakfast was wonderful. The inn is close to all downtown activities. Ask to meet CJ--she is so cute!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

While the owners were lovely-the inn is lacking severely in good housekeeping services-or perhaps any housekeeping services-dust and filth on the walls, window sills, doors, and 2 spiderwebs on a lamp in the room and on the bathroom floor, dog hair in the food (and I am a dog lover) -luckily I only had to stay there for a few hours at night-I travel a tremendous amount and I can honestly say I have not stayed at a place that was so dirty EVER. If cleanliness is not one of your priorities when selecting a place to stay- this would otherwise be a great spot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank palominogrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gasparilla1, Owner at Watergarden Inn at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are new owners, as of Spring 2011, and we have had a lot of fun improving this wonderful old inn. We hope you'll try us again and discover our beautiful pool and gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Super location, quiet, comfortable, close to everything! Dennis and Jewly have done a marvelous job with this beautifully renovated inn! Close to everything, but quiet and off the beaten path!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFLSeaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Downtown
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Dow...
#10 of 43 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 43 in St. Petersburg
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 43 in St. Petersburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £113 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watergarden Inn at the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Watergarden Inn at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watergarden Inn At The Bay St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing