We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Light House Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
“The Light House Suite”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here just last night to celebrate our 12th year anniversary and the moment we walked in we wished we booked a longer stay. Our suite is removed from all the other rooms in the inn because it is the only third floor room. It had everything we wanted with the king sized feather bed, sitting area, wet bar, 42" flat screen, Keurig coffee machine (not that we needed it since Bill made a much better double espresso down in the kitchen) and of course the hot tub! Even though there was construction going on for their expansion and new pool, Bill was very gracious and accommodating that a little bit of dust could not put a dent on our experience. It is conveniently located around the corner from anything you could possibly want to do for a night out down town and we look forward to staying there again! Would I recommend this BnB to my friends? I already did with pictures posted on Facebook the night we got there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceRaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
238
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and me stayed at this BB when it had just been purchased by a couple not too long before we stayed there. This place needs a lot of work done especially outside. Inside it's very nice. The new owner Bill treated us very very nice. He made sure we were well taken care of, we were the only ones staying there, but he treated us like he had known us forever. He let us know that the place is undergoing some renovations and it will be finish soon. They are adding a garden pool and a beautiful garden outside. The breakfast could be way better. I had been told that the old owners wife cooked a delicious gourmet breakfast every morning, BUT unfortunately she's gone!! Hopefully in the future they hire a cook to make hot and fresh breakfast. The room we stayed was the lighthouse and it was the BEST room I have ever stayed at a BB. It was on the third floor and it was so secluded and romantic. It was very quite and we didn't want to leave. The bed was beautiful and the hot tub was so relaxing. I recommend you stay here because in the upcoming months this BB it's going to look so beautiful. I can't wait until the renovations are done because my husband and I will definitely will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NUNIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilderW, Owner at Watergarden Inn at the Bay, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thanks for the review. We agree that the property needs work, and that's our priority! We're excited that our patio is completely re-landscaped since these guests stayed with us, and we will be installing a beautiful courtyard and pool in the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the Inn At The Bay for one night, and found the B&B to be very comfortable and hospitable. Bill has many updates in the works, and we look forward to seeing the transformation. The location is excellent, as it is walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We are relocating to the area, and will definitely recommend to friends and family who visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8vex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

New owner (Bill) was very friendly and in the process of making decor changes, so the common areas were a bit cluttered but this did not detract from the overall experience. The Hibiscus Room was lovely and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was excellent. The location couldn't be more convenient. I will definitely recommend this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We were married here several years ago and they, unlike other local bed and breakfasts, did not charge us any extra and did not try to push florists, wedding planners, etc. on us. We stayed that night, and go back every other year on our anniversary, in the Lighthouse Suite. It is the height of comfort and luxury. Dennis and Jewly are terrific and breakfast is always delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

this is a charming place to do it. Quiet, clean, relaxing, and close to everything that the city has to offer within walking distance. Sleeping was like dreaming in a cloud and the breakfast in the morning was exceptional. I will be going back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I were going to our friends' wedding in St. Petersburg and we were looking for a change from the usual hotel scene. We chose Inn at the Bay based on the positive reviews. We knew in advance that we'd be arriving late, and we received info to access the inn without needing to disturb anyone, which was great. Jewly was a great innkeeper-so friendly and her breakfasts were good, though not to be picky, but my husband and I are foodies, so I could tell the apples in the baked apples and crepes were frozen apples and not fresh, and the eggs benedict were fried eggs, and not poached, though it didn't take away from the meal too much.
We stayed in the Manatee Room. The rooms were suitable, though on the small side. The carpeting is very old, and the bathroom didn't have a full sized sink or even a pedestal sink with counterspace. It was equipped with a whirlpool tub (really nice), and a stall shower, though the shower curtain had noticeable mildew about 2 inches up from the bottom of the curtain. The bed was nice though.
The dining area was a nice set up-several tables for 2, which really appealed to us. The common area had furnishings that looked a bit on the shabby side at best and the front desk was a bit on the disorderly side, an indication that not a lot of time was spent there.
The location was nice, right next to the bay, and near the Baywalk, with many nice restaurants and shops. We rented a car, so it was easy getting around and to the wedding which took place at the Sunken Gardens.
Overall, a nice change from the hotel scene, and some attention to the small details would really increase the appeal and value of the inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_racz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Property: Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watergarden Inn At The Bay St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing